Ginyu 5th Gear January 23 Share January 23 (edited) On 1/23/2025 at 3:49 PM, Throttle2 said: Aiyoh i already say i dont want to say already. 😂😂🤣🤣 But for example only, if they dont sell condo and move to HDB, does it mean no money to retire is it ? Is it? For example only lah Maybe all their money earned over the years are thrown into the condo. Asset rich, cash poor situation so need to liquidate it then can see the money so must sell then can retire comfortably. The bad thing is that after the sale proceeds still need to take out a big chunk to buy hdb, the funds getting smaller🤣 Edited January 23 by Ginyu ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic January 23 Share January 23 On 1/23/2025 at 3:11 PM, Spidey10 said: dun forget US had their subprime crisis in 2008.....that was really scary! so all big 3 kena jia lat jia lat....so, will it happen here? On 1/23/2025 at 3:18 PM, Ginyu said: But many say it will never happen lei especially those who bought it at high psf, it will just go up higher. They say for it to crash, might as well say the country collapse too. They even reassure the incumbent will never let it happen🤣 On 1/23/2025 at 2:39 PM, Victor68 said: Frankly it is not how they pegged but what is HDB all about. Public housing is to ensure citizens have a roof over their head and never for investment or becoming a landlord. Even if income increase, speculation on HDB is never good for our own economy. Japan has their property bubble burst, china is going through now, wonder when will be ours. Other than early 2000 crash, HDB did not crash for past 20 years. Private property unlikely to crash. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Unfazed 6th Gear January 23 Share January 23 Use housing is double edged sword. Those after a few failed attempts at BTO and tried considering resale are disappointed and I feel for them. New cannot get, resale ones also seems challenging to some . Suggest newlyweds don’t buy too old houses, they quoted me their real life examples. “You suggested not too old, we look at Bricklands or Gombak areas, have HDB 3 room units quite new, like 5 to 10 years old. These places not prime but asking price can be 400k plus, because sellers and agent say, very new and high remaining lease. Then relook at older ones, between 10 to 20 years old, even more ex. Because sellers and agent also say house not very old. Location good, still got remaining reasonable remaining lease, like not very new but not very old also. So last we look at 40 year old units at 1985 Gombak areas, asking price also 400k and more. We are late twenties, if we get ballot we will be early thirties. We also don’t know we will outlive the lease or not. By then old already still have to worry roof over head. You say how? Ballot new, see luck, may not get. Go see resale, can choose, but young flat ex, not so young flat more ex. Drop standard a bit. Go see older 40 year old older flat at Gombak, price also ex like Bricklands. We won’t grumble about the small space but we just want to be comfy with our finances also like very hard. We don’t want what 25 or 30 year loan. We know we are young in age but we still consider ourselves starting late. We seems to enter the market at a timing when resale house units are ridiculously high. And we keep hearing prices won’t come down, will only go up. We hope we can find one unit with very poor condition so that seller willing to sell slightly cheaper, so that we can renovate at lowest possible cost basic enough to have a roof over us. Children? We take a step at time. House is a big thing. No house no children but if house so ex we still have to buy. If have to worry so many cost issues, of course children will be place last. Even if we ballot now and get. By then we are in our thirties already. If we can get ballot, how we wish we can start paying off now, even before we move in. Because we already have the money enough for BTO but for resale, will be tighter.“ Me hear all their inputs. I kept quiet and I told them yes I feel for them. We keep seeing reports that our income is high but in reality, the par for middle income keeps creeping up like a rat race. My relatives up north keeps saying our income is so good and we find everything there cheap. And yes I often see ourselves up north calculating how cheap non essential stuffs are and stuffing up full supermarket trolleys. Come this GE, I yawn as usual. What’s the hype over a puppet whom some claim is looking at issues head on. Lip service, more of. I still remember it’s the same person who warned us that our public houses will be back zero at the end of 99. Oh god, tell us something insightful instead please. Raising GST 2 separate times. Taking care of and housing out of inflation indexes. What else? Well we got a good world report card still yeah. 3 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Victor68 Turbocharged January 23 Share January 23 On 1/23/2025 at 4:56 PM, inlinesix said: Other than early 2000 crash, HDB did not crash for past 20 years. Private property unlikely to crash. Are the new BTO buyers getting more grants? Of course the price is still ridiculously high to me but many feel very reasonable lah. 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spidey10 Supercharged January 23 Share January 23 On 1/23/2025 at 4:56 PM, inlinesix said: Other than early 2000 crash, HDB did not crash for past 20 years. Private property unlikely to crash. I think HDB unlikely to crash....but i dunno for private.... