Favourite Hotpot ingredients/sauces

Lala81

On 1/17/2024 at 1:11 PM, Tohto said:

Get the meat from Donki. 

Good quality and reasonable price.

The Iberico pork is more soft. I will pick this. 

Expand  

of course their beef platters for shabu shabu are very popular, the staff push out the trolley immediately kena snatched before they can reach the shelves [laugh]

On 1/17/2024 at 1:40 PM, Lala81 said:

Frozen one ar?

Which DDD do you go to? 

I only go DDD to Buy bento usually. Never see their other stuff. 

Expand  

Iberico is frozen one.

I think most donki have.

Just remember I still have one pack in the freezer bought recently. 

20240117_225112_copy_4032x3024.jpg

Edited by Tohto

On 1/17/2024 at 1:45 PM, Jman888 said:

of course their beef platters for shabu shabu are very popular, the staff push out the trolley immediately kena snatched before they can reach the shelves [laugh]

Expand  

My yakiniku platter that I bought last week from Suntec Donki.beef set $29.90 and pork set $19.90. Very value for money. 

This was share in makan thread. 

20240107_180806_copy_4032x3024.jpg

20240107_180705_copy_4032x3024.jpg

Edited by Tohto

On 1/17/2024 at 1:43 PM, Jman888 said:

yes, HDL tomato soup base was my favorite too, some time we have kimchi, tomyam, white collagen base for steamboat.

Expand  

Tbh I wonder how much sugar is required to neutralize the acidity of the tomato. 

I use canned tomatoes for my pasta. So I know the amount of sugar is significant just for pasta. 

One day I will buy and try. 

On 1/17/2024 at 11:35 PM, Lala81 said:

Tbh I wonder how much sugar is required to neutralize the acidity of the tomato. 

I use canned tomatoes for my pasta. So I know the amount of sugar is significant just for pasta. 

One day I will buy and try. 

Expand  

I not a fan of tomato and never like anything with tomato base.

Been a long time since I posted here. Hope all is good for your and your family. 😊

IMG_0606.thumb.jpeg.f0b666f33659e823ee9259d348ddd0da.jpeg
I preferred Sheng Siong frozen iberico over DDD. It’s more VFM comparing their weight and price. I’ll stock some when they have offers.🤭

As mentioned by others, try to select those with lesser fats.

IMG_0608.thumb.jpeg.56aca30f846dd00e4d0c27f774383e34.jpeg
I also like to add frozen dumplings for steamboat. This brand suits my tastebud better. 😆

IMG_0609.thumb.jpeg.0323dc1f5f8f7ec653b5471b909ce44e.jpeg

For abalone, I recommend Hock Hua 山大王鲍鱼. Their canned abalone won’t turn hard when you forgotten to take them out for the steamboat, which is a plus point for me. The cheaper can (approx $13) comes in 10 pieces, so no need to cut and very convenient. I’ll bring 1-2 cans along when be invited for steamboat dinner etc, or give away as gifts 😊

Depending on where you stay, there should have some food stalls selling tasty homemade fishballs/ meat balls. Normally they do sell in raw version, which can’t keep for long. You may wish to check them out. Remember not to freeze them as the taste will be off.  😅

IMG_0610.thumb.jpeg.f8970d89ca50e96c7e79ced48d05d9e8.jpegOh ya! Is your family a quail egg lover? If yes, do consider getting canned quail egg (in 20 or 50 pieces) as it’s convenient and cheaper. Tried a few brands but found Dasson tasted closer to those fresh type. The rest have the canned’ taste. 

IMG_0611.thumb.jpeg.bf89a3be5d152d4fa33830e074298427.jpeg
For frozen scallops, so far Emerald is the best (I got from NTUC). This brand shrink down the less, and taste better as it does not have the salt/iron taste 😉. But also more expensive brand around. Normally CNY will have good promos. 

IMG_0612.thumb.jpeg.96c0acb884107fbae1785bfce711ec64.jpeg

Sauces wise can’t recommend you, as I’m a soya+chopped garlic+chopped chili guy. 🤣My wife like this chili. Not the very spicy type, but with slight sour taste which she likes. 

I’m a fan of steamboat. I store the above frozen items and eat on weekends with wifey 😬

  On 1/17/2024 at 1:41 PM, Lala81 said:

I got some pride. So at least make my own chicken soup base. 

Going to do it in future since my mum can't handle liao. 

Expand  

lol, this is nothing to do with pride.

Difficult and time consuming to DIY collagen soup like those of commercial establishments eg various hotpot restaurants or Donki. 

buying the collagen soup is a good alternative.

  On 1/17/2024 at 2:50 PM, Tohto said:

Iberico is frozen one.

I think most donki have.

Just remember I still have one pack in the freezer bought recently. 

20240117_225112_copy_4032x3024.jpg

Expand  

I agree this is VFM. Will buy it every month or so for small family hotpot session. The collar is swee too.

Inflation busters. I just bought the Hadilao tomato soup base and had hot pot at home.

Probably only 20 percent of what it would cost in the the restuarant? Just as good. But less the service lah.

