Ody_2004 Turbocharged February 7, 2024 Share February 7, 2024 As i don drive that often now.. when i do i noticed the journey time took longer due to Controlled Right turn signal lights.. a 20 mins drive in a neighborhood can be now 25 mins.. no doubt it is safer than before.. Driving now is just like having sex with condom.. safer BUT not as enjoyable.. ↡ Advertisement 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic February 7, 2024 Share February 7, 2024 There's a simple logic. When there's a left or right turn/straight lane, the green lights for turning and going straight MUST come on at the same time. Then it won't back up traffic and cause jam, with drivers trying to change lane and possibly cause accident ! But what do i know, LTA scholars are the smartest. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic February 7, 2024 Share February 7, 2024 (edited) On 2/7/2024 at 9:57 PM, Ody_2004 said: As i don drive that often now.. when i do i noticed the journey time took longer due to Controlled Right turn signal lights.. a 20 mins drive in a neighborhood can be now 25 mins.. no doubt it is safer than before.. Driving now is just like having sex with condom.. safer BUT not as enjoyable.. Expand It's a chore to drive in Sg now. Lousy road/junction designs, idiot/goondu/PHV/BlueFilm Sg/GetGo drivers, hero/blurr cyclists and roadworks everywhere. I go out less, save the money, spend and rent car overseas. Enjoyed the last few days driving on snow/ice while enjoying nice scenery. Edited February 7, 2024 by Volvobrick 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kklee 6th Gear February 7, 2024 Share February 7, 2024 On 2/7/2024 at 9:45 AM, Soya said: Some 4 lanes comverted to 2 right turn lanes and left lane converted to bus lane. Left only 1 lane for going straight on a major arterial road! Scholar logic power sia Expand IMHO. If not how to say Singapore traffic always got jam and fiddle with COE ?? 🤣 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blueray Hypersonic February 8, 2024 Share February 8, 2024 right turn only lanes is here to stay. wont u turn one. have to learn to zen while waiting longer at traffic junctions or plan journey involving fewer of such junctions. 2 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic February 8, 2024 Share February 8, 2024 On 2/7/2024 at 11:31 PM, Volvobrick said: It's a chore to drive in Sg now. Lousy road/junction designs, idiot/goondu/PHV/BlueFilm Sg/GetGo drivers, hero/blurr cyclists and roadworks everywhere. I go out less, save the money, spend and rent car overseas. Enjoyed the last few days driving on snow/ice while enjoying nice scenery. Expand A lot of us enjoy driving in Malaysia. No need go Japan. Of course Malaysia is not suitable for everyone as it is worse than Mexico. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic February 8, 2024 Share February 8, 2024 On 2/7/2024 at 9:57 PM, Ody_2004 said: As i don drive that often now.. when i do i noticed the journey time took longer due to Controlled Right turn signal lights.. a 20 mins drive in a neighborhood can be now 25 mins.. no doubt it is safer than before.. Driving now is just like having sex with condom.. safer BUT not as enjoyable.. Expand It is not enjoyable when you need to stop at every traffic light. Nowadays, I go far far away so that I can use Expressway. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic February 8, 2024 Share February 8, 2024 (edited) On 2/8/2024 at 12:29 AM, inlinesix said: A lot of us enjoy driving in Malaysia. No need go Japan. Of course Malaysia is not suitable for everyone as it is worse than Mexico. Expand The Causeway jam is a major deterrence.... And also in Malaysia you encounter the same idiotic drivers. From Singapore! PS Malaysia is no where near Jakarta traffic (I have driven there before years back) Edited February 8, 2024 by Volvobrick 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic February 8, 2024 Share February 8, 2024 On 2/8/2024 at 12:33 AM, Volvobrick said: The Causeway jam is a major deterrence.... And also in Malaysia you encounter the same idiotic drivers. From Singapore! Expand You better stick to Japan. 1 less car to jam up causeway. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic February 8, 2024 Share February 8, 2024 On 2/8/2024 at 12:37 AM, inlinesix said: You better stick to Japan. 1 less car to jam up causeway. Expand Japan, Australia.... Yeah all enjoyable driving. Even China drivers are more disciplined now (but IDP is not recognised). Causeway if totally no jam can go in for lunch. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic February 8, 2024 Share February 8, 2024 On 2/8/2024 at 12:45 AM, Volvobrick said: Japan, Australia.... Yeah all enjoyable driving. Even China drivers are more disciplined now (but IDP is not recognised). Causeway if totally no jam can go in for lunch. Expand If you fly into Beijing airport, you can get temporary driving license with IDP. You leave causeway to us who can manage it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
