No one wants used EVs, making new ones a tougher sell too

kobayashiGT

On 2/11/2025 at 2:05 PM, Unfazed said:

EV adoption from one is just more of one’s needs and preferences. No right no wrong. 
But can see many on the road got plenty of money to burn. Look at the numbers of entry level EV can know.

I always say we like to chap ji kar in everything, scared everything we are being left out. Nothing to say also must say or come out with something. 

As if our red dot can make wonders to the air even if all cars were to vanish overnight. As if our red dot makes up some substantial percentage of global warming. 

Our neighbouring state(s), just one state burn trees, our green initiatives will become a joke. 

Encourage people to adopt green initiatives but on other hand, people haven’t buy, already use calculator to press how much will be lost to coffers and increase whatever taxes for whatever meagre EV power output. 

First time I hear EV car makers tuned down from original settings for worldly CAT A. No diff from those days ICE car makers detuned for CAT A. We moving forward or backwards. 

Set an example. Make all service providers EV. Why are we seeing brand new hybrid taxis after the MGs and e6. 

And not forgetting the OBUs. Say until so good. Mainly only fleets and new cars with no say are installed. 

🙂

Where got so much chargers to charge a whole population of EV taxis? :D 

Taxis need to be running almost 24/7 to maximize returns leh. Where got time to wait few hours for the EV to charge? That's $25 per hour of earnings leh :D 

Edited by Beehive3783

On 2/11/2025 at 11:29 AM, bsswan said:

To be replaced by one rather large nuclear power plant, maybe on Jurong Island replacing Shell? We need electricity from somewhere.

To get to net zero, nuclear is a possible option.  

On 2/11/2025 at 2:13 PM, Beehive3783 said:

Taxis need to be running almost 24/7 to maximize returns leh. Where got time to wait few hours for the EV to charge? That's $25 per hour of earnings leh :D 

9 mins charge is coming.

On 2/11/2025 at 2:36 PM, Voodooman said:

9 mins charge is coming.

Not sure how keen taxi companies are, with this technology. I remember the MG green electric taxis launched to much fanfare few years ago. Nowadays like hardly see them around?

On 2/11/2025 at 2:05 PM, Unfazed said:

EV adoption from one is just more of one’s needs and preferences. No right no wrong. 
But can see many on the road got plenty of money to burn. Look at the numbers of entry level EV can know.

I always say we like to chap ji kar in everything, scared everything we are being left out. Nothing to say also must say or come out with something. 

As if our red dot can make wonders to the air even if all cars were to vanish overnight. As if our red dot makes up some substantial percentage of global warming. 

Our neighbouring state(s), just one state burn trees, our green initiatives will become a joke. 

Encourage people to adopt green initiatives but on other hand, people haven’t buy, already use calculator to press how much will be lost to coffers and increase whatever taxes for whatever meagre EV power output. 

First time I hear EV car makers tuned down from original settings for worldly CAT A. No diff from those days ICE car makers detuned for CAT A. We moving forward or backwards. 

Set an example. Make all service providers EV. Why are we seeing brand new hybrid taxis after the MGs and e6. 

And not forgetting the OBUs. Say until so good. Mainly only fleets and new cars with no say are installed. 

🙂

it’s all about the money 😄😎

On 2/11/2025 at 2:44 PM, Beehive3783 said:

Not sure how keen taxi companies are, with this technology. I remember the MG green electric taxis launched to much fanfare few years ago. Nowadays like hardly see them around?

In China, most of the taxi are EV.  I was told they fast charge, especially the older ones with lesser range. 

With super high mileage, lots of saving if it works.  

What happened to those MG green electric taxis?

On 2/11/2025 at 2:54 PM, Voodooman said:

In China, most of the taxi are EV.  I was told they fast charge, especially the older ones with lesser range. 

Actually that should have been the first step if we are serious about going green EV.  Ie. All ICE taxis should be phased out and replaced by EVs

On 2/11/2025 at 1:18 PM, 13177 said:

There are many commercial vehicles running on EV now and yet i also still never sit in an EV before. Lol.

