Right turn only lanes

badlammy

Have you guys noticed recently that more and more lanes which can go straight previously, have now been converted to right turn only?

I can understand LTA removing the discretionary turns, but this seems to be overkill. Some not even repainted/repaved properly, just scrubbing the old arrow off.

Edited by badlammy

On 2/6/2024 at 11:40 PM, badlammy said:

Have you guys noticed recently that more and more lanes which can go straight previously, have now been converted to right turn only?

I can understand LTA removing the discretionary turns, but this seems to be overkill. Some not even repainted/repaved properly, just scrubbing the old arrow off.

Expand  

IMHO.
The number of lanes going straight has been reduced.   E.g.  used to be 3 lanes,  one turn right, one go straight/turn right and one go straight becomes only one go straight.  Major roads are not spared either, used to be 3 lanes going straight, now become 2 lanes. 

I think this arose because of the accident at Jalan Anak Bukit and Jalan Jurong Kechil quite sometime back. 

People asked for it. 

Edited by Kklee

Expand  

I guess it is not productive when you have dual purpose lane, especially when there is a change in traffic singaling. Cars wanting to turn right would have been stuck if the car in the front row is goomg straight and vice versa. 

Expand  

Maybe due to the converting of green arrow for right turn at most junction now, it is good and more practical to convert lane to right turn only, rather than shared lane which can go straight and right turn lane lo. I hate shared lane.

I find it good. No longer have the indecisive road marking of either going straight or right turn. 

I mean if you notice some cars going straight will attempt to filter left when they realised the first car is making a right turn. This will in turn causes cars going on the straight lane to jam brakes or stop for them to make the filter. This actually causes more chances of accidents and disrupt the traffic flow.

Making a clear distinction of the lane directions make all the vehicles filter early. Which is better for traffic flow.

On 2/7/2024 at 1:35 AM, Watwheels said:

I find it good. No longer have the indecisive road marking of either going straight or right turn. 

I mean if you notice some cars going straight will attempt to filter left when they realised the first car is making a right turn. This will in turn causes cars going on the straight lane to jam brakes or stop for them to make the filter. This actually causes more chances of accidents and disrupt the traffic flow.

Making a clear distinction of the lane directions make all the vehicles filter early. Which is better for traffic flow.

Expand  

The thing is, problem doesn't go away by changing the arrow on the road. So should they also draw double white lines next to demarcate no vhange of lanes at junctions?

Expand  

I saw most road has sign in advance showing the junction lane ahead.

I think is the driver problem.  Many drivers like to last mins change lane. 

Same on expressway when lane 1 was indicated close from more than a km, some drivers will only start filter out last min when reaching lane close.

On 2/7/2024 at 1:46 AM, badlammy said:

The thing is, problem doesn't go away by changing the arrow on the road. So should they also draw double white lines next to demarcate no vhange of lanes at junctions?

Expand  

It will take some time for goodu drivers to adapt. A lot of drivers are day dreaming wan.

On 2/7/2024 at 1:48 AM, Tohto said:

I saw most road has sign in advance showing the junction lane ahead.

I think is the driver problem.  Many drivers like to last mins change lane. 

Same on expressway when lane 1 was indicated close from more than a km, some drivers will only start filter out last min when reaching lane close.

Expand  

You like that say means you never kena those MFs  cars with no signal stalk one. First car wants to turn right, but never signal his intention, and drive on the lane that indicates go straight and turn right. Every car behind want to go straight, also driving on this lane because can go straight, and then tio red light. When light turn green, this MF doesn't move because he wants to wait for arrow, then from 2nd car onwards behind all shout KNN and starts to change lane. 

You never kena before right?  Of course still is driver problem, because KNN CBK no signal. But CBK say this lane turn right leh, you want go straight why follow behind me? [laugh][laugh][laugh]

Edited by Tianmo

If you guys happen to go woodland ave 12 in the direction towards SLE, please enjoy the mess before and after the junctions with ave5 and ave1, i just dun understand why the changes when majority of traffic is going straight to expressway, except maybe with ave 1 got a new healthcare facilities coming up dunno when...

On 2/7/2024 at 2:15 AM, Ahwhye said:

If you guys happen to go woodland ave 12 in the direction towards SLE, please enjoy the mess before and after the junctions with ave5 and ave1, i just dun understand why the changes when majority of traffic is going straight to expressway, except maybe with ave 1 got a new healthcare facilities coming up dunno when...

Expand  

The hospital open already.

That area going to get busier now.

On 2/7/2024 at 2:15 AM, Ahwhye said:

Expand  

I don’t understand what’s the mess.

I used it every now and then.

Expand  

Totally agree. [thumbsup][laugh][laugh]

On 2/7/2024 at 2:18 AM, inlinesix said:

I don’t understand what’s the mess.

I used it every now and then.

Expand  

like people got into right turn lane only to switch back last minute, 2 go-straight lanes (with 1 right-turn only)  becomes 4, then becomes 3 then 4, not to mention increase of accidents and tailback... yeah hope you enjoy it....

Expand  

No use one la.. many will still chiong to the front of the right turn lane to cut in, seen so many already.

On 2/7/2024 at 2:24 AM, Ahwhye said:

like people got into right turn lane only to switch back last minute, 2 go-straight lanes (with 1 right-turn only)  becomes 4, then becomes 3 then 4, not to mention increase of accidents and tailback... yeah hope you enjoy it....

Expand  

Ave 12 is the more popular choice. 

Ave 2 less popular. LoL