Stratovarius Turbocharged April 24, 2025 Share April 24, 2025 On 4/24/2025 at 1:28 PM, Windwaver said: Who can spot Sun Xueling? Hair style 20 years no change. ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stratovarius Turbocharged April 24, 2025 Share April 24, 2025 On 4/24/2025 at 11:59 AM, Windwaver said: https://www.8days.sg/entertainment/local/charlene-chen-pap-tampines-grc-candidate-vivian-hsu-chow-842801 Does PAP Tampines GRC Candidate Charlene Chen Look Like A Cross Between Vivian Hsu And Vivian Chow? 13 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic April 24, 2025 Share April 24, 2025 (edited) On 4/24/2025 at 11:42 AM, Sosaria said: You think WP can take Jalan Kayu? I look at their candidate like he's unknown and voters may go for safe bet, NCM, unpalatable as that seems. This area appears to have more well-to-do landed group so not surprised if they plump for the establishment. I haven't been following SDP exploit in bukit panjang. It will be a close fight and i predict the incumbent may still get a narrow win unless there is a change in the demographic of bukit panjang in favour of SDP. SDP best bet of winning was at the now-defunct Bukit batok smc, with Dr Chee making steady gains in the past few elections. To get a solid win in this smc, i was thinking PAP may have to recall back the more popular David Ong! But anyway, the more convenient path of eliminating this smc through boundary re-drawing was taken, seems like a cop-out to me. Yes, I believe so. Other than being a 39 years old single "chio bu", tell me what is so KNOWN of Alexis Dang over Andre Low? Listen to how this young man present himself, and how "zhai" aka steady he appears in front of crowds. 心里素质 very strong. His young age can be both an advantage or a disadvantage, but as a young father, I think age is his advantage. What is Ng CM good for? Half a Minister who lost to a new WP team C, and not forgetting the almost sold income incident is still warm. He is not contesting as a Minister, but as a powerless ex-Minister, so more educated, more well to do voter is more damaging to Ng. And because its a SMC, voters are more willing to take chances with the WP brand. Of course 可怜票 sure will have also. SDP has been in Bukit panjang for a long long time, but Teo HP was hard to beat. From 2000, no one from SDP could come close more than 35%, but PT gotten 46% in his first try against Liang EH in 2020. The story? Voters in Bukit panjang look at candidate over party? They voted for Teo HP not really PAP, and they voted for PT, not SDP. So as long as PT dont make silly mistakes and talk rubbish like some of the oppositions, and now with the PAP cfm back in power with unlikely much changes to the opposition seats, a 2nd attempt at Bukit panjang SMC could just do the job with a tight margin. I wont even discount the fact that providing a total rematch this GE in Bukit panjang is a plot by the PAP. If PT wins and CSJ doesnt, given Chee's narrow mind, he either breaks PT or PT will break SDP. Edited April 24, 2025 by Tianmo 5 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Invigorated Supercharged April 24, 2025 Share April 24, 2025 On 4/24/2025 at 12:23 PM, Sturtles said: Sadly, not all of his decisions are correct. TCB used this example to show while he cared for the man on the street, LKY’s thinking is more elitist. i just wished they answered the question, how many working age Singaporeans are gainfully employed, rather than skirt around the bush by lumping with “locals” It’s not an easy question to answer, but I hope PAP gets the hint “you better buck when the answer is finally revealed” Sorry about the long reply. Ignore if it's too boring for you but this is just my heartfelt thoughts. Actually, major political defeats already happened during LKY’s time.. like Anson in 1981 or aljunied in 2011.. His policies worked a long time back, when Singapore was still developing and needed strong control. But by 2011, that era had passed. The old ways of top-down leadership weren’t working anymore. I remember being younger and angry. Pretty sure I voted opposition then too. To be fair, LKY’s success created a smarter, more informed generation. And like a child growing up.. when young, they listen. But once they hit their teens, they start thinking for themselves, questioning your decisions. If you keep treating them like a kid, you lose their respect. That’s what happened with the electorate. Singaporeans today aren’t blindly obedient. We know the world, we want to be heard, not just told what to do. And we don’t respond well to fear or being “punished” by policies we feel are