Sg Election 2025!

On 3/14/2025 at 10:34 AM, 13177 said:

But you seldom see many SERS project going on for HDB. I would think HDB just let them reached 99 years, and residents have to find their own house, rather than SERS the HDB and relocate them to a new HDB.

Not many SERS yet. We haven't reach that stage. The oldest HDB blocks just reached 60 something years only (built in 1960s).

I think Govt has said they will not probably not let HDB leases run till the end of 99 years. When it reach 60 or 70 plus years, will do SERS or lease renewal.

On 3/14/2025 at 2:25 PM, Sosaria said:

Ah Tan never answered the question. Why so shy about revealing the figures?

Seems that this differentiation in statistics between PR and citizen is a big state secret in Singapore [laugh]

And if differentiate between OG citizen and new citizen (just converted generation), this is even more top secret!

Because to their mind, PR and Singaporean is the same.

Whether that's an accurate POV is up for debate.

On 3/14/2025 at 11:07 PM, Benarsenal said:

Not many SERS yet. We haven't reach that stage. The oldest HDB blocks just reached 60 something years only (built in 1960s).

I think Govt has said they will not probably not let HDB leases run till the end of 99 years. When it reach 60 or 70 plus years, will do SERS or lease renewal.

There are too many old HDB all over SG, i curious to know how HDB is going to SERS them?! Lol. Anyway, SERS is quite a major project, not that easy. Cause need to find nearby land for the replacement flat, paying compensation plus all the admin work etc. 

On 3/14/2025 at 11:16 PM, 13177 said:

There are too many old HDB all over SG, i curious to know how HDB is going to SERS them?! Lol. Anyway, SERS is quite a major project, not that easy. Cause need to find nearby land for the replacement flat, paying compensation plus all the admin work etc. 

That's why Ah Wong offered the option of VERS also. I'm sure the implementation details of that will come when many of the 1970s flats are due.

Even if they don't offer brand new flats, one way to go is to offer substantial grants to buy (new-ish) resale flats with many years of lease left, with appropriate compensation. With the way they are building I'm sure there will be many such flats available on the market when the time comes.

On 3/14/2025 at 11:14 PM, Benarsenal said:

Because to their mind, PR and Singaporean is the same.

Whether that's an accurate POV is up for debate.

If PR and Singaporean is the same, then why need to use difference name?! But even gahment treat both the same and yet i hear some PRs complain that they are treated differently.

On 3/14/2025 at 11:20 PM, Benarsenal said:

That's why Ah Wong offered the option of VERS also. I'm sure the implementation details of that will come when many of the 1970s flats are due.

Even if they don't offer brand new flats, one way to go is to offer substantial grants to buy (new-ish) resale flats with many years of lease left, with appropriate compensation. With the way they are building I'm sure there will be many such flats available on the market when the time comes.

This VERS thing is offered by Ah Wong, don't know who will take over this project when the time comes? Cause by then Ah Wong maybe not around liao.

On 3/14/2025 at 11:22 PM, 13177 said:

If PR and Singaporean is the same, then why need to use difference name?! But even gahment treat both the same and yet i hear some PRs complain that they are treated differently.

PR is like one step towards citizen. In Govt's view, if one applies and get PR, it's a demonstration of commitment towards this country, with the final step being full citizen.

Of course, not every PR will see it this way, and some will use it for selfish means. But to our Govt, these are minority (true or not I dunno), and I guess they pretty much close one eye since PR status is easier to revoke than citizenship.

Edited by Benarsenal

On 3/14/2025 at 11:32 PM, Benarsenal said:

PR is like one step towards citizen. In Govt's view, if one applies and get PR, it's a demonstration of commitment towards this country, with the final step being full citizen.

Of course, not every PR will see it this way, and some will use it for selfish means. But to our Govt, these are minority (true or not I dunno), and I guess they pretty much close one eye since PR status is easier to revoke than citizenship.

I know of many PR that would like to enjoy their citizenship back home. I thought there were talks that PR needs to covert to citizen within certain number of years? We're there exception given to any country?

On 3/15/2025 at 9:19 AM, Victor68 said:

I know of many PR that would like to enjoy their citizenship back home. I thought there were talks that PR needs to covert to citizen within certain number of years? We're there exception given to any country?

My fren is 2nd Gen PR. Went through NS.

Apply for citizenship and was rejected.

• Sad 1

On 3/15/2025 at 9:22 AM, inlinesix said:

He was seen together with people wear red? Try wearing white lah, sure work.

This pr cat in our demographic makeup is essential to our country. I have relatives, friends, coworkers in that cat...no price for guessing right which country contribute to the majority of that figure...our economy is ever evolving...for both competitiveness or survival...in the eyes of our garment...there should be no discrimination or differentiation...treat all as equal...they are important as strong support to our economic engines...insufficient locally borned are still considered pillars...in recent times, i see the efforts to address pioneer and merdeka gens...lots of support were and are still in place to take good care of them...regardless which box was ticked...

While we kpkb on some policies...gratitude must also be given when it's due...

As young senior...we have the privilege of enjoying the fruits our forefathers had earned with their hard labour in helping established what we have today...and as generation that have seen what were necessary to be successful...with good leaders in the political and ministerial scenes...we have to step up to voice our concerns on the underperformer or policy...not as vent of frustration but for the betterment of our future generations into the unknown...

We love Singapore as we have loved it in the past...garment better listen carefully to the young seniors even more...we know...therefore we can be swayed...

Ahemmm...not suay hor...it's lottery day...🙏😂

5th Gear

No law stating u must convert to Citizen within certain yrs. :D PR can run back to their original country if SG is bombarded. 

• Sad 1

I have see some PRs have been holding PR status for more than 20 years still PR lo. Don’t think they need to convert to citizenship after certain years?!

On 3/15/2025 at 9:22 AM, inlinesix said:

Thought went thru NS liao would get citizenship? No longer the case now liao?

On 3/15/2025 at 11:05 AM, 13177 said:

I have see some PRs have been holding PR status for more than 20 years still PR lo. Don’t think they need to convert to citizenship after certain years?!

Citizenship not that easy to get I think. I believe there's like a minimum residency period (like you need to be physically here for X amount of time). Those high flyer who travel here and there often for work, quite hard to get.