kobayashiGT Internal Moderator January 3 Share January 3 Source: https://www.todayonline.com/voices/no-degree-required-vinyl-car-wrap-woman-chauvinism-prejudice-manual-work-2333586 Singaporeans are increasingly seeking out meaningful, skilled labour, amid a growing push for better recognition and pay for such professions. TODAY’s Voices section is publishing first-hand accounts of young Singapore residents who have chosen careers in manual trades and are thriving. Here, Ms Tsuri Xie, 34, recounts her career transition from a marketing job to installing vinyl wraps on cars. Drawn to the creative process, she picked up skills and managed to win fans on social media by sharing videos of her work. Negative comments, as well as chauvinism from those who think women know little about cars, don’t discourage her from pursuing her craft, she writes. I graduated from Lasalle College of the Arts with a Communication Design degree in 2010. As a student, I envisioned myself entering the creative or media industry. I found myself in marketing instead, and after some years landed a senior role in an international company. Despite the attractive compensation, nothing quite satisfied the itch to create. Along the way, I began investing in startups. In 2016, I invested in a now defunct automotive company called Fox Motorworks. That was where I first encountered vinyl wrapping, and the process intrigued me. I began playing around with scrap vinyl material, but not very seriously because it was a lot harder than it looked. Amid the pandemic in 2020, I left my job to set up a digital marketing firm. The founders of my current workplace, Vos Automotive, approached me then to join them as a marketer. It was a bold move for me, but the opportunity was a breath of fresh air. Shortly after, I closed my venture and joined Vos as a founding member. Like many businesses, we found it hard to hire skilled labour. This was my chance to start learning vinyl wrapping more seriously. At the end of 2020, I spoke to Vos’ owners about becoming a vinyl wrap installer. They gave me their blessing. I began by watching online videos and referencing those techniques against what other seasoned installers were teaching me. I also joined online communities where professional installers share tips with one another. That same year, I started recording videos myself at work for my own review. A friend suggested uploading them onto TikTok. I didn’t think too much of it but did it anyway. Before long, they grew in popularity, garnering millions of views. This gave me the assurance to push myself further. There were also many negative comments, which would affect my mental state adversely, but I tried to take them constructively as much as possible. I enjoy seeing every car as a creative canvas. Initially, being able to even complete a job gave me an unparalleled sense of achievement. After wrapping professionally for three years — and completing over a hundred projects — a finished design is still extremely satisfying to me. Some of my more memorable designs include a graphic anime-styled wrap, a BMW 4 series wrapped in marble print and a Mercedes G-Wagon wrapped in faux leather vinyl. A typical day involves planning and measuring the materials used, cleaning, designing and installing. The schedule can be demanding, especially during peak Fortunately, I have a team to assist me. Many of my teammates are my teachers too. New methods are always being discovered. Making progress means being willing to learn — never become the old dog that can’t learn new tricks. Unfortunately, chauvinism is very real in the male-dominated automotive industry. I have encountered many people who assume that women know little about cars. I’ve found that I need to prove my worth in this industry, as some clients do not trust a woman to work on their vehicles. Creative work is challenging work. While we strive for perfection, anything handmade is hardly perfect. Sadly, not everyone appreciates this and can be overly demanding. Additionally, prejudice against blue-collared work exists in Singapore. I have experienced many white-collared professionals talking down to my team and I. In fact, some who acted like my close friends despised me for going into blue-collared work. There was much chatter about me when I entered this trade. This does not stop me from pursuing my passion. To me, every wrap is a work of art. Seeing a satisfied owner further assures me that my decision was worth it. I’m thankful for my friends and family who truly supported me. Today, these are the same people who are telling their friends now they know me personally. To those wanting to enter the trade, be prepared to work on your posture or end up getting endless backaches. Be warned, too, that it is not a financially rewarding trade — the business is hardly scalable and anyone looking to make a quick buck should turn away. Passion is the only thing that will keep your fire going. ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic January 3 Share January 3 I want to see more woman on top too! Say no to sex discrimination! 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic January 3 Share January 3 On 1/3/2024 at 9:27 AM, kobayashiGT said: Additionally, prejudice against blue-collared work exists in Singapore. I have experienced many white-collared professionals talking down to my team and I. i think this is quite common. but sometimes it is because they start to smoke by saying "its like that one or some other similar bulls**t", partly because they do not know or to deflect responsibility 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windwaver Turbocharged January 3 Share January 3 On 1/3/2024 at 9:27 AM, kobayashiGT said: Source: https://www.todayonline.com/voices/no-degree-required-vinyl-car-wrap-woman-chauvinism-prejudice-manual-work-2333586 Singaporeans are increasingly seeking out meaningful, skilled labour, amid a growing push for better recognition and pay for such professions. TODAY’s Voices section is