Inlinefour Twincharged January 27, 2024 Share January 27, 2024 On 1/27/2024 at 9:47 AM, Jamesc said: Again LTA no international benchmarking and best practice. Kei cars in Japan no manufacturer can take advantage like Cat A. Remember when they introduced lower road tax for Off Peak cars and people driving 5 litre cars and switched to OPC and just bought daily passes. Then they introduce reduce the price by 17k! first started OPC got Vampire rolls and lambo 🙈🙉🙊 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stratovarius Turbocharged January 27, 2024 Share January 27, 2024 It's too much effort to change a legacy system. Not at least before this ge. Maybe the next, see how many ministars cry after this ge first. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lethalstrike Turbocharged January 27, 2024 Share January 27, 2024 (edited) If its mandatory to include all these ADAS (Advanced driving assistance system) to improve safety, the OMV ceiling of $20k for Cat A has to go up. Else after factoring all these radars, sensors and cameras as standard on the cars, not many will be able to qualify under $20K OMV. Unless LTA wants to say those who buy Cat A cars with <$20k OMV have lives which are worthless anyway 😆 I would also propose that besides size, the tailpipe emissions from the cars should also have some influence on its COE Category. Make use of the VES system to re-classify the cars and this is what the NEA wants in the long run anyway. VES A1, A2 & B perhaps should be Cat A, C1 and C2 Cat B. Then automatically all the larger sized and higher performance cars will go Cat B regardless of its size. But the scholars will probably have to re-think again for EVs. As a 500hp EV or a 130 hp EV can both be VES A1... Edited January 27, 2024 by Lethalstrike 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic January 27, 2024 Share January 27, 2024 On 1/27/2024 at 10:42 AM, Soya said: Agree that using hp is the dumbest way to categorise COE. OMV already takes care of that But I disagree that there shld be discount/special cat based on family/personal needs. Liddat everyone will find a cry farder cry marder story to get cheap COE Unlike housing, car ownership is a privilege, not an entitlement Now where's my scholar bonus? Agree, keep it simple, COE and ARF are distorting enough and shortchanging car buyers in Singapore. We end up paying for lower specs car just because we need to discriminate against a certain group of buyers. No winners. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic January 27, 2024 Share January 27, 2024 On 1/27/2024 at 3:29 PM, Lethalstrike said: But the scholars will probably have to re-think again for EVs. As a 500hp EV or a 130 hp EV can both be VES A1... Ahemm...the simple fact that 'clean' EVs road tax is higher than 'pollutive' ICE, I'm not confident of scholar logic...... 2 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic January 27, 2024 Share January 27, 2024 On 1/27/2024 at 5:08 PM, Soya said: Ahemm...the simple fact that 'clean' EVs road tax is higher than 'pollutive' ICE, I'm not confident of scholar logic...... Our road has nothing to do with carbon emission. Our road tax is outdated. How can we tax A200 and A45s at the same rate? Sooner or later, ICE will harmonise with EV. 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic January 27, 2024 Share January 27, 2024 Ok, i buy a 911 as it would be back to Cat A base on physical length, right? 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic January 27, 2024 Share January 27, 2024 Evo is da best 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic January 27, 2024 Share January 27, 2024 On 1/27/2024 at 5:59 PM, Mockngbrd said: Evo is da best Evolution siboh 😁 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic January 27, 2024 Share January 27, 2024 TL;DR My guest is most likely to justify why every family needs a car. Not saying you are wrong but just saying wrong channel. Dont waste your time. LTA's goal is car-lite, yo. If you still not aware. Better put your money on the device that dont have a coe now. That's the electric bicycle. If you dont buy now you will surely regret later. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Koster 3rd Gear January 27, 2024 Share January 27, 2024 Too much work for ah gong bro 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
kobayashiGT Internal Moderator January 29, 2024 Share January 29, 2024 Woah... all of you here must be hoping minister chee come in MCF and read our forum right!!!! hahahaha. Then can simply go change COE classification and make Singapore great again! 😂 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Turbocharged January 29, 2024 Share January 29, 2024 On 1/27/2024 at 1:03 AM, Benarsenal said: I see you've put a lot of thought into this. Funnily enough I was just thinking a bit about this today too, and I agree that engine/horsepower is a stupid way of classification. Size is a better barometer, and for that matter we can reclassify road tax too, maybe according to dimensions or even weight. Unfortunately the stupids at LTA will maintain their point that car is car. Their ultimate goal is for private car ownership to disappear completely in Singapore, needs and wants be damned. They are not stupid, they just don't want to revamp the system. Too much work and there are too many JLB mfkers in LTA 3 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic January 29, 2024 Share January 29, 2024 On 1/29/2024 at 9:37 AM, kobayashiGT said: Woah... all of you here must be hoping minister chee come in MCF and read our forum right!!!! hahahaha. Then can simply go change COE classification and make Singapore great again! 😂 CCB pap 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic January 29, 2024 Share January 29, 2024 On 1/29/2024 at 9:37 AM, kobayashiGT said: Woah... all of you here must be hoping minister chee come in MCF and read our forum right!!!! hahahaha. Then can simply go change COE classification and make Singapore great again! 😂 I think CHT read my post on simplygo 🤭 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ccc888 4th Gear January 29, 2024 Share January 29, 2024 As long zero car growth and growing affluent population, overall car price can only go up up. Cannot afford js take public tpt and breathe smelly armpits lor. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vratenza Supersonic February 1, 2024 Share February 1, 2024 On 1/27/2024 at 5:19 PM, inlinesix said: Our road has nothing to do with carbon emission. Our road tax is outdated. How can we tax A200 and A45s at the same rate? Sooner or later, ICE will harmonise with EV. can lah, the VES already penalize A45s vs A200 again, can dun pichar lobang? i still want to enjoy my 2L road tax for a few more years.😆 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic February 1, 2024 Share February 1, 2024 On 2/1/2024 at 12:34 PM, Vratenza said: can lah, the VES already penalize A45s vs A200 again, can dun pichar lobang? i still want to enjoy my 2L road tax for a few more years.😆 Not enough la. A200/A45 pays $1,202 based on current system. If it is based on engine size of Porsche Caymen GT4 (which has similar hp), it would be $3,942. The difference is more than Band C2 over 10 years le ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...