Are you Chinese or English?

Benarsenal

Are you Chinese or English?  

23 members have voted

1. 1. Do you prefer to read in Chinese or English, or both?

• Chinese
    • English
    • Both

On 1/2/2024 at 11:10 PM, Scion said:

last time in a discussion about senior leadership, i made a comment 朝令夕改

most people ji tao blur, dunno what i meant 😒

"last order cancel" is like almost everyday have in the SAF. 

last time 圣旨 also got back to back one cancel the other lor. 

sometimes is intelligent reports, 日出,敌不动,我令不动。 日落,敌动,令改, 我如山动! [:p][laugh][laugh]

On 1/2/2024 at 11:10 PM, Scion said:

last time in a discussion about senior leadership, i made a comment 朝令夕改

most people ji tao blur, dunno what i meant 😒

In reference to bolehland policies siboh 😁

no particular preference. I understand cantonese, can read simplified and traditional chinese and english (of course).

internal monologue is rojak, a mix of cantonese, english and chinese.

I read english novels, chinese novels and web novels, but prefer chinese web-translation of mangas. For news, I tend to prefer english news as phonetic translation of english names/terms in chinese news is painful.

I am 100% Chinese and only use Chinese.

I am not Mandarin I am Hokkian and I love using Hokkian.

Every time I drive I try to preserve my ancestors tongue and try to keep our proud traditions alive and kicking.

Sometimes I even wind down my window and share my proud dialect with the whole world.

Please keep our dialect alive.

I dont think it really matters in sgp. As long as you are proficient in either English or Chinese you are ok. I mean our culture is so diverse, after some time you will learn a little of most languages. 

On 1/2/2024 at 7:18 PM, Ahwhye said:

not bad liao lah... most gen z will do something like this.....and you not gen z right? :D

I jin jialat, but when i wanna buy house i bo bian, because the property price luan luan lai, i shall suck it up .

I millennial leh. hahaha. Uncle liao. hahahah 

On 1/2/2024 at 6:50 PM, Lala81 said:

Only 忧 can 陪我取西经。。。

師父別念了! 😂

On 1/2/2024 at 5:55 PM, inlinesix said:

The way you talk is normal

Okay, i am normal. hahahaha. 😁

We are not a British colony any more and we are not in China

lets all use Singlish!

Everyone understands and got Malay and Chinese and Indian all mixed in.

We should embrace our melting pot of multiracism and celebrate living in harmony together.

This is why I love SG!

Can eat roti prata, hokkian mee and mee gorang.

Edited by Jamesc

On 1/3/2024 at 9:39 AM, Jamesc said:

We are not a British colony any more and we are not in China

lets all use Singlish!

Everyone understands and got Malay and Chinese and Indian all mixed in.

We should embrace our melting pot of multiracism and celebrate living in harmony together.

This is why I love SG!

Can eat roti prata, hokkian mee and mee gorang.

I agree [laugh]

On 1/3/2024 at 10:43 AM, LightningBolt1 said:

English for me! I find it easier to understand, and it's the language I'm most comfortable with. But someday I also want to learn Chinese.

I want to learn melayu...or improve on my dialects...😁

On 1/2/2024 at 8:39 PM, Ahwhye said:

易经 and 道德经? I think I will 发神经 first.....:D:D:D

易经 and 道德经 are good...but got one 经 cannot anyhow read one...becos written by 邪神...read oredi one can easily fall ill one...at worst, one will becum 神经病...😅

2nd Gear

My chinese is fish market standard only.  One difference compared to english that I notice is the way words are formed from pairs of two words.  Eg 屁眼 vs anus 😆.  Most of the time, can guess the meaning if you know the meaning of the individual words but I usually check dictionary just to be sure.  On more serious note, for the typical usage frequency locally, I find this makes it harder to remember new chinese words compared to english, where every new word is distinct and not easily confused or mis-remembered for other words.

This is such a racist thread!

Why no Indian or Malay?

I myself prefer to read Japanese books

or more correctly magazines and videos!

On 1/3/2024 at 12:02 PM, JanM said:

My chinese is fish market standard only.  One difference compared to english that I notice is the way words are formed from pairs of two words.  Eg 屁眼 vs anus 😆.  Most of the time, can guess the meaning if you know the meaning of the individual words but I usually check dictionary just to be sure.  On more serious note, for the typical usage frequency locally, I find this makes it harder to remember new chinese words compared to english, where every new word is distinct and not easily confused or mis-remembered for other words.

屁眼 can also mean...😁

WIFI-Reversing-Camera-Night-Vision-Car-Rear-View-Camera-Mini-Car-Waterproof-Driving-Recorder-For-IPhone.webp

On 1/3/2024 at 11:16 AM, mersaylee said:

I want to learn melayu...or improve on my dialects...😁

Cool! Practice speaking with native speakers and immerse yourself in Melayu content like movies, music, and books. It's all about practice and exposure.