publishing first-hand accounts of young Singapore residents who have chosen careers in manual trades and are thriving. Here, Ms Tsuri Xie, 34, recounts her career transition from a marketing job to installing vinyl wraps on cars. Drawn to the creative process, she picked up skills and managed to win fans on social media by sharing videos of her work. Negative comments, as well as chauvinism from those who think women know little about cars, don’t discourage her from pursuing her craft, she writes. I graduated from Lasalle College of the Arts with a Communication Design degree in 2010. As a student, I envisioned myself entering the creative or media industry. I found myself in marketing instead, and after some years landed a senior role in an international company. Despite the attractive compensation, nothing quite satisfied the itch to create. Along the way, I began investing in startups. In 2016, I invested in a now defunct automotive company called Fox Motorworks. That was where I first encountered vinyl wrapping, and the process intrigued me. I began playing around with scrap vinyl material, but not very seriously because it was a lot harder than it looked. Amid the pandemic in 2020, I left my job to set up a digital marketing firm. The founders of my current workplace, Vos Automotive, approached me then to join them as a marketer. It was a bold move for me, but the opportunity was a breath of fresh air. Shortly after, I closed my venture and joined Vos as a founding member. Like many businesses, we found it hard to hire skilled labour. This was my chance to start learning vinyl wrapping more seriously. At the end of 2020, I spoke to Vos’ owners about becoming a vinyl wrap installer. They gave me their blessing. I began by watching online videos and referencing those techniques against what other seasoned installers were teaching me. I also joined online communities where professional installers share tips with one another. That same year, I started recording videos myself at work for my own review. A friend suggested uploading them onto TikTok. I didn’t think too much of it but did it anyway. Before long, they grew in popularity, garnering millions of views. This gave me the assurance to push myself further. There were also many negative comments, which would affect my mental state adversely, but I tried to take them constructively as much as possible. I enjoy seeing every car as a creative canvas. Initially, being able to even complete a job gave me an unparalleled sense of achievement. After wrapping professionally for three years — and completing over a hundred projects — a finished design is still extremely satisfying to me. Some of my more memorable designs include a graphic anime-styled wrap, a BMW 4 series wrapped in marble print and a Mercedes G-Wagon wrapped in faux leather vinyl. A typical day involves planning and measuring the materials used, cleaning, designing and installing. The schedule can be demanding, especially during peak Fortunately, I have a team to assist me. Many of my teammates are my teachers too. New methods are always being discovered. Making progress means being willing to learn — never become the old dog that can’t learn new tricks. Unfortunately, chauvinism is very real in the male-dominated automotive industry. I have encountered many people who assume that women know little about cars. I’ve found that I need to prove my worth in this industry, as some clients do not trust a woman to work on their vehicles. Creative work is challenging work. While we strive for perfection, anything handmade is hardly perfect. Sadly, not everyone appreciates this and can be overly demanding. Additionally, prejudice against blue-collared work exists in Singapore. I have experienced many white-collared professionals talking down to my team and I. In fact, some who acted like my close friends despised me for going into blue-collared work. There was much chatter about me when I entered this trade. This does not stop me from pursuing my passion. To me, every wrap is a work of art. Seeing a satisfied owner further assures me that my decision was worth it. I’m thankful for my friends and family who truly supported me. Today, these are the same people who are telling their friends now they know me personally. To those wanting to enter the trade, be prepared to work on your posture or end up getting endless backaches. Be warned, too, that it is not a financially rewarding trade — the business is hardly scalable and anyone looking to make a quick buck should turn away. Passion is the only thing that will keep your fire going. Look like @BabyBlade? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
kobayashiGT Internal Moderator January 3 Author Share January 3 On 1/3/2024 at 10:20 AM, Windwaver said: Look like @BabyBlade? hahhaha. every girl to you also look like babyblade. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Inlinefour Twincharged January 3 Share January 3 me volunteer to be auntie protégé can? 🤩🤩🤩 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged January 3 Share January 3 On 1/3/2024 at 10:54 AM, Inlinefour said: me volunteer to be auntie protégé can? 🤩🤩🤩 Tell her you need a lot of "hand-holding" to learn the skill Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic January 3 Share January 3 Is this paid advertising? 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic January 3 Share January 3 So in SG people look down at her because she is a female and she is a blue collar worker. They look down on her because she young or not? You are too young to be a towkay lah? Anyway SG people like to look down on everybody. From Indonesia gal must be maid From Thailand prostitute From China Gold digger From Philippines maid with Bangla boyfried And then there is education! My son don't steal ladies underwear lah! He is a graduate! How stupid is the aunty that made that statement! I could go on look down because people are poor and worse look up to a man because he is ang moh also racial discrimination although the ang moh man never complains when an SPG open their legs for them. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic January 3 Share January 3 Its 2024 let's stop discrimination of gender and race and age and education level and income and wealth and sexual preference like man like man or man like woman or woman like woman or 1 man like 2 woman etc. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Inlinefour Twincharged January 3 Share January 3 On 1/3/2024 at 11:11 AM, Sosaria said: Tell her you need a lot of "hand-holding" to learn the skill hold tight tight huh 🥰🥰🥰 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic January 3 Share January 3 Never understood the need to be featured in such articles claiming to be some female high flyer but decided to take a man's job.... 1 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic January 3 Share January 3 This one oso female (ex)high flyer wot.... 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
macrosszero Turbocharged January 3 Share January 3 On 1/3/2024 at 3:39 PM, Soya said: Never understood the need to be featured in such articles claiming to be some female high flyer but decided to take a man's job.... To be fair male hair stylists like David Gan are also similarly feted in what is perceived to be a female’s industry Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic January 4 Share January 4 On 1/3/2024 at 3:58 PM, Soya said: This one oso female (ex)high flyer wot.... please give heads up or disclaimer before posting pix. Many uncles here heart may not be as strong as before. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic January 4 Share January 4 (edited) On 1/3/2024 at 3:39 PM, Soya said: Never understood the need to be featured in such articles claiming to be some female high flyer but decided to take a man's job.... Yalor, if the roles are reversed and a dude were to take up a feminine job, would ppl look at him like a hero? Start clapping and celebrate? Maybe Philip here can give some comments. No tits, no p*ssy to gain an advantage compared to "no degree" woman here. I mean what's with all the hype. The fact that ppl do judge you by the looks and the things that they dont say they also judge gender, age, race and whatever. Just look at the job application form. Welcome to reality. Edited January 4 by Watwheels Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ricky_doodle 4th Gear January 4 Share January 4 (edited) @Jamesc Fully agree with you on the "SG people like to look down on everybody" statement. Basically some SG people also look down on other SG people. Just some examples to add on to your list: - E-Class people look down on A, B & C-Class people - 5 series look down on 1, 2, 3 & 4 series people - Conti car people look down on Japanese car people - Japanese car people look down on Korean car people - RI people look down on everyone else (except maybe Dr. V) - EC people look down on HDB people - Private condo people look down on EC people - Landed property people look down on private condo people And the list goes on.... These people look down on others just because they feel they are in the position to, but they tend to forget got S-Class or Maybach people, 7-series people, GCB people, Ferrari people, Lamborghini people etc. higher up than them. And instead of being grateful of what they have or achieved and to help others in need, they will just focus on themselves and why certain things are not done properly for them, like everyone else owes them a living. I guess this is partly why we as a nation have become so competitive amongst our own people, so selfish, self-centered, self-entitled, ungracious, inconsiderate, lack of compassion. And by being like that now, how will the next generation be like? No prizes for getting that answer correct. Yes, these people may have "done well" in terms of corporate levels, social levels, material levels. How would they rate themselves as a person? This reminds me of a quote from Mr. George Yeo: "When you diminish others, you diminish yourself. When you enhance others, you enhance yourself." Edited January 4 by Ricky_doodle 3 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
kobayashiGT Internal Moderator January 4 Author Share January 4 On 1/4/2024 at 9:50 AM, Ricky_doodle said: @Jamesc Fully agree with you on the "SG people like to look down on everybody" statement. Basically some SG people also look down on other SG people. Just some examples to add on to your list: - E-Class people look down on A, B & C-Class people - 5 series look down on 1, 2, 3 & 4 series people - Conti car people look down on Japanese car people - Japanese car people look down on Korean car people - RI people look down on everyone else (except maybe Dr. V) - EC people look down on HDB people - Private condo people look down on EC people - Landed property people look down on private condo people And the list goes on.... These people look down on others just because they feel they are in the position to, but they tend to forget got S-Class or Maybach people, 7-series people, GCB people, Ferrari people, Lamborghini people etc. higher up than them. And instead of being grateful of what they have or achieved and to help others in need, they will just focus on themselves and why certain things are not done properly for them, like everyone else owes them a living. I guess this is partly why we as a nation have become so competitive amongst our own people, so selfish, self-centered, self-entitled, ungracious, inconsiderate, lack of compassion. And by being like that now, how will the next generation be like? No prizes for getting that answer correct. Yes, these people may have "done well" in terms of corporate levels, social levels, material levels. How would they rate themselves as a person? This reminds me of a quote from Mr. George Yeo: "When you diminish others, you diminish yourself. When you enhance others, you enhance yourself." 人比人氣死人 ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...