No one wants used EVs, making new ones a tougher sell too

kobayashiGT

https://www.sciencefriday.com/segments/electric-vehicle-tires-wear-out/#:~:text=Some EV drivers are finding,more load on the tires.

[ Some EV drivers are finding that their tires wear out more rapidly than they had with traditional internal combustion-driven vehicles—in some cases, 20 percent faster.

The problem has multiple causes. Many EVs are heavier than regular cars of a similar size, which puts more load on the tires. When combined with the almost instant torque provided by electric motors, that can lead to leaving rubber on the road—even when a driver isn’t attempting to burn rubber. ]

On 2/1/2024 at 11:45 AM, Columbian78 said:

For EVs, can legally switch on aircon and enjoy inside car right? Since there is no combustion and emission.

Remotely cool the car before you drive off

On 2/1/2024 at 11:39 AM, Kklim said:

https://www.sciencefriday.com/segments/electric-vehicle-tires-wear-out/#:~:text=Some EV drivers are finding,more load on the tires.

[ Some EV drivers are finding that their tires wear out more rapidly than they had with traditional internal combustion-driven vehicles—in some cases, 20 percent faster.

The problem has multiple causes. Many EVs are heavier than regular cars of a similar size, which puts more load on the tires. When combined with the almost instant torque provided by electric motors, that can lead to leaving rubber on the road—even when a driver isn’t attempting to burn rubber. ]

This one small issue in SG since our overall car price is so much more than a set of new tires. Hearsay wear out 20-30% faster.

However not so environmental frenly.

Maybe can expect more smaller motor EVs for city driving soon which will translates to longer range?

Most drivers in SG js need century sprint under 12s anyway.

Only MCFers require vroom vroom under 6s hahahaha

On 2/1/2024 at 11:47 AM, inlinesix said:

Remotely cool the car before you drive off

牛头不对马嘴. 

He asked 一路向西是西游记吗,you reply 一路向西到东莞. Same same is 一路向西, but one is holy, one is happy. 

I am not against EV, but the way you defend it is really is KNN. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

On 2/1/2024 at 12:13 PM, Tianmo said:

牛头不对马嘴. 

He asked 一路向西是西游记吗,you reply 一路向西到东莞. Same same is 一路向西, but one is holy, one is happy. 

I am not against EV, but the way you defend it is really is KNN. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

I want more ppl to move to EV. 

So that I can enjoy more years of ICE car without govt intervention.

😂

On 2/1/2024 at 12:22 PM, inlinesix said:

😂

But how I see also counter productive lor.

I been following, and so far the way you market it is really a turnoff. 

If I had not known you in person, I think already ugly liao.  [:p][laugh][laugh]

On 2/1/2024 at 11:26 AM, inlinesix said:

Recently, i sold iphone 12.  Buyer asked me to check battery health %.

Similar can be done for EV.

In addition, also need to check for water ingress within battery pack.

During life of EV, battery degradation is the less of your problem.

The bigger problem is insurance claims.  Battery is usually part of the Chassis.

Any major accident will lead to total loss

Yeah true, any accident involving EV is a big issue.

Remember CNG ? they had to put bumper sticker, in case firemen doesn't know and got blown up. [:p]

Now any EV fire with lithium cells would be spectacular. I think firemen better stay far away.

On 2/1/2024 at 12:22 PM, inlinesix said:

😂

Haha... Higher petrol tax will be forthcoming if EV adoption is slower than expected.

On 2/1/2024 at 11:34 AM, Vratenza said:

BlueSg/GetGo renters also don't want to wreck their rented vehicles....but in life, nothing is 100% in your control...😇

LOL those people never drive like they're in control anyway :D

Anyway for this Tesla case, it's his fault. So suck balls, blame himself for being a lousy driver :D 

On 2/1/2024 at 11:26 AM, Beehive3783 said:

Still wanna buy an EV? Make sure the chassis doesn't need to be replaced in the event of an accident.

https://www.sgcarmart.com/articles/features/this-is-why-you-dont-want-to-wreck-your-high-tech-evs-34521?GASRC=sgcm

This is why you don't want to wreck your high-tech EVs! - Sgcarmart

So.

High end ice if wreck can replace chassis?

🤔🤔🤔

On 2/1/2024 at 12:45 PM, Atachi said:

Just heard over the leydio. My mechanic told me no use, if the manufacturers don’t open up the softwares to them also no point.

the car mechanics in the workshop knows how to do computer programming?

seems unlikely? 

Or, did he mean something else?

On 2/1/2024 at 2:15 PM, hansmith said:

seems unlikely? 

It means, if the external workshops don't have access to the manufacturer's proprietary software, they will be locked out of a lot of stuff, especially when majority of an EV's functions are controlled by software. 

It's not as simple as knowing how to do computer programming or not.

On 2/1/2024 at 2:15 PM, hansmith said:

seems unlikely? 

Not programming programming. But the software to access the car's PCM & BMS.

Akin to Apple products if you go Ah Beng shop repair, they change face ID or screen. The phone may have issues (only unlockable by passcode) and the device knows that the module have been swapped.

Availability and access to EV car parts, batteries cannot anyhow store in workshop etc. Rules, permits and regulations.

Anyway he is retiring soon, he's happy repairing ICE vehs.

Edited by Atachi