What's wrong with our youngs nowadays?!

limpeh6969

I find a lot of parents idiots.

Drive like idiots, talk like idiots, act like idiots.

Their kids monkey see, monkey do!

Cane them to save the generation!

Spare the rod and spoil the parent!

On 2/11/2024 at 3:59 PM, Jamesc said:

Bad parents will never admit they are bad parents.

They will argue and argue and refuse to see its them!

And they kids will monkey see and monkey do!

So that's the reason kids has issues!

Maybe we need cane the parents so their kids see

and get scared and don't follow their parents!    

Some SIL also Kenna the same way 🤣🤣 from ………Mxx🤣🤣

On 2/11/2024 at 12:45 PM, Sosaria said:

Maybe can suggest to LW that a good "cure" for youth mental problems is to round up these candidates and put them on compulsory visit/service to homes for the underprivileged, halfway houses, old-age homes, hospices or participate in activities with the physically-impaired, or just visit those elderly in rental 1-room flats some neighbourhoods... to let these youth know how to count their blessings.

Cannot like that one la. 人比人 is just never ending.

I've never liked this line of argument. Just because others are worse off than you, doesn't invalidate your own problems. Everybody is different.

On 2/12/2024 at 1:15 AM, Benarsenal said:

I've never liked this line of argument. Just because others are worse off than you, doesn't invalidate your own problems. Everybody is different.

exactly is like saying only low income family have more mental issues [rolleyes], nowadays many scholars, bankers, lawyers, doctors, 富二代 etc got more siao lang [laugh]

On 2/12/2024 at 1:15 AM, Benarsenal said:

i dont really envy the youth today.

yeah they are lucky in a sense that they have parents... generally... that will provide for them. In that sense they are luckier than their parents who lived in simpler times.

BUT.... they will walk into a world much much tougher, complicated, confusing than their parents time.

And worse... I dont think many parents really understand that times are different, "I eat salt more than you eat rice..."... KNN, maybe, just maybe, the days of eating salt is over liao, not only is it irrelevant, its harmful.

On 2/12/2024 at 9:43 AM, Playtime said:

yeah they are lucky in a sense that they have parents... generally... that will provide for them. In that sense they are luckier than their parents who lived in simpler times.

BUT.... they will walk into a world much much tougher, complicated, confusing than their parents time.

And worse... I dont think many parents really understand that times are different, "I eat salt more than you eat rice..."... KNN, maybe, just maybe, the days of eating salt is over liao, not only is it irrelevant, its harmful.

I have a differing view on this. I look at the landscape today as a world that has much more job opportunities, from traditional fields to digital fields.  From traditional learning methods to online learning methods. There are plenty of paths if one is willing to learn and try.

Our parents have much more limited paths and education possibilities.  They can only compensate those limited options with pure sheer arduous hard physical work.  They also have no option to fail because they don't have parents who can support them.

Every era has their challenges and opportunities. The difference in this era is not the lack of opportunities or direction, but a lack of resilient and grit from our youths.

Youth  nowadays spend their time on social media and playing games.  I spend my retired time upskilling  on AI and data science just to pass time.  I can only imagine my opportunities if I am 20 years younger.  

Edited by Starry

On 2/12/2024 at 12:07 PM, Starry said:

I have a differing view on this. I look at the landscape today as a world that has much more job opportunities, from traditional fields to digital fields.  From traditional learning methods to online learning methods. There are plenty of paths if one is willing to learn and try.

Our parents have much more limited paths and education possibilities.  They can only compensated those limited options with pure sheer arduous  physical hard work.  They also have no option to fail because they don't have parents who can support them.

Every era has their challenges and opportunities. The difference in this era is not the lack of opportunities or direction, but a lack of resilient and grit from our youths.

Youth  nowadays spend their time on social media and playing games.  I spend my retired time upskilling  on AI and data science just to pass time.  I can only imagine my opportunities if I am 20 years younger.  

I will blame parents for mollycoddle the children.

Step 1, tell the kids to take bus la. 

Our parents have much more limited paths and education possibilities.  They can only compensate those limited options with pure sheer arduous hard physical work.  They also have no option to fail because they don't have parents who can support them.

I support your views too. Oh, to be young now, with so many more opportunities available for me! What stress?? [laugh] Give me my 20 years back I don't mind being youth again in our "stressed" world.

Compared to our times where we have high-stakes exam, only one route to academic success, little opportunity to go overseas (no budget airlines in our day), no search engines, no AI, and on and on.

