Shibadog Turbocharged March 18 Share March 18 On 3/17/2025 at 5:44 PM, Spidey10 said: so Msia BYD cars still get taxed lah.....i thot they dun hence can have a price war with Proton...waahhh...like that might be selling at a loss liao...just saying CBU EV are exempt from import tax till 31/12/2025 (and may be extended) ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic March 18 Share March 18 On 3/18/2025 at 8:31 PM, SGCM928 said: May I know which part of this ZB article said more EV than hybrid? Don't anyhow push the blame to ZB and NEA hor.🤥 @13177 many bought EV because of the higher tax break given, which makes EV seems cheaper than gasoline powered vehicles (including hybrids). Coupled with the typical sales man talk about electricity charges is much cheaper than petrol, more will falls for the sales pitch, until there realized that road tax and insurance are generally higher than gasoline / hybrid, and that the electricity tariff at charging point is more than double of what they are paying for household electricity bill. I know all these because more than 1 SE quoted <$0.3 per kWH during illustration of the fuel vs electricity cost, and when I asked about road tax and insurance, they act blur and said the difference can be recovered from fuel saving. Until now still don’t know how much is the road tax and car insurance for an EV. For example like the popular atto3. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic March 18 Share March 18 On 3/18/2025 at 10:26 PM, 13177 said: Until now still don’t know how much is the road tax and car insurance for an EV. For example like the popular atto3. Wah lao.. road tax you can easily check on sgcarmart. Insurance I am paying for about $1.7k with 50% NCD for my Cat B EV with 282hp. 2 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic March 18 Share March 18 On 3/18/2025 at 10:36 PM, Tohto said: Wah lao.. road tax you can easily check on sgcarmart. Insurance I am paying for about $1.7k with 50% NCD for my Cat B EV with 282hp. Cat A EV pays almost the same road tax as 1.5L ICE car without $700. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
MajorAce Neutral Newbie March 18 Share March 18 On 3/18/2025 at 10:36 PM, Tohto said: Wah lao.. road tax you can easily check on sgcarmart. Insurance I am paying for about $1.7k with 50% NCD for my Cat B EV with 282hp. BMW iX3? 😁 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Twincharged March 18 Share March 18 On 3/18/2025 at 10:26 PM, 13177 said: Until now still don’t know how much is the road tax and car insurance for an EV. For example like the popular atto3. @Carbon82make a List Earlier...For Road Tax. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic March 19 Share March 19 On 3/18/2025 at 10:36 PM, Tohto said: Wah lao.. road tax you can easily check on sgcarmart. Insurance I am paying for about $1.7k with 50% NCD for my Cat B EV with 282hp. Seems like insurance at least 500-700 more siah. Lol. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic March 19 Share March 19 On 3/19/2025 at 8:20 AM, 13177 said: Seems like insurance at least 500-700 more siah. Lol. Mini 2dr already $900+ with 50% NCD. $1.7k seems reasonable. 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic March 19 Share March 19 (edited) On 3/19/2025 at 8:20 AM, 13177 said: Seems like insurance at least 500-700 more siah. Lol. My EV charging bill I am saving about $400 to $500 per month compare to petrol. Monthly petrol bill typically $600 - $700+. 1/3 of petrol bill. With 282hp and 540Nm instant torque to dispose, no complaints from me. Edited March 19 by Tohto 8 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic March 19 Share March 19 On 3/18/2025 at 8:31 PM, SGCM928 said: May I know which part of this ZB article said more EV than hybrid? Don't anyhow push the blame to ZB and NEA hor.🤥 @13177 many bought EV because of the higher tax break given, which makes EV seems cheaper than gasoline powered vehicles (including hybrids). Coupled with the typical sales man talk about electricity charges is much cheaper than petrol, more will falls for the sales pitch, until there realized that road tax and insurance are generally higher than gasoline / hybrid, and that the electricity tariff at charging point is more than double of what they are paying for household electricity bill. I know all these because more than 1 SE quoted <$0.3 per kWH during illustration of the fuel vs electricity cost, and when I asked about road tax and insurance, they act blur and said the difference can be recovered from fuel saving. Public charging started from around 40+ cents till almost 65cents now. While household tariff has maintained around 27-30cents. I thought a 30% mark up to build and maintain the chargers seemed fair. But no…. the old adage of what’s wrong to make more money comes along…. 🤣 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spidey10 Supercharged March 19 Share March 19 On 3/18/2025 at 9:59 PM, Shibadog said: CBU EV are exempt from import tax till 31/12/2025 (and may be extended) wow...if not exgtended, prices will shooot uppp... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
kobayashiGT Internal Moderator March 19 Author Share March 19 On 3/18/2025 at 8:31 PM, SGCM928 said: May I know which part of this ZB article said more EV than hybrid? Don't anyhow push the blame to ZB and NEA hor.🤥 @13177 many bought EV because of the higher tax break given, which makes EV seems cheaper than gasoline powered vehicles (including hybrids). Coupled with the typical sales man talk about electricity charges is much cheaper than petrol, more will falls for the sales pitch, until there realized that road tax and insurance are generally higher than gasoline / hybrid, and that the electricity tariff at charging point is more than double of what they are paying for household electricity bill. I know all these because more than 1 SE quoted <$0.3 per kWH during illustration of the fuel vs electricity cost, and when I asked about road tax and insurance, they act blur and said the difference can be recovered from fuel saving. Also not forgetting the BEV is heavier, so tyre change might be more frequent also. Tyre manufacturer welcome BEV! more frequency more money!!!! 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator March 19 Share March 19 On 3/19/2025 at 9:41 AM, kobayashiGT said: Also not forgetting the BEV is heavier, so tyre change might be more frequent also. Tyre manufacturer welcome BEV! more frequency more money!!!! Waste time la jus change car straight away noobs😂😂 9 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Battledome64 3rd Gear March 19 Share March 19 On 3/19/2025 at 8:55 AM, Mkl22 said: Public charging started from around 40+ cents till almost 65cents now. While household tariff has maintained around 27-30cents. I thought a 30% mark up to build and maintain the chargers seemed fair. But no…. the old adage of what’s wrong to make more money comes along…. 🤣 65 cents is for fast DC charger. Your paying premium for the convenience and fast charge. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic March 19 Share March 19 On 3/19/2025 at 10:13 AM, Battledome64 said: 65 cents is for fast DC charger. Your paying premium for the convenience and fast charge. 65 cents could be DC50 DC200 about 75 cents. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic March 19 Share March 19 On 3/19/2025 at 9:41 AM, kobayashiGT said: Also not forgetting the BEV is heavier, so tyre change might be more frequent also. Tyre manufacturer welcome BEV! more frequency more money!!!! Let see how long my car tyre last. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic March 19 Share March 19 On 3/19/2025 at 10:28 AM, inlinesix said: 65 cents could be DC50 DC200 about 75 cents. Charge+ is 69cts at 120kw? I am charging at 49cts DC100 near my office area. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic March 19 Share March 19 On 3/19/2025 at 12:04 PM, Tohto said: Charge+ is 69cts at 120kw? I am charging at 49cts DC100 near my office area. 49 cents is cheap. Which provider? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...