No one wants used EVs, making new ones a tougher sell too

kobayashiGT

On 2/11/2025 at 3:09 PM, Invigorated said:

We are a little slow here.. china already does battery swapping so may be faster than one takes to refuel. Comfortdelgro would need to invest in this first but they are also looking at driverless taxis.. which obviously would be more profitable.

There's only 1 company in the world doing battery swapping for cars. And that's Nio. Although they seem to do it well, it may eventually be not adopted. Unless Battery as a service mindset pervades the entire EV market.

Battery swapping is common for electric scooters in taiwan. But then the battery just weighs like just a 10kg sack of rice each. So it's easy to hot swap by yourself. 

Nio stations are pretty amazing but still needs a whole infrastructure to support it.

On 2/11/2025 at 4:21 PM, Beehive3783 said:

Real joy is driving in rural Malaysia without a**holes to bother you. I had a wonderful time driving from KL to Bentong via the old route (not Karak Highway). It was fun, even if the roads are destroyed by heavy vehicles running around for the ECRL project.

Less a**holes, mood also better, more forgiving and more graceful towards others on the same road. :D 

yah man...thou my current ride is auto, but last time used to drive up to Kuantan and Cherating in my manual shifter and it was a dream....that time drove this ford image.png.eb2123de1a219bc5bcf6f6ebcbaa821b.png

and if last time had some lui, get a hondud CRZ and lap up genting would also be a dream...:grin:

On 2/11/2025 at 5:15 PM, Beregond said:

Sooner or later.

Mention before EV is in its infant stages.

When EV reach adult stage. We are going to see battery that won't burn and go like 2000km.

Now I saw byd offer their van. 600k warranty or 10 years for battery already. 

Even my lorry I renew 20 years also cannot hit 600k mileage. 

Lol. Just go the youtube comments of videos talking about driving beater cars in America.

People are talking about driving 1980s and 1990s toyotas as their daily drive. The original Rav4, corollas. 

But unfortunately doesn't happen here in SG.

It's a different kind of engineering.

haha see how many of that tin box Nissan van that the contractors like to drive in from JB. All of them are like at least 30-40 years old.

On 2/11/2025 at 6:25 AM, ER-3682 said:

Actually all EV can follow the Hyundai,make Fake Engine Noise in the Cabin thru Speakers...add more fun to it.

Erm no please. 

On 2/12/2025 at 10:10 AM, Lala81 said:

Lol. Just go the youtube comments of videos talking about driving beater cars in America.

People are talking about driving 1980s and 1990s toyotas as their daily drive. The original Rav4, corollas. 

But unfortunately doesn't happen here in SG.

It's a different kind of engineering.

haha see how many of that tin box Nissan van that the contractors like to drive in from JB. All of them are like at least 30-40 years old.

Again, it's the taxation system here that is killing old cars. It just doesn't make sense paying 5 to 6 digit figure to use an old car for another 10 years. Not to mention the road tax for COE cars which is the next killer for big CC coe cars.

On 2/11/2025 at 2:05 PM, Unfazed said:

EV adoption from one is just more of one’s needs and preferences. No right no wrong. 
But can see many on the road got plenty of money to burn. Look at the numbers of entry level EV can know.

I always say we like to chap ji kar in everything, scared everything we are being left out. Nothing to say also must say or come out with something. 

As if our red dot can make wonders to the air even if all cars were to vanish overnight. As if our red dot makes up some substantial percentage of global warming. 

Our neighbouring state(s), just one state burn trees, our green initiatives will become a joke. 

Encourage people to adopt green initiatives but on other hand, people haven’t buy, already use calculator to press how much will be lost to coffers and increase whatever taxes for whatever meagre EV power output. 

First time I hear EV car makers tuned down from original settings for worldly CAT A. No diff from those days ICE car makers detuned for CAT A. We moving forward or backwards. 

Set an example. Make all service providers EV. Why are we seeing brand new hybrid taxis after the MGs and e6. 

And not forgetting the OBUs. Say until so good. Mainly only fleets and new cars with no say are installed. 

🙂

From what I see. Ev is an upgrade if you come from a b&b car like altis or the god dam attrage. With all the rebates, ev wins at price point, paper performance and features. But moving up the performance and luxury tier, the gap closes as there are so many choices above 300k. 

On 2/11/2025 at 4:24 PM, Volvobrick said:

Yeah. I do that when overseas. In a rental car. Usually I will spend a bit more to rent a better/bigger one.

Overseas road trip to make my life easy I will always rent SUV 5m long or more, not by choice but because family of 4 for comfort and the SUV luggage space to put 3 31 inches luggage easily. 😂😂

so rental decision is base on needs not wants 😂😂

Edited by D3badge

On 2/12/2025 at 10:23 AM, Beehive3783 said:

Again, it's the taxation system here that is killing old cars. It just doesn't make sense paying 5 to 6 digit figure to use an old car for another 10 years. Not to mention the road tax for COE cars which is the next killer for big CC coe cars.

It's the gahmen's intent to"recycle" these so call "assets" taking away ownership from the poor/old and giving to the young/rich and making money in the process. GCBs also the same as they now make living in one prohibitively expensive with massive increase in property taxes. Those that bought them cheap will eventually not able to afford to live in them and will have to sell/downgrade and make way for the newly minted/immigrant multi-millionaires.

Gahmen huat!