When the youth of today have their own family to take care of , being the main breadwinner and parent to young children, while building a career, good luck! 

I agree with the view expressed here: it's basically "internet" liberal parenting that's to blame.

But meanwhile I will take the hint from LW: moving onwards there will be many lobang in psychology field. May be a good 2nd line or 2nd career opportunity, as the demand projected to be high. Can start exploring skillsfuture for some certification.

Edited by Sosaria

lack of opportunities is not a bad thing in our era for what we went through, what you mentioned is on the hindsight and you have been through to know. The current one born in today's era has too many opportunities hence become another set of problems that only they understand. 

More young people willing to step forward to admit they have mental issues doesn't mean they lack of resilience, i think they are quite brave. Some time I see my kids I also stress on their behalf [laugh]

Ya, the youths have their own stress that we won't understand.

Our wisdom in most cases is not applicable to their problems.

I think it's equally bad during our good/bad old days.

Our generations have some how lost their resilience one after another.

On 2/12/2024 at 8:22 PM, Jman888 said:

lack of opportunities is not a bad thing in our era for what we went through, what you mentioned is on the hindsight and you have been through to know. The current one born in today's era has too many opportunities hence become another set of problems that only they understand. 

More young people willing to step forward to admit they have mental issues doesn't mean they lack of resilience, i think they are quite brave. Some time I see my kids I also stress on their behalf [laugh]

This one I can agree as well : we have the benefit of hindsight and years of experience, so when faced with a situation that would totally stress out the youth of today's gen, it's no sweat for us, as we've faced it all and worse - so armed with that confidence, certainly it's true that we'd have a hard time understanding or seeing the problems from the youths' POV.

Social media and playing games can earn big money too.

It's really only a matter of how you apply it. But like with everything in life, not everybody will make it. Just that now the stakes are higher. It's either you are super successful, or simply stuck at the bottom as a nobody. There's no real middle rung anymore.

Edited by Benarsenal

On 2/12/2024 at 11:28 PM, Sosaria said:

This one I can agree as well : we have the benefit of hindsight and years of experience, so when faced with a situation that would totally stress out the youth of today's gen, it's no sweat for us, as we've faced it all and worse - so armed with that confidence, certainly it's true that we'd have a hard time understanding or seeing the problems from the youths' POV.

Just over the CNY weekend, we have a few friends that came.

In general, kids these days all seem to rely more on their parents even at older age; don't seem to grow up in personal development like old days.

With all that resilience gone, young people with a higher IQ is pretty much useless when they'll just simply give up when running into a problem in life or work.

They'll just quit and say it isn't good to stay in an organization for too long because it's bad for career development even before they get the hang of the job.

There are quite a handful of less than 1 year of service but still keep jumping, expecting $4K when they have nothing to show for except their high IQ? Or some even worse, IQ also quite average :XD:

On 2/13/2024 at 2:41 AM, Benarsenal said:

Social media and playing games can earn big money too.

It's really only a matter of how you apply it. But like with everything in life, not everybody will make it. Just that now the stakes are higher. It's either you are super successful, or simply stuck at the bottom as a nobody. There's no real middle rung anymore.

Social media = Passive income potential [laugh]

And you can even get AI to do the work, writing posts or video scripts for you.

On 2/12/2024 at 8:50 AM, Jman888 said:

exactly is like saying only low income family have more mental issues [rolleyes], nowadays many scholars, bankers, lawyers, doctors, 富二代 etc got more siao lang [laugh]

Its like last time live in kampong, no money, no car, no computer games, no good food, but less issue, the only issue is to make more money and work, and every 1 is focus on that.

Once go to city got more money, more time to relax and enjoy, but with all that come more issue, car is to enjoy, holiday is to enjoy, but instead, we start comparing and feel stress instead. 🙄

On 2/13/2024 at 7:43 AM, Windwaver said:

There are quite a handful of less than 1 year of service but still keep jumping, expecting $4K when they have nothing to show for except their high IQ? Or some even worse, IQ also quite average 

But can you say it's not true that what you call job hopping... its called building portfolio ok😅... I've seen many cases work in real life, people who stay vs those who jumped. Jumpers do pretty well,  of cos sometimes people stay because of good friends and colleagues. 

It's a different world now and work cycles of all kinds are shortened. 

Jumpers put their own interest first, of cos bosses don't like that.