No one wants used EVs, making new ones a tougher sell too

kobayashiGT

On 12/26/2023 at 4:06 PM, Voodooman said:

Anyone selling their i4 cheap cheap? I buy.

Wait for @RadX,when his current set of Tyres finish,he will sell it off at Paper Value.

• Haha! 8

On 12/26/2023 at 7:57 PM, inlinesix said:

He will tell you tan ku ku

I more subtle…

look for mr Tan😂😂

On 12/26/2023 at 4:42 PM, Mkl22 said:

thats assuming they honour and change even anything. sometimes they drag and tell you no stock or supplier making new one and have to be patient and drag it out until you cannot tahan. which you then sell and pass the buck to someone else.

Next time there will be those "OEM panda brand" batteries like those ah beng HP shops that help you change batteries for old smartphones.

On 12/26/2023 at 9:17 PM, Stratovarius said:

Next time there will be those "OEM panda brand" batteries like those ah beng HP shops that help you change batteries for old smartphones.

Then bloated and catch fire. They will tell you. “ it’s like that one!”😭

On 12/26/2023 at 11:26 AM, RadX said:

Reported that in Canada one bloke paid $60k for battery replacement due to a minor accident

like …dafug 

That's a very common figure I see coming up. One guy was quoted GBP60k for a Tycan replacement battery.

Tesla is typically over 35k.

You imagine one minor scratch on the battery casing after just a few years, the car's a write-off already. Hardly environmentally friendly!

On 12/26/2023 at 11:41 PM, bsswan said:

That's a very common figure I see coming up. One guy was quoted GBP60k for a Tycan replacement battery.

You imagine one minor scratch on the battery casing after just a few years, the car's a write-off already. Hardly environmentally friendly!

indeed! imagine buy the 2nd hand EV at the 3rd year, drive 2 yrs, and batt start to act up on the 5th/6th yr....replace everything or just a few? then drive another 2 yrs, reach 8th yr and the whole batt need replacement that will cost more than the car value by then...:grin:

So dun replace, then scrap whole car....so EV have shorter life span?  whichever decision makes economically sense ....:yeah-im-not-drunk:

On 12/27/2023 at 7:37 AM, Spidey10 said:

indeed! imagine buy the 2nd hand EV at the 3rd year, drive 2 yrs, and batt start to act up on the 5th/6th yr....replace everything or just a few? then drive another 2 yrs, reach 8th yr and the whole batt need replacement that will cost more than the car value by then...:grin:

So dun replace, then scrap whole car....so EV have shorter life span?  whichever decision makes economically sense ....:yeah-im-not-drunk:

Juz buy a low mileage car lo.

For ICE car, would you buy a 60k km on the 3rd year?
> 10% degradation happens usually after 160k km.

You should worry what happens after an accident or undercarriage hit something hard.

Edited by inlinesix

On 12/26/2023 at 11:41 PM, bsswan said:

The price is ridiculous, the selling price of a typical EV is probably between 30k to 50k ? There is no logic at all for a bettery to be more expensive than a new car price. Someone is profiteering in between ? Of course the other problem is the exceptionally lead time, which is incomprehensible too.

On 12/27/2023 at 8:52 AM, Ct3833 said:

The price is ridiculous, the selling price of a typical EV is probably between 30k to 50k ? There is no logic at all for a bettery to be more expensive than a new car price. Someone is profiteering in between ? Of course the other problem is the exceptionally lead time, which is incomprehensible too.

Taycan starts from GBP79k without any option in UK.

There is 2 battery size, 79kwh or 93kwh for Taycan.

On 12/26/2023 at 5:21 PM, Benarsenal said:

That's why. If battery swap is to become a thing, then standardisation is key.

How long did the mobile phone industry took to finally standardized a simple charger?  And we are not even there yet with standardizing phone batteries. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

On 12/27/2023 at 8:51 AM, inlinesix said:

Juz buy a low mileage car lo.

For ICE car, would you buy a 60k km on the 3rd year?
> 10% degradation happens usually after 160k km.

high mileage for ICE means is good, always on the go..like mine is already 160k km...but still going strong...just changed some "ahem" some parts....:nosebleed: