What's wrong with our youngs nowadays?!

limpeh6969

On 2/7/2024 at 12:40 PM, 13177 said:

Last time media not so power and no social media, so even got many siao lang also no report.

You got it wrong la

Last time SBC 一手遮天。

Who says no power?

On 2/6/2024 at 8:50 PM, Starry said:

Youngsters these days, will feel a lot like this song.  Perhaps asked the same questions as well....

This  song won the Song of the Year in last night Grammy Awards 2024

Note : Switch on the subtitles to see the lyrics. Although it was for Barbie, the song certainly strikes a chord with some   youngsters as well.

this is why the current gen so doom and gloom. during my time, this is the one and only barbie song. 🤣

life in plastic, it's fantastic. 

On 2/7/2024 at 10:35 AM, Spidey10 said:

i tried to follow but spoiled by wifey....my dad should teach my wifey as well, if i have my way...:lll._.:

Pity @Jamesc……… he is goody 2 shoes ‘ now ……..cos of his MIL 😀

Last time also got many siaolang….secret society gang u name it.

In 70s, NS men also commit suicide.

The difference now is alot more coverage on such news. Last time mostly cover up?

On 2/7/2024 at 4:44 PM, ccc888 said:

The difference now is alot more coverage on such news. Last time mostly cover up?

not cover up. it's called selective reporting. only report the good stuff. like how our household median income has risen to 10k+++ :D:D:D

limpeh just read a news saying fish in yishun pond also commit suicide. or is it 'cos the pond too hot/dried up? :D

On 2/6/2024 at 8:24 PM, limpeh6969 said:

hahah...i take it as a compliment :D👍

btw here's my take on this whole situation. i'd say social media plays a big part in adding stresses to the youngsters. why? 'cos you only see the glam side of life - the bestest food someone's having in 6 star michelin, the most atas 7 star hotel in dubai, the bestest front-row seat in Swift's concert where you can see her nostrils up close. so they think to themselves, shat, he/she has it, so i must have it too! and when they can't? life has no meaning...

that's why i dont use tiktok/IG/thread/X etc etc etc...boomers must only use FB to get latest news from CNA, ST, and sometimes AsiaOne :D:D:D

Huh what CNA, ST, AsiaOne? 可以吃的嗎?I get my news from MCF 😂😂 so you guys better dun give me FAKE news !!🤣🤣

Edited by D3badge

On 2/7/2024 at 8:21 PM, D3badge said:

Huh what CNA, ST, AsiaOne? 可以吃的嗎?I get my news from MCF 😂😂 so you guys better dun give me FAKE news !!🤣🤣

u got the news from MCF but limpeh sometimes kopi n paste from EDMW leh...i hope it's legit :D

On 2/7/2024 at 4:44 PM, ccc888 said:

Not really, I think. World was a much more safer and "normal" place then, more so in SG, more insulated from weird external influences as internet usage was lower and no social media existed.

Give an example, I taught tuition in my undergrad days to sec or jc students. And I recall there was no issue with teaching students of the opposite gender. Parents had little qualms hiring male tutors for their daughters.

Fast forward to today I still dabble in the tuition scene when time permits and observe that the ads for tutoring what are obviously female students, are all adamant that only seeking female tutors!

I don't blame the parents of today for being extra cautious. These days it's all a little bit twisted with upskirt, downblouse, nasi lemak telegram groups and what-not, even hiring male tutors for boys is no guarantee of safety - as we have seen from the news.

So really, things have changed and  become worse and gone downhill, compared to the good old days.

Edited by Sosaria
  • Sad 1

On 2/7/2024 at 11:19 PM, Sosaria said:

Not really, I think. World was a much more safer and "normal" place then, more so in SG, more insulated from weird external influences as internet usage was lower and no social media existed.

Give an example, I taught tuition in my undergrad days to sec or jc students. And I recall there was no issue with teaching students of the opposite gender. Parents had little qualms hiring male tutors for their daughters.

Fast forward to today I still dabble in the tuition scene when time permits and observe that the ads for tutoring what are obviously female students, are all adamant that only seeking female tutors!

I don't blame the parents of today for being extra cautious. These days it's all a little bit twisted with upskirt, downblouse, nasi lemak telegram groups and what-not, even hiring male tutors for boys is no guarantee of safety - as we have seen from the news.

So really, things have changed and  become worse and gone downhill, compared to the good old days.

What u mentioned is a shift of mindset and perception.

More crimes reported on social media doesnt mean crime rates has increased over the years.

Just like now got simi stomp, YT road vigilantes etc to report siaolang F1 drivers and the masses will naturally perceive more siaolang nowadays compared to last time.

