Voodooman Supersonic February 5 Share February 5 On 2/3/2025 at 8:37 AM, Jellandross said: I also saw this video but dare not post. Nowadays other than religion and politics, EV is becoming another taboo topic. Easily cause an explosion if not careful (no pun instead) 😜 Expand Generally it is true. EV is still relatively new for locals and most current buyers are early adopters (or got money to burn) and will buy new to minimize risk. This is similar to any new untested product. Used secondary market for EV is still very much in its infancy, but the risk premium should narrow in next few years. ↡ Advertisement 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
D3badge 6th Gear February 6 Share February 6 (edited) On 2/3/2025 at 1:41 PM, steveting99 said: The numbers of vehicle sales in 2024 are out and BYD has hit the home run by beating Toyota to become No.1 in terms of sales in Singapore. Straits Times article is here: https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/transport/byd-tops-2024-new-car-sales-in-spore-first-for-a-chinese-ev-brand. Surprised BYD got the No.1 position so quickly (less than 10 years selling in Singapore). Congratulations to team BYD and all the best for 2025. Expand Chinese business model is always price war, squeeze margin to kill competition see who survive 😂 BYD sales margin so thin, so in order to be more profitable cut supplier 10% for 2025 onwards. being a Chinese supplier to cling BYD as their supplier, your margin is already very thin to begin with, so if cut another 10% what will you do to keep your business alive? cut corner Lor, 差不多就好的文化! BYD ask suppliers to cut prices Edited February 6 by D3badge Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Twincharged February 6 Share February 6 On 2/6/2025 at 2:44 PM, D3badge said: Chinese business model is always price war, squeeze margin to kill competition see who survive 😂 BYD sales margin so thin, so in order to be more profitable cut supplier 10% for 2025 onwards. being a Chinese supplier to cling BYD as their supplier, your margin is already very thin to begin with, so if cut another 10% what will you do to keep your business alive? cut corner Lor, 差不多就好的文化! BYD ask suppliers to cut prices Expand Use Thinner Wires,Lousy Batteries & Lousy Electronics,more easy to catch Fire. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Twincharged February 7 Share February 7 From my past experience with Chinese Products,alot of them 1st few Batches..very Good QC....after that,when they got popular,then the Products...sure go downhill. 4 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Koster 4th Gear February 8 Share February 8 On 2/6/2025 at 2:44 PM, D3badge said: Chinese business model is always price war, squeeze margin to kill competition see who survive 😂 BYD sales margin so thin, so in order to be more profitable cut supplier 10% for 2025 onwards. being a Chinese supplier to cling BYD as their supplier, your margin is already very thin to begin with, so if cut another 10% what will you do to keep your business alive? cut corner Lor, 差不多就好的文化! BYD ask suppliers to cut prices But BYD profit margin higher than Tesla leh (in SG at least). Expand Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
D3badge 6th Gear February 8 Share February 8 @Koster BYD profitability is not my concern, but more on BYD need to increase their profitability in 2025 at the expense of it suppliers this is the worrying point in my opinion. To keep business alive, the odds of cut corners is high in 差不多的文化。 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jumpmanz 5th Gear February 9 Share February 9 @Hamburger On 2/4/2025 at 2:25 AM, Hamburger said: Like you, me also old liao and prioritze quietness but would prefers to maintain a zippy car to drive. Had the opportunity to drive the 540 i5. Thats is exactly how i would want my ride to be. Super duper quiet yet quick to chiet any road hoggers with minimum effort. Expand I would love the i5 touring. silent killer too 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spidey10 Supercharged February 10 Share February 10 On 2/8/2025 at 12:22 PM, D3badge said: @Koster BYD profitability is not my concern, but more on BYD need to increase their profitability in 2025 at the expense of it suppliers this is the worrying point in my opinion. To keep business alive, the odds of cut corners is high in 差不多的文化。 Expand and we all know how good they are when it comes cutting corners.... heard in china they have come out with a new policy on EV charging at the condo parking lots....seems some rules that only can charge on the 1st floor or something and must be certain meters away from the exit and cannot mix with non EVs ....meaning all EVs together... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic February 10 Share February 10 On 2/10/2025 at 1:50 AM, Spidey10 said: and we all know how good they are when it comes cutting corners.... heard in china they have come out with a new policy on EV charging at the condo parking lots....seems some rules that only can charge on the 1st floor or something and must be certain meters away from the exit and cannot mix with non EVs ....meaning all EVs together... Expand A lot of countries use the same rule. Fire engine can enter via exit. In addition, fire sprinker can be installed on top of these lots. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