unfair. Yet.. PAP knows raising petrol taxes and GST will cost them votes. So why do it? Why not lower GST and hand out free healthcare and education to win people over? Why invite the rage of voters? Why not just do the easy thing like some parties have said, remove GST, cut down on national defence, make education free etc.. If we look at Ukraine, if they had our reserves, leadership, and connections, would they be in the same predicaments today? Look at what trump said to Zelensky.. that he doesn't have the cards, is that a reminder to us? If trump comes down tomorrow to say that Singapore should be a part of USA because having a port and base here is strategic, which country will be there to defend us? Look at Greenland for reference. You think he's joking but he really isn't. Why do we even need wars when one can just plant a flag and claim ownership.. The fact is our reserves are our shield. They helped us survive COVID without going into debt. In a global conflict, they give us options. They buy us time. They protect our independence. They buy us weapons, jets, maybe even friends and alliances because we have no natural resources. When the government raises taxes, it’s to protect those reserves. It’s not popular for sure but it's responsible. At the end of the day, it’s easier to take the easy route.. promise everything, avoid tough choices. But when we vote, we should ask ourselves.. Do we want people who do what’s easy, or people who do what’s tough and necessary? 10 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic April 24, 2025 Share April 24, 2025 On 4/24/2025 at 11:42 AM, Windwaver said: Yeah, that "handshake" is a little inappropriate, more suitable for couples something like, "我们小手牵小手' go gai gai like that feel. KNN!!! 勾引选民!!! 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Staff69 Hypersonic April 24, 2025 Share April 24, 2025 Putting my money where my mouth is. In my own household, we practice a 50/50 decision making processes . Will consult my spouse before making any decision and we talk it out. Would be disastrous, if I am the only one making all decisions and my spouse just quietly follow my decision. As not always online. All the best and God bless 8 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic April 24, 2025 Share April 24, 2025 On 4/24/2025 at 11:52 AM, Lala81 said: So slow... I walk home 3pm from bus stop already the posters out on the road to my estate... Fast hand fast leg. My SIL said yishun already up also at 3pm. Lol sibey hardworking and on the ball!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TangoCharlie Supersonic April 24, 2025 Share April 24, 2025 On 4/24/2025 at 1:56 PM, mersaylee said: Simi is bg? Orh khim? 🤔 yah same same, he knows i know 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic April 24, 2025 Share April 24, 2025 (edited) We were at punggol one just now. My wife said "all the best" to HS at One Punggol at the drop off point. He told her to "please get your neighbors to vote WP". Unfortunately we not from punggol. He got onto Grab behind my car. Edited April 24, 2025 by Lala81 7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sturtles 6th Gear April 24, 2025 Share April 24, 2025 On 4/24/2025 at 2:10 PM, Invigorated said: Sorry about the long reply. Ignore if it's too boring for you but this is just my heartfelt thoughts. Actually, major political defeats already happened during LKY’s time.. like Anson in 1981 or aljunied in 2011.. His policies worked a long time back, when Singapore was still developing and needed strong control. But by 2011, that era had passed. The old ways of top-down leadership weren’t working anymore. I remember being younger and angry. Pretty sure I voted opposition then too. To be fair, LKY’s success created a smarter, more informed generation. And like a child growing up.. when young, they listen. But once they hit their teens, they start thinking for themselves, questioning your decisions. If you keep treating them like a kid, you lose their respect. That’s what happened with the electorate. Singaporeans today aren’t blindly obedient. We know the world, we want to be heard, not just told what to do. And we don’t respond well to fear or being “punished” by policies we feel are unfair. Yet.. PAP knows raising petrol taxes and GST will cost them votes. So why do it? Why not lower GST and hand out free healthcare and education to win people over? Why invite the rage of voters? Why not just do the easy thing like some parties have said, remove GST, cut down on national defence, make education free etc.. If we look at Ukraine, if they had our reserves, leadership, and