On 2/12/2025 at 8:58 AM, SGCM928 said:

Such nonsense are expected without fail. But why China never raise concerns with Tesla collecting data leh? Huawei, backdoor access, I laughed :grin:

Some countries are just very small gas, cannot see others be better than themselves.

Concerns raised over potential data leak to China via BYD cars in Korea (https://www.koreatimes.co.kr/www/tech/2025/02/129_391960.html)

With the recent entry by China's BYD into Korea's passenger electric vehicle (EV) market, concerns have been raised over potential personal data leaks to China through the vehicles manufactured by the company, industry observers said Tuesday.

The security risks of private data leaks to China emerged following BYD's official entry into the Korean passenger vehicle market last month.

BYD's first model launched here, the Atto 3, is equipped with connected car features, such as over-the-air (OTA) software update capability and navigation features, through which sensitive driver data could be transferred to China, according to the market watchers.

"BYD must disclose exactly what types of data are collected and how they are processed," said Yom Heung-yeol, professor emeritus of cybersecurity at Soonchunhyang University.

He stressed that an "opt-out mechanism," allowing consumers to reject the collection of personal data if they choose, was necessary.

BYD Korea has addressed data protection concerns, stating, "We fully understand Korean customers' concerns regarding personal data security and strictly comply with the Personal Information Protection Act."

It said that data collected in Korea is managed locally and not shared with BYD headquarters in China.

The company has also stated that it has no plans to integrate DeepSeek, China's generative artificial intelligence (AI) service, into its vehicles.

Chinese EV manufacturer Geely recently announced a plan to incorporate DeepSeek's AI model into its vehicles.

The recent launch of DeepSeek has raised concerns over potential data leaks globally, having prompted Korean government agencies and private companies to ban the use of its service at work.

Despite BYD's assurances, concerns persist regarding the storage of Korean user data on Tencent Cloud servers, which belong to a Chinese IT company.

Although managed within Korea, the storage of Korean user data on a China-affiliated server has sparked unease among experts.

Lim Jong-in, professor emeritus at Korea University's graduate school of information security, said the government must conduct rigorous inspections of BYD vehicles not only in terms of performance but also from a cybersecurity standpoint.

"Like Huawei in the past, there is a possibility of backdoor access vulnerabilities that allow third parties to bypass security protections and access data," Lim said. (Yonhap)

It is just protectionism, which we have been lectured upon by the west repeatedy over past decades.  

When they can't compete, it is not the dirty P word anymore but simi overcapacity and national security.  The power of controlling global narrative.

On 2/12/2025 at 11:05 AM, Stratovarius said:

From what I see. Ev is an upgrade if you come from a b&b car like altis or the god dam attrage. With all the rebates, ev wins at price point, paper performance and features. But moving up the performance and luxury tier, the gap closes as there are so many choices above 300k. 

Lots of premium Chinese offering on the way, with sub 6-second performance and all the bells and whistles (standard and not paid options) but they lack the branding, so they will sell at a discount to European premium models.  More choices coming for above 300k segment. 

On 2/11/2025 at 8:03 PM, Mkl22 said:

Taxi la. Simi open cat! Taxi has its own CAT. 

Aiya, sorry sorry ah...typo typo. Kam sia. 😁🙏

On 2/12/2025 at 12:57 PM, D3badge said:

Overseas road trip to make my life easy I will always rent SUV 5m long or more, not by choice but because family of 4 for comfort and the SUV luggage space to put 3 31 inches luggage easily. 😂😂

so rental decision is base on needs not wants 😂😂

Can rent a Cayenne.  Lol

Who use 31 inch luggages? 3 somemore. You must have very strong back. 

Yes correct.

and why is BYD selling well?   simple. it is cheaper and more bang for buck comparatively.  

Take note all, i didnt say it's lousy. in fact i was one of the early one who went to take a look .  the built quality is truly quite bang for buck 

On 2/12/2025 at 11:05 AM, Stratovarius said:

Edited by Throttle2

On 2/12/2025 at 3:42 PM, Voodooman said:

Can rent a Cayenne.  Lol

Who use 31 inch luggages? 3 somemore. You must have very strong back. 

My trip to Sydney last Dec, I book a VW Tiguan. SIXT give me this car (van)..  

We only 4 person. Can put many extra large luggage 😅

20241228_151521.jpg

20241228_151407.jpg

20241228_184013.jpg

• Praise 10

On 2/12/2025 at 5:23 PM, Tohto said:

20241228_151521.jpg

20241228_151407.jpg

20241228_184013.jpg

Good wat...can pick up some fresh kangaroo for bbq...but have to win the boxing bout first...😁

On 2/12/2025 at 5:30 PM, mersaylee said:

Good wat...can pick up some fresh kangaroo for bbq...but have to win the boxing bout first...😁

Driving at some of the road at Blue Mountain is quite tight... lucky got 360deg camera.

On 2/11/2025 at 6:25 AM, ER-3682 said:

Actually all EV can follow the Hyundai,make Fake Engine Noise in the Cabin thru Speakers...add more fun to it.

Mine have also, Lexus calls its the Active Sound Control.
I've tried it once, never again hahahaha too fake liao.

On 2/12/2025 at 5:23 PM, Tohto said:

20241228_151521.jpg

20241228_151407.jpg

20241228_184013.jpg

Looks a bit like the new Staria I drove down under 1-2 years ago, when we visited with 2 other couples.  Super spacious.

Drove it mostly using adaptive cruise control with steering assist on highway, a godsend.  Lol... 

Edited by Voodooman