kobayashiGT Internal Moderator February 10 Author Share February 10 On 2/10/2025 at 1:50 AM, Spidey10 said: and we all know how good they are when it comes cutting corners.... heard in china they have come out with a new policy on EV charging at the condo parking lots....seems some rules that only can charge on the 1st floor or something and must be certain meters away from the exit and cannot mix with non EVs ....meaning all EVs together... Expand I notice most of the EV charger in HDB parking is near the entrance leh. Hahahha. means we die with them ah? hahahahha 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spidey10 Supercharged February 10 Share February 10 On 2/10/2025 at 2:37 AM, kobayashiGT said: I notice most of the EV charger in HDB parking is near the entrance leh. Hahahha. means we die with them ah? hahahahha Expand entrance means jia lat....exit blocked and all become roasted pig.. my MSCP is on the 3rd fl leh...cannot escape if those park above 3rd fl.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spidey10 Supercharged February 10 Share February 10 On 2/10/2025 at 2:23 AM, inlinesix said: A lot of countries use the same rule. Fire engine can enter via exit. In addition, fire sprinker can be installed on top of these lots. Expand sprinkler no use leh....will still burn! understand if SG apply their policy....a lot of "restructuring" need to happen leh... anyway, let them sort it out...ain't no engineer or scientist to provide a solution...but for now, not thinking of chnaging to EV... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic February 10 Share February 10 On 2/10/2025 at 4:59 AM, Spidey10 said: sprinkler no use leh....will still burn! understand if SG apply their policy....a lot of "restructuring" need to happen leh... anyway, let them sort it out...ain't no engineer or scientist to provide a solution...but for now, not thinking of chnaging to EV... Expand Fireman also continues to spray water. Same same but different what Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Turbocharged February 10 Share February 10 On 1/9/2025 at 12:42 AM, Tohto said: Realĺy sad that our stupid scholars policy are killing all the newer PHEV model. Expand The stupid scholars only know to copy the policies of EU mah... but now when EU is showing signs to backtrack on EV policy, the stupid scholars are still sitting high and pretty in their tower 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Turbocharged February 10 Share February 10 On 1/11/2025 at 10:06 PM, ER-3682 said: Sometime,Recalls are not as simple as We thought,send in your Car,they sure call us,the O-Ring wore out,Fuel Filter needed to change & Fuel Hoses cracked,end up,also needed to pay for those Items,NOT covered by the Recall. Expand The parts you mentioned are all wear and tear items. If never changed before in 7 years, might as well change all together for peace of mind. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Turbocharged February 10 Share February 10 On 1/12/2025 at 4:27 AM, Ginyu said: Sometimes wonder if they are even interested to do business , never bother to stay competitive, old tech and still want to price higher. Still relying on their brand to sell in todays era of innovation 🤣 Expand Errr why you never scold CCB LTA? OMV and COE plays a huge part also mah... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Turbocharged February 10 Share February 10 On 1/12/2025 at 12:58 PM, Fitmugen said: There will be people who say they are ok with BM fat margin but Honda must earn peanuts Expand Honda is infamous for being the most overpriced Jap brand in SG 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Twincharged February 10 Share February 10 On 2/10/2025 at 7:01 AM, Beehive3783 said: The parts you mentioned are all wear and tear items. If never changed before in 7 years, might as well change all together for peace of mind. Expand But change in AD is 2 times outside Workshop's Price. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...