connections, would they be in the same predicaments today? Look at what trump said to Zelensky.. that he doesn't have the cards, is that a reminder to us? If trump comes down tomorrow to say that Singapore should be a part of USA because having a port and base here is strategic, which country will be there to defend us? Look at Greenland for reference. You think he's joking but he really isn't. Why do we even need wars when one can just plant a flag and claim ownership.. The fact is our reserves are our shield. They helped us survive COVID without going into debt. In a global conflict, they give us options. They buy us time. They protect our independence. They buy us weapons, jets, maybe even friends and alliances because we have no natural resources. When the government raises taxes, it’s to protect those reserves. It’s not popular for sure but it's responsible. At the end of the day, it’s easier to take the easy route.. promise everything, avoid tough choices. But when we vote, we should ask ourselves.. Do we want people who do what’s easy, or people who do what’s tough and necessary? Thank you for this healthy discourse. It is certainly refreshing to have such a civil discussion in MCF. I absolutely agree with you on every point. Singapore doesn't have any resources, but only the hard earned reserves from the past half a century of good work and sacrifice by the prior generations. Though that, some of the points raised being how much tax is sufficient, without putting unnecessary hardship on the lower middle class, so this is one for open debate. Another is the cracking down on waste. Ministerial salary is not even a contention in my opinion if they are indeed talents, and not brown-nosers while Multiple Mayorship of 660k per annum for unspecified scope of work is clearly eye-catching, when PAP strenuously tries to explain the need to raise GST by 2%. 8 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic April 24, 2025 Share April 24, 2025 On 4/24/2025 at 1:32 PM, Windwaver said: Ting Pei Ling has PM material, maybe Singapore's first female PM? maybe DPM, also first female DPM. But I am sure she will be promoted after this GE. 1 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mason016 Supersonic April 24, 2025 Share April 24, 2025 On 4/24/2025 at 1:28 PM, Windwaver said: Who can spot Sun Xueling? Who can spot it’s a nice big detached house? 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mason016 Supersonic April 24, 2025 Share April 24, 2025 On 4/24/2025 at 1:32 PM, Windwaver said: Ting Pei Ling has PM material, maybe Singapore's first female PM? Urm, I get that she’s in a corporate role, but this pic is really pushing the boundaries of photoshopped profiles. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic April 24, 2025 Share April 24, 2025 On 4/24/2025 at 2:33 PM, Mason016 said: Who can spot it’s a nice big detached house? Must be home to a rich cher...or a rich classmate...😁 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freeder Hypersonic April 24, 2025 Share April 24, 2025 https://vt.tiktok.com/ZSrvsnuRk/ So much angst …. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic April 24, 2025 Share April 24, 2025 (edited) On 4/24/2025 at 2:25 PM, Staff69 said: Putting my money where my mouth is. In my own household, we practice a 50/50 decision making processes . Will consult my spouse before making any decision and we talk it out. Would be disastrous, if I am the only one making all decisions and my spouse just quietly follow my decision. As not always online. All the best and God bless How i wish my spouse is more consultative...only know to order me wash the dishes...throw the rubbish...hang the clothes out...bring the clothes in...boil water...pour water...wash the toilet... Oh wait...consult also i have to do in the end...suah lah...Nike 😂 Edited April 24, 2025 by mersaylee 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic April 24, 2025 Share April 24, 2025 Looks like there a rally site at the open field opposite SKGH. On the way cycling to eat hokkien mee, saw may foreign workers setting up speaker, stage, and barriers fence along the road. Wil attend if they have a mini pasar malam next to it. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BanCoe Hypersonic April 24, 2025 Share April 24, 2025 On 4/24/2025 at 7:15 AM, mersaylee said: Limpeh cum to this world for so many decades...first time see such handshake...gonna go pg try it out with her no less...see got any spark or kick out of it ornot...🤝😁 Depends your enjin got compression or depression 🤣🤪 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...