Later see got time i try google see any stats about our crime rates over past 3 decades.

On 2/7/2024 at 11:37 PM, ccc888 said:

What u mentioned is a shift of mindset and perception.

More crimes reported on social media doesnt mean crime rates has increased over the years.

Just like now got simi stomp, YT road vigilantes etc to report siaolang F1 drivers and the masses will naturally perceive more siaolang nowadays compared to last time.

Later see got time i try google see any stats about our crime rates over past 3 decades.

Siao lang and siao behaviour that are featured on stomp or road vigi won't be counted in crime statistics. It's siao but usually not criminal [laugh]

On 2/7/2024 at 11:48 PM, Sosaria said:

Siao lang and siao behaviour that are featured on stomp or road vigi won't be counted in crime statistics. It's siao but usually not criminal [laugh]

Exactly!

Also nowadays everyone got phone with cam….almost every car got cam also….

Maybe in reality siaolang act/incidents has decreased because scared kena recorded and post on social media whahahaha

Let kids feed on trash mentally, pick up bad habits and keep idiots for friends, mental health is the least worry. 

Depression. So many unknowns. You find wealthy, intelligent, very successful people amongst its victims. Heck, some are the life of whatever party they attend, their ability to bring laughter and joy to people around them so much so that no one knows that these are actually quite sick mentally. 

More money can help? More hospitals can help? More psychiatrists can help? More medicine can help? 

Perhaps, less time spent on social media, internet and being so connected to the world daily until one is overwhelmingly made to shoulder problems not their business, learn knowledge beyond their maturity or ability to process and accepting unreasonable responsibility for people, events, issues that are really none of their business. 

So absorbed with the unreal Internet world, fake news and stirring sxxx. No wonder one is so easily depressed. 

The most effective and cheapest antidote is staring in one's face, yet the distance from point A to Z is more preferable to A to B. 

😂😂😂 Yada-ing. 

Stay safe all 

On 2/8/2024 at 1:01 AM, PSP415 said:

Let kids feed on trash mentally, pick up bad habits and keep idiots for friends, mental health is the least worry. 

Depression. So many unknowns. You find wealthy, intelligent, very successful people amongst its victims. Heck, some are the life of whatever party they attend, their ability to bring laughter and joy to people around them so much so that no one knows that these are actually quite sick mentally. 

More money can help? More hospitals can help? More psychiatrists can help? More medicine can help? 

Perhaps, less time spent on social media, internet and being so connected to the world daily until one is overwhelmingly made to shoulder problems not their business, learn knowledge beyond their maturity or ability to process and accepting unreasonable responsibility for people, events, issues that are really none of their business. 

So absorbed with the unreal Internet world, fake news and stirring sxxx. No wonder one is so easily depressed. 

The most effective and cheapest antidote is staring in one's face, yet the distance from point A to Z is more preferable to A to B. 

😂😂😂 Yada-ing. 

Stay safe all 

Yes Yes Yes $$$ can help ……. Car Tyre puncture …. Just change car ……. Just Yah -Yah -ing 😎 

On 2/8/2024 at 1:01 AM, PSP415 said:

Just today's news, they now looking into mental health issue including social media use

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/politics/research-to-look-at-surge-in-youth-mental-health-issues-causes-could-include-social-media-use?utm_campaign=ST_Newsletter_AM

IMO, social media use is definitely one of the reason. 

I never use  social media platforms. from day 1 except for Linkedin, which is more for professional branding.. In early 2000s when Friendster and Myspace (they were before FB)  came into the scene,  I was thinking that this social media thing  is going to be  addictive, and any product that is developed to make people  addicted to it  will always have  some form of negative impact. So I decided to stay out of it.

Edited by Starry

I think this video from Simon Sinek (which went viral many years ago) clearly  put out some reasons why youngsters are what they are today. 

Edited by Starry

On 2/6/2024 at 9:12 PM, Jamesc said:

Our parents brought us up well

but we did not bring our kids up well.

We spoilt them.

We thought we are educated so we know better how to bring up our kids.

But which school teach us parenting?

Condom broke and I was a parent overnight.

Before that I was just a kid.

which condom you use ah. hahahha. I will not get that. 

On 2/8/2024 at 10:57 AM, Starry said:

I think this video from Simon Sinek (which went viral many years ago) clearly  put out some reasons why youngsters are what they are today. 

Thanks for sharing this meaningful video. Provides food for thought on real critical issues. 

Stay safe 

On 2/8/2024 at 12:03 PM, kobayashiGT said:

which condom you use ah. hahahha. I will not get that. 

Cannot say loud loud

but it was a branded one.

Not cheap no brand one!