badlammy 6th Gear February 8, 2024 Author Share February 8, 2024 Yes people will get used to it, and this will be the outcome. This is 3 lanes, 1 straight and 2 turn right only. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic February 8, 2024 Share February 8, 2024 On 2/7/2024 at 11:32 PM, Kklee said: IMHO. If not how to say Singapore traffic always got jam and fiddle with COE ?? 🤣 Expand They create the problem n then tax their way outta it maciam it's our fault? Brilliant! No wonder limpeh not scholar 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jtis 4th Gear February 8, 2024 Share February 8, 2024 On 2/8/2024 at 6:59 AM, badlammy said: Yes people will get used to it, and this will be the outcome. This is 3 lanes, 1 straight and 2 turn right only. Expand I agree. This is absolute stupidity, why do we need 2 right turning lanes with few cars using it?!? Am sure there are many of such cases islandwide after the recent changes. Each adjustment in lane usage ought to be done with traffic impact assessment. Alamak, just count the number of cars going straight vs turning right. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic February 8, 2024 Share February 8, 2024 On 2/8/2024 at 7:47 AM, Jtis said: I agree. This is absolute stupidity, why do we need 2 right turning lanes with few cars using it?!? Am sure there are many of such cases islandwide after the recent changes. Each adjustment in lane usage ought to be done with traffic impact assessment. Alamak, just count the number of cars going straight vs turning right. Expand You have to keep calling them or keep using oneservice app to feedback till they change. If still no action, screenshot those feedbacks and email to their CEO. Garanteed same day someone will contact u. Based on personal experience. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dafansu Turbocharged February 8, 2024 Share February 8, 2024 On 2/8/2024 at 7:47 AM, Jtis said: I agree. This is absolute stupidity, why do we need 2 right turning lanes with few cars using it?!? Am sure there are many of such cases islandwide after the recent changes. Each adjustment in lane usage ought to be done with traffic impact assessment. Alamak, just count the number of cars going straight vs turning right. Expand This is at Punggol Road junction, more cars turning right then heading straight, except maybe during morning peak when a lot will head straight to the schools at the other side of Punggol Field. This will help to clear right turning cars at a faster pace during normal hours. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic February 8, 2024 Share February 8, 2024 On 2/8/2024 at 11:57 AM, yishunite said: Useless wan lah. Last time after they implement traffic right turn on one junction I frequently pass, I wrote to them ask for green left arrow for the other side since may as well let vehicle go thru right?? But suddenly give excuse traffic volume not warranted 🙄🙄🙄 Expand Must take photos, videos lah. Only words is like half hearted efforts. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged February 8, 2024 Share February 8, 2024 (edited) On 2/6/2024 at 11:40 PM, badlammy said: Have you guys noticed recently that more and more lanes which can go straight previously, have now been converted to right turn only? I can understand LTA removing the discretionary turns, but this seems to be overkill. Some not even repainted/repaved properly, just scrubbing the old arrow off. Expand Actually this is quite dangerous too. Some drivers actually want to go straight but now trapped in a dedicated right turning lane. Have to try to filter out and might cause an accident if not careful. Then again SG drivers asked for it with inconsiderate or unthinking behaviour. Like someone mentioned, some cars want to turn right but never signal then go and jam up the straight+right turn lane. Then song song stay there even when it is possible to change to the right-most dedicated turning lane. So end up in SG, just don't give people a choice because of the prevalence of such dumb behaviour. Edited February 8, 2024 by Sosaria ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...