Next time if @Carbon82 and I meet up la kopi.. ..  join us lah.

I can give you a ride and buy you kopi... ..  ok.. I drink traditional kopi. No atas cafe.

Edited by Tohto

We are a little slow here.. china already does battery swapping so may be faster than one takes to refuel. Comfortdelgro would need to invest in this first but they are also looking at driverless taxis.. which obviously would be more profitable.

Hence talk is cheap. What green initiatives blah blah blah. All the more such fleets with such long hours should be EVs. Set example by taking the lead. We follow. Convince us by actions not lip service words. Our leaders with their high salaries should lead with the switch as a strong convince with their green initiatives bull crap. 

On 2/11/2025 at 2:51 PM, Throttle2 said:

it’s all about the money 😄😎

Money and hypocrisy indeed. One sneeze from our neighbours and we are back to square one. We surely look good aren’t we? 😉

On 2/11/2025 at 2:56 PM, 13177 said:

Right hand no talk to left hand, you know. That’s how shallow and selfish our hands are. 
Every little thing or decision so fragmented, run by people who are only after their own gains, how to make things worked, you say?

One implement green taxi but another will kpkb their dept will have to spend money and lose points mah. Whoever help to generate huge savings yet hit kpi will have good report cards mah. 

This is what happens when objectives, expectations, reality all not aligned. Then the taxis itself when hit the ground couldn’t live up to expectations. Everything one sided lor, top down lor. All look good on papers before implementation. Only those taxi lao those plp ones still hold onto those and obediently squat and charge lor. 😁

Edited by Unfazed

i saw a shitload at the RWS carpark at the equarius Hotel side, sometime last year

So this is how we control our car population yeah. Bid-buy-dump. Hotel carpark, roof tops, all registered. Where’s next yeah? Coe life span so precious but registered and parked for days gone by yeah. Come I clap. Hence I always say, vote wisely yeah. 👏🏼 

4th Gear
On 2/11/2025 at 2:56 PM, 13177 said:

I took a ride on one on the way to the airport once, and chatted with the taxi uncle. He told me the range of the green MGs is not great.

I think he said real world range 200+km only, so it cannot last the distance covered by a typical taxi driver in a day, and will have to take time out to charge mid-day. So he claims that it isn't so popular because of that. But he also said the daily rental was supposedly lowered, to accommodate some of such drawbacks from these early EV taxis models.

Too bad, i like the ride though, still smooth and quiet, even though I saw it had 200k+ mileage on the odometer. No creaks and rattles. And IMO, the station wagon body style has much better luggage space for airport runs than the typical Prius and Ioniq hybrid taxis, that can barely fit a couple of mid-sized luggages.

On 2/11/2025 at 3:59 PM, Jtis said:

I took a ride on one on the way to the airport once, and chatted with the taxi uncle. He told me the range of the green MGs is not great.

I think he said real world range 200+km only, so it cannot last the distance covered by a typical taxi driver in a day, and will have to take time out to charge mid-day. So he claims that it isn't so popular because of that. But he also said the daily rental was supposedly lowered, to accommodate some of such drawbacks from these early EV taxis models.

Too bad, i like the ride though, still smooth and quiet, even though I saw it had 200k+ mileage on the odometer. No creaks and rattles. And IMO, the station wagon body style has much better luggage space for airport runs than the typical Prius and Ioniq hybrid taxis, that can barely fit a couple of mid-sized luggages.

Most of those EV model use by taxi company has too small battery size.. typically less than 60kwh.

Like Hyundai Kona EV also too small battery size. Standard range battery only 48.5kwh.

On 2/11/2025 at 2:54 PM, Voodooman said:

Yes, but in China market, the cars there are damn cheap. Literally buy, use and throw. The climate is very different in SG because of the taxation system. The chosen fleet has to be reliable with no surprise in the chocolate box to maximise the taxes paid to get the car on the road :D