$3590 to fix CB on midnight of CNY day 1

Tianmo

This one is really Heng Ong Huat for the electrician, but Kan Suay for Andy. 

https://stomp.straitstimes.com/singapore-seen/electrician-charges-3590-to-fix-circuit-breaker-on-first-day-of-cny-at-midnight-is

Question is, would you pay if it was you?  Or would you rather wait a week until most of them start work? [laugh][laugh][laugh]

• Sad 1

On 2/14/2024 at 2:21 PM, Benarsenal said:

WTF. Rip off sia.

Like someone commented, that money can go stay nice hotel for a while.

Might not able to get any hotel.

On 2/14/2024 at 2:16 PM, Tianmo said:

https://stomp.straitstimes.com/singapore-seen/electrician-charges-3590-to-fix-circuit-breaker-on-first-day-of-cny-at-midnight-is

Question is, would you pay if it was you?  Or would you rather wait a week until most of them start work? [laugh][laugh][laugh]

I saw this on fb yesterday 😂

Can only say he suay. Nothing to complain about😂.

Or if another pov. He is lucky. Because as long as he is willing to pay. He got his problem fix.

I also service provider, u pay me 5x my normal rate I also won't provide u with the service on first 2 day of cny.

I know some 1 who's car break down  1 day before cny. No ws he call willing to even entertain him.

Now car still at ws. He want pay money to get it fix also cannot😒

Edited by Beregond
  • Haha! 7

"Main switch box repair and install"  not under workmanship meh?  If not then what is the difference?

And if $625 is for the cost of the main switch box, why times 2? CNY the box also sell double?

As far as I know, this one is consider 包工包料, so workmanship is 工, and main switch box is 料?

Scary, suka he chop, but also lanlan. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

On 2/14/2024 at 2:30 PM, Tohto said:

Might not able to get any hotel.

It's very easy to find hotels...... two nights, replace all the fridge/freezer items, tidy up, and fix CB at normal rates should come in half what he paid.

On 2/14/2024 at 2:21 PM, Benarsenal said:

WTF. Rip off sia.

Like someone commented, that money can go stay nice hotel for a while.

The thing is say u kenna same case. U want to bring whole family with kids and maybe elderly? . Throw away all food. Go stay hotel a few days?

The saving in the end could be as little as 1.5k? Maybe? I dun know what is the normal rate also 

But if I kenna. I confirm plus chop pay, as long as he willing to come and fix the problem.

Edited by Beregond

Anything spoilt and needed to get it fix on a CNY eve or CNY period is unlucky and no choice but to spend crazily price to get it fixed and done lo. This is why few days before CNY period and during CNY period, i scare any crucial/essential things would get spoilt and cannot wait and must get it repair de. 😅

On 2/14/2024 at 2:16 PM, Tianmo said:

If me, I will use it as a perfect excuse to go for a nearby holiday trip.....

4-5 days later come back settle.

Still much cheaper and more importantly, a fun time as well.

Problem solved already then come out horse back cannon kpkb act victim. Did the electrician put a gun to Andy's head to accept the price? Why didn't Andy get other lower quotes?

Good or bad decision just be a man take ownership and move on. Electrician made a windfall. Andy home crisis resolved. It's a win-win both parties met their objective.

Don't throw face in public shame the electrician and try to get refund lah. I really cannot tahan some men acting like gu niang when they regret their own bad decision.

Edited by Jellandross
  • Praise 18

if it's a single MCB problem, he could've just left it off and continue to activate the rest of the circuits in his home, no biggie.

consumers should take back power into our own hands.

i wonder why until now nobody launch a website for "auctioning" such services, let service providers come in and bid, just like for B2B.

then we choose the lowest quote vs quality lah

should be great potential for such a website, then based on the traffic, sell ads etc. to keep it running.

Edited by Sosaria

On 2/14/2024 at 2:58 PM, Jellandross said:

Problem solved already then come out horse back cannon kpkb act victim. Did the electrician put a gun to Andy's head to accept the price? Why didn't Andy get other lower quotes?

Good or bad decision just be a man take ownership and move on. Electrician made a windfall. Andy home crisis resolved. It's a win-win both parties met their objective.

Don't throw face in public shame the electrician and try to get refund lah. I really cannot stand some men acting like gu niang when they regret their own bad decision.

100%

On 2/14/2024 at 2:58 PM, Jellandross said:

Don't throw face in public shame the electrician and try to get refund lah. I really cannot stand some men acting like gu niang when they regret their own bad decision.

totally agree, still dare to post to add more humiliation to himself [laugh]

破财消灾,钱能解决的问题就不要问题!

I see some people blame the electrician for chopping carrot but some here are more reasonable that the guys is just suay..

To quote this from the article 'He asked Andy whether he wanted to proceed."

Andy could have many other options like some suggested, book another hotel, get a different electrician (if available), make do with one night, stay over at relatives place etc.. 

He chose to go with it but then after that ask for discount... isn't too fair la. If one is in a desert without water and about to die from thirst and someone sells a cup of water for 10k, is that expensive? When u feel something is a need, fair pricing becomes ambiguous when there's no supply. 

Edited by Invigorated

The owner should has post in MCF.

Some here might be able to assist him.  From dealing with underworld to choke drainage....surely there will be an answer.

Edited by Kopites
  • Haha! 9

take grab/taxi also got 2x 3x surge lor [laugh]

cny 2nd day I went hawker cnetre not many stall open, bought a packet of chicken rice the auntie say cny add 50cts <_<

On 2/14/2024 at 2:38 PM, Beregond said:

I saw this on fb yesterday 😂

Can only say he suay. Nothing to complain about😂.

Or if another pov. He is lucky. Because as long as he is willing to pay. He got his problem fix.

I also service provider, u pay me 5x my normal rate I also won't provide u with the service on first 2 day of cny.

I know some 1 who's car break down  1 day before cny. No ws he call willing to even entertain him.

Now car still at ws. He want pay money to get it fix also cannot😒

I think Andy maybe stay nice ang moh chu, or some penthouse, that the reason the electrician chop, if one 3 rm flat in some Jurong or woodlands I think maybe under $1000 he do a good deed liao. 

This Andy accept it maybe because children kpkb no ac cannot sleep, plus in his fridge maybe got king prawns, big crabs, lobsters and abalones, add up gui chap cheng, so under $4k do lah. 

I also kena once, CNY 3rd day tyre tio nail, drove to pioneer Rd north and only one shop opened, he wanted $50, I just drove away to the new mega shop nearby, $10 settle. 

My bro, CNY eve, fridge up lorry, kpkb run ard looking for a new one, lucky for him manage to get one delivered to him on 3rd day of CNY at no extra cost. [laugh][laugh][laugh]