Voodooman Supersonic April 27, 2025 Share April 27, 2025 https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapore/ge2025-mayors-remain-important-they-aggregate-district-needs-seek-resources-says-paps-denise-phua-5092491?cid=internal_sharetool_iphone_27042025_cna Another old point raised by SDP. It seems PAP MPs don't run town council. It is delegated to the $660k a year mayors. That means they don't know issues facing the estates? ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic April 27, 2025 Share April 27, 2025 On 4/27/2025 at 10:47 AM, Mkl22 said: Dunno why this few Chinese words came to my mind. Maybe during childhood days, the period Chinese dramas from HK. 黑白双魔。 🤣 Black one say until white, white one say until black...黑白讲 😁 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kopites Supersonic April 27, 2025 Share April 27, 2025 On 4/27/2025 at 3:31 PM, Jellandross said: Nbz who's this fella fast hand fast leg rubba rubba! He was smart. Didn't show his face not like the other one...handshake. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic April 27, 2025 Share April 27, 2025 On 4/27/2025 at 3:37 PM, Voodooman said: https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapore/ge2025-mayors-remain-important-they-aggregate-district-needs-seek-resources-says-paps-denise-phua-5092491?cid=internal_sharetool_iphone_27042025_cna Another old point raised by SDP. It seems PAP MPs don't run town council. It is delegated to the $660k a year mayors. That means they don't know issues facing the estates? "Mayors in Singapore do not "take over" the role of an MP or grassroots advisor, but instead function as a "regional role" as constituencies might lack the resources to tackle certain issues on their own, said Mayor for the Central district Denise Phua on Sunday (Apr 27)." Saw them doing a walkabout at my estate with boom mic and camera 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic April 27, 2025 Share April 27, 2025 On 4/27/2025 at 1:24 PM, Tianmo said: Her title is Dr. hor. Sell koyok kind of lokun? 😁 On 4/27/2025 at 11:45 AM, Mkl22 said: A Dumb bitch. More like a pawn...fed for decades...one time use...as much self destruction...with collaterals...😂 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atonchia Supersonic April 27, 2025 Share April 27, 2025 On 4/27/2025 at 1:29 PM, Invigorated said: anyone getting their popcorn ready for tonight at 8pm? Sadly, SDP will not be able to send their rep down because it has fewer candidates than the rest. I wonder who will be sent too. Any news on it? I am getting some peanuts, potato chips and cold beer. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic April 27, 2025 Share April 27, 2025 On 4/27/2025 at 1:47 PM, Hubwee said: Oh maybe I have been living in a cave , I never knew that Keling Kia , considered racist and disrespectful these days ? Meaning ah neh also cannot use now ? meaning dig mud in Hokkien also considered offensive meaning cannot call Chinese “ teng lang “ also ? No wonder society these days so stressful lo … those phrase we have been using half our life suddenly all become disrespectful and offensive Woke movement has changed a lot...ah neh among close frenz or colleagues are still hokay...but not with acquaintances...not any more...just like kampong spirit...fading further away... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic April 27, 2025 Share April 27, 2025 (edited) On 4/27/2025 at 3:24 PM, Jellandross said: How many Singaporeans are enjoying our swiss standard of living? I tink watch thread got a few...very swiss...very swee...😁 Edited April 27, 2025 by mersaylee 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Invigorated Supercharged April 27, 2025 Share April 27, 2025 On 4/27/2025 at 4:06 PM, mersaylee said: Woke movement has changed a lot...ah neh among close frenz or colleagues are still hokay...but not with acquaintances...not any more...just like kampong spirit...fading further away... Now even call people must also be worried about gender pronouns.. 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic April 27, 2025 Share April 27, 2025 On 4/27/2025 at 3:31 PM, Jellandross said: Nbz who's this fella fast hand fast leg rubba rubba! I suspect his name is called lao gong...😁 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic April 27, 2025 Share April 27, 2025 (edited) On 4/27/2025 at 3:55 PM, inlinesix said: "Mayors in Singapore do not "take over" the role of an MP or grassroots advisor, but instead function as a "regional role" as constituencies might lack the resources to tackle certain issues on their own, said Mayor for the Central district Denise Phua on Sunday (Apr 27)." Saw them doing a walkabout at my estate with boom mic and camera Record for a dogcuementally? 😁 Edited April 27, 2025 by mersaylee Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic April 27, 2025 Share April 27, 2025 On 4/27/2025 at 4:18 PM, mersaylee said: Record for a dogcuementally? 😁 No idea. We sat at rows that they had visited. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Supersonic April 27, 2025 Share April 27, 2025 WP Lorry just passed by..luckily i woke up. 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic April 27, 2025 Share April 27, 2025 On 4/27/2025 at 3:55 PM, inlinesix said: "Mayors in Singapore do not "take over" the role of an MP or grassroots advisor, but instead function as a "regional role" as constituencies might lack the resources to tackle certain issues on their own, said Mayor for the Central district Denise Phua on Sunday (Apr 27)." Saw them doing a walkabout at my estate with boom mic and camera Can opposition wards tap on that regional resources? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic April 27, 2025 Share April 27, 2025 On 4/27/2025 at 3:31 PM, Jellandross said: Nbz who's this fella fast hand fast leg rubba rubba! KNN, no left liao no left liao. DIU!!! 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic April 27, 2025 Share April 27, 2025 On 4/27/2025 at 4:43 PM, Voodooman said: Can opposition wards tap on that regional resources? You ask her la😂 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Invigorated Supercharged April 27, 2025 Share April 27, 2025 (edited) On 4/27/2025 at 3:24 PM, Jellandross said: How many Singaporeans are enjoying our swiss standard of living? PM already did a soft update recently, now is beyond swiss standard of living; https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/politics/we-are-prepared-to-relook-everything-lawrence-wong-on-a-changing-society-and-his-hopes-for-s-pore Though it is always tough to compare 2 very different counties, there are definitely areas we can still be contented and find joy in. Someone online said that In Switzerland, eating out will cost you at least $40 per meal.. housing is also extremely expensive, especially for the young so majority (about 70%) rent their entire lives. Some Swiss have also preferred to call Singapore their home instead so that speaks volumes of what we have today. Of cos, I'm very sure there are other areas that Switzerland is superior to us but just saying that we have come far from when GCT made that comment in 1994, which is only some 30 years ago. There's still much to be done when it comes to income inequality, especially to address rising costs for those with lower incomes.. but we also have to acknowledge that no system is perfect. It's more of how less imperfect we can aspire to be. Edited April 27, 2025 by Invigorated Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic April 27, 2025 Share April 27, 2025 On 4/27/2025 at 4:45 PM, inlinesix said: You ask her la😂 Her salary is paid by PA but we all know the answer. Vote wisely. 😂😂😂 ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...