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic January 23 Share January 23 On 1/23/2025 at 5:14 PM, Victor68 said: Are the new BTO buyers getting more grants? Of course the price is still ridiculously high to me but many feel very reasonable lah. Land price for BTO are subsidised by your tax dollar. To make it less ridiculously high, it means more of your tax dollars is used to subsidise the land cost. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic January 23 Share January 23 On 1/23/2025 at 5:24 PM, Spidey10 said: I think HDB unlikely to crash....but i dunno for private.... Just remove ABSD. DONE! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spidey10 Supercharged January 23 Share January 23 On 1/23/2025 at 5:00 PM, Unfazed said: Use housing is double edged sword. Those after a few failed attempts at BTO and tried considering resale are disappointed and I feel for them. New cannot get, resale ones also seems challenging to some . Suggest newlyweds don’t buy too old houses, they quoted me their real life examples. “You suggested not too old, we look at Bricklands or Gombak areas, have HDB 3 room units quite new, like 5 to 10 years old. These places not prime but asking price can be 400k plus, because sellers and agent say, very new and high remaining lease. Then relook at older ones, between 10 to 20 years old, even more ex. Because sellers and agent also say house not very old. Location good, still got remaining reasonable remaining lease, like not very new but not very old also. So last we look at 40 year old units at 1985 Gombak areas, asking price also 400k and more. We are late twenties, if we get ballot we will be early thirties. We also don’t know we will outlive the lease or not. By then old already still have to worry roof over head. You say how? Ballot new, see luck, may not get. Go see resale, can choose, but young flat ex, not so young flat more ex. Drop standard a bit. Go see older 40 year old older flat at Gombak, price also ex like Bricklands. We won’t grumble about the small space but we just want to be comfy with our finances also like very hard. We don’t want what 25 or 30 year loan. We know we are young in age but we still consider ourselves starting late. We seems to enter the market at a timing when resale house units are ridiculously high. And we keep hearing prices won’t come down, will only go up. We hope we can find one unit with very poor condition so that seller willing to sell slightly cheaper, so that we can renovate at lowest possible cost basic enough to have a roof over us. Children? We take a step at time. House is a big thing. No house no children but if house so ex we still have to buy. If have to worry so many cost issues, of course children will be place last. Even if we ballot now and get. By then we are in our thirties already. If we can get ballot, how we wish we can start paying off now, even before we move in. Because we already have the money enough for BTO but for resale, will be tighter.“ Me hear all their inputs. I kept quiet and I told them yes I feel for them. We keep seeing reports that our income is high but in reality, the par for middle income keeps creeping up like a rat race. My relatives up north keeps saying our income is so good and we find everything there cheap. And yes I often see ourselves up north calculating how cheap non essential stuffs are and stuffing up full supermarket trolleys. Come this GE, I yawn as usual. What’s the hype over a puppet whom some claim is looking at issues head on. Lip service, more of. I still remember it’s the same person who warned us that our public houses will be back zero at the end of 99. Oh god, tell us something insightful instead please. Raising GST 2 separate times. Taking care of and housing out of inflation indexes. What else? Well we got a good world report card still yeah. indeed feel for the youngsters....and am sure for those that have the opportunity or have the parents backing, probably will be looking to move outside of SG.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic January 23 Share January 23 On 1/23/2025 at 5:31 PM, Spidey10 said: indeed feel for the youngsters....and am sure for those that have the opportunity or have the parents backing, probably will be looking to move outside of SG.... https://www.hdb.gov.sg/about-us/news-and-publications/press-releases/Oct-BTO-launch Sengkang 4rm $300+k le. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arogab Turbocharged January 23 Share January 23 On 1/23/2025 at 8:13 AM, Spidey10 said: now not CEO/CFO/CIO/COO dun even talk about landed....ahhahah Me OOO, cannot buy landed, can only go China buy leh. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Victor68 Turbocharged January 23 Share January 23 On 1/23/2025 at 5:30 PM, inlinesix said: Land price for BTO are subsidised by your tax dollar. To make it less ridiculously high, it means more of your tax dollars is used to subsidise the land cost. I am ok to let land use by citizens but not for their profit. The land belong to citizens anyway. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic January 23 Share January 23 On 1/23/2025 at 4:48 PM, Ginyu said: Maybe all their money earned over the years are thrown into the condo. Asset rich, cash poor situation so need to liquidate it then can see the money so must sell then can retire comfortably. The bad thing is that after the sale proceeds still need to take out a big chunk to buy hdb, the funds getting smaller🤣 all becos they financially illiterate so what agent say, they just do…..aiyoh 🤦♂️ 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic January 23 Share January 23 On 1/23/2025 at 6:50 PM, Victor68 said: I am ok to let land use by citizens but not for their profit. The land belong to citizens anyway. So, no land price subsidy? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jellandross Supersonic January 23 Share January 23 Why Ng chee meng dowan to come back 😂 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic January 23 Share January 23 On 1/23/2025 at 7:55 PM, Jellandross said: Why Ng chee meng dowan to come back 😂 NCM will go safe seat. SK is a 50:50 seat 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windwaver Turbocharged January 23 Share January 23 On 1/23/2025 at 3:28 PM, Spidey10 said: those vested lor.....will always huat ahhhh...up up up.... i boh lui....sit at the side line and watch pple make money.......got happy, got not happy... Happy = can sleep very soundly at night.... Not Happy = see everyone make money, i lan lan suck tumb....haiii...that's why I cannot be milliohair!!! I'm pretty sure you sell everything can easily become millionaire in SG. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged January 23 Share January 23 (edited) On 1/23/2025 at 5:00 PM, Unfazed said: Use housing is double edged sword. Those after a few failed attempts at BTO and tried considering resale are disappointed and I feel for them. New cannot get, resale ones also seems challenging to some . Suggest newlyweds don’t buy too old houses, they quoted me their real life examples. “You suggested not too old, we look at Bricklands or Gombak areas, have HDB 3 room units quite new, like 5 to 10 years old. These places not prime but asking price can be 400k plus, because sellers and agent say, very new and high remaining lease. Then relook at older ones, between 10 to 20 years old, even more ex. Because sellers and agent also say house not very old. Location good, still got remaining reasonable remaining lease, like not very new but not very old also. So last we look at 40 year old units at 1985 Gombak areas, asking price also 400k and more. We are late twenties, if we get ballot we will be early thirties. We also don’t know we will outlive the lease or not. By then old already still have to worry roof over head. You say how? Ballot new, see luck, may not get. Go see resale, can choose, but young flat ex, not so young flat more ex. Drop standard a bit. Go see older 40 year old older flat at Gombak, price also ex like Bricklands. We won’t grumble about the small space but we just want to be comfy with our finances also like very hard. We don’t want what 25 or 30 year loan. We know we are young in age but we still consider ourselves starting late. We seems to enter the market at a timing when resale house units are ridiculously high. And we keep hearing prices won’t come down, will only go up. We hope we can find one unit with very poor condition so that seller willing to sell slightly cheaper, so that we can renovate at lowest possible cost basic enough to have a roof over us. Children? We take a step at time. House is a big thing. No house no children but if house so ex we still have to buy. If have to worry so many cost issues, of course children will be place last. Even if we ballot now and get. By then we are in our thirties already. If we can get ballot, how we wish we can start paying off now, even before we move in. Because we already have the money enough for BTO but for resale, will be tighter.“ Me hear all their inputs. I kept quiet and I told them yes I feel for them. We keep seeing reports that our income is high but in reality, the par for middle income keeps creeping up like a rat race. My relatives up north keeps saying our income is so good and we find everything there cheap. And yes I often see ourselves up north calculating how cheap non essential stuffs are and stuffing up full supermarket trolleys. Come this GE, I yawn as usual. What’s the hype over a puppet whom some claim is looking at issues head on. Lip service, more of. I still remember it’s the same person who warned us that our public houses will be back zero at the end of 99. Oh god, tell us something insightful instead please. Raising GST 2 separate times. Taking care of and housing out of inflation indexes. What else? Well we got a good world report card still yeah. Need to buy house , have children , start from young. Late 20s. Then probably can finish payment for house by late 40s. Assuming find a stable job like govt work, even you may not exactly love it but it is regular salary and cpf. But how many people can achieve all that by that timeframe ? Edited January 23 by Sosaria Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windwaver Turbocharged January 23 Share January 23 On 1/23/2025 at 5:14 PM, Victor68 said: Are the new BTO buyers getting more grants? Of course the price is still ridiculously high to me but many feel very reasonable lah. Tengah very cheap leh. Combine $9K will finish paying less than 20 years. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...