On 1/18/2024 at 1:45 AM, Sadan said:

Been a long time since I posted here. Hope all is good for your and your family. 😊

I preferred Sheng Siong frozen iberico over DDD. It’s more VFM comparing their weight and price. I’ll stock some when they have offers.🤭

I also like to add frozen dumplings for steamboat. This brand suits my tastebud better. 😆

For abalone, I recommend Hock Hua 山大王鲍鱼. Their canned abalone won’t turn hard when you forgotten to take them out for the steamboat, which is a plus point for me. The cheaper can (approx $13) comes in 10 pieces, so no need to cut and very convenient. I’ll bring 1-2 cans along when be invited for steamboat dinner etc, or give away as gifts 😊

Depending on where you stay, there should have some food stalls selling tasty homemade fishballs/ meat balls. Normally they do sell in raw version, which can’t keep for long. You may wish to check them out. Remember not to freeze them as the taste will be off.  😅

IMG_0610.thumb.jpeg.f8970d89ca50e96c7e79ced48d05d9e8.jpegOh ya! Is your family a quail egg lover? If yes, do consider getting canned quail egg (in 20 or 50 pieces) as it’s convenient and cheaper. Tried a few brands but found Dasson tasted closer to those fresh type. The rest have the canned’ taste. 

For frozen scallops, so far Emerald is the best (I got from NTUC). This brand shrink down the less, and taste better as it does not have the salt/iron taste 😉. But also more expensive brand around. Normally CNY will have good promos. 

Sauces wise can’t recommend you, as I’m a soya+chopped garlic+chopped chili guy. 🤣My wife like this chili. Not the very spicy type, but with slight sour taste which she likes. 

I’m a fan of steamboat. I store the above frozen items and eat on weekends with wifey 😬

Expand  

wah steamboat fan!

On 1/18/2024 at 1:45 AM, Sadan said:

Expand  

The SS Iberico pork during promotion also VFM. 

CNY normally will have promotion. 

  On 1/18/2024 at 4:46 AM, Tohto said:

The SS Iberico pork during promotion also VFM. 

CNY normally will have promotion. 

Expand  

This year dont have for SS. I went for two weeks. They have promo only for house brand pork belly. 

Only ntuc has promo for Iberico. 

I've bought Iberico collar x 6 packets which is about the same fattiness as regular pork belly. The Iberico belly one I think is very hard to find good ratio of meat to fat. 

On 1/18/2024 at 2:06 AM, Kxbc said:

lol, this is nothing to do with pride.

Difficult and time consuming to DIY collagen soup like those of commercial establishments eg various hotpot restaurants or Donki. 

buying the collagen soup is a good alternative.

Expand  

Pride. 

Went market today at 6+. Chicken bone parts. 6 spine/ribcage. 4 thigh bones. 3 breast bones and some chicken feet. 

Ingredients for soup stock. Just need to add the abalone brine on Friday. Should be enough. 

IMG20240203080347.jpg

Revisiting this thread. 

1. Bought my ang Kar prawns already from wet market to freeze before price hike. Trimmed off legs, feelers etc. The supermarket ang Kar last year came with blocks of ice inside. While it was definitely OK. Defrosting is quite marfan with that big block of ice (when you have lots of other stuff to defrost as well). This year SS got those house brand type of IQF ang Kar. But price from eyeball I think more expensive than wet market. I bought 1.5kg prawns at 20/kg. 

2. I spent like 30mins walking in SS bishan looking at all the frozen sections. Managed to get my frozen fish slices. I didn't see Iberico pork. Only has Hokkaido snow pork at around 13-14 per pack. Think I will buy some to try. 

3. Bought Iberico pork collar from ntuc. This year price hike quite a bit man. Last year was 19 for 2 packs. This year is 22. 

4. Can't find the emerald Hokkaido scallop box. Bought the emerald Japan scallops pack of 2 x 400gm is 40 dollars. 

Ntuc Xtra has Seaco deshelled snow crab legs and claws which I think is easy to eat. 

SS has mostly Alaskan king crab legs and half body which is hard to use in hotpot. 

  On 1/4/2025 at 1:52 AM, Lala81 said:

Revisiting this thread. 

1. Bought my ang Kar prawns already from wet market to freeze before price hike. Trimmed off legs, feelers etc. The supermarket ang Kar last year came with blocks of ice inside. While it was definitely OK. Defrosting is quite marfan with that big block of ice (when you have lots of other stuff to defrost as well). This year SS got those house brand type of IQF ang Kar. But price from eyeball I think more expensive than wet market. I bought 1.5kg prawns at 20/kg. 

2. I spent like 30mins walking in SS bishan looking at all the frozen sections. Managed to get my frozen fish slices. I didn't see Iberico pork. Only has Hokkaido snow pork at around 13-14 per pack. Think I will buy some to try. 

3. Bought Iberico pork collar from ntuc. This year price hike quite a bit man. Last year was 19 for 2 packs. This year is 22. 

4. Can't find the emerald Hokkaido scallop box. Bought the emerald Japan scallops pack of 2 x 400gm is 40 dollars. 

Ntuc Xtra has Seaco deshelled snow crab legs and claws which I think is easy to eat. 

SS has mostly Alaskan king crab legs and half body which is hard to use in hotpot. 

Expand  

You already bought food stuff for CNY ah? Lol.

  On 1/4/2025 at 6:10 AM, 13177 said:

You already bought food stuff for CNY ah? Lol.

Expand  

I'm working until mid afternoon on 初夕。so yes I need to plan ahead one. 

Even though steamboat is as easy as it gets. 

Yesterday night, I was already thinking of when is the wet market last open for vegetables. 

My sis will settle the snow crab from DDD.