No one wants used EVs, making new ones a tougher sell too

kobayashiGT

On 2/13/2025 at 3:56 PM, Tohto said:

009 4.5s should be dual motor, when paying road tax also very shiok.. 😅

beat Engrish crap Rolls Royce KNN can liao.

• Haha! 8

On 2/13/2025 at 3:52 PM, Mkl22 said:

you rich mah.  agent say must replace LED headlight also gladly pay... i will KPKB...😁.

different strokes for different folks. to me it is no different to selling me chicken rice and say chili is $1...

Touch wood. Never change before.

Previous car is first with LED and everything OK, traded in last Oct at 8.5 years. The earlier one was HID.

Current one Active Matrix LED, better keep working  😁

Edited by Tohto

On 2/13/2025 at 4:03 PM, serenade said:

5-spd auto with very slow to respond button operated down shifts. I press, wait 1 second, floor pedal to spool up the boost, then the power surge comes.  

OK. 

My ex Forester XT the CVT was tuned to quite responsive at Sport & sport sharp mode. 

On 2/13/2025 at 4:10 PM, Tohto said:

Touch wood. Never change before.

Previous car is first with LED and everything OK, traded in last Oct at 8.5 years. The earlier one was HID.

Even Perodua MYVI uses LED headlight.

If our expensive cars don't have LED headlight, damn sia suay le.

On 2/13/2025 at 3:53 PM, mersaylee said:

I kena once...angel eye bulb oredi cost about a couple of hundreds...lagi worse if it's led...i purposely looked for halogen ever since...only 70c per bulb...😁

But recently I had to buy 20 dollars special pliers set to get to the 50c bulb....

On 2/13/2025 at 1:19 PM, 13177 said:

Looks like Toyota is determine to get back their top 1 best selling car in SG? So cannot lose to BYD, that's why recently Toyota reduce their car price so much?!

This mean last time. They are carroting us driver with their crazy high profits? 🤬

On 2/13/2025 at 4:37 PM, Volvobrick said:

But recently I had to buy 20 dollars special pliers set to get to the 50c bulb....

Liddat Radx will say change tyre easier...😁

On 2/13/2025 at 5:04 PM, mersaylee said:

Liddat Radx will say change tyre easier...😁

1DEF01B0-004A-4877-B5B9-A6C74E104AFD.gif

@kermitfm Would like to see a follow up to include the 371.3k HEV and PHEV cars that was excluded in the current study. This a good sizable population of vehicles and about 9x the population of BEVs (41.6k) that was included in the current study. The supplementary note indicates that PHEV have more issues compared to ICEs while HEV gave -26% less problems compared to ICEs. Combining both PHEV and HEV into a single group indicates an enhanced longevity and mileage compared to ICE.

With more HEVs on the road going forward in Singapore, the longevity and mileage of these type of vehicles would be interesting. 

On 2/13/2025 at 5:02 PM, Beregond said:

This mean last time. They are carroting us driver with their crazy high profits? 🤬

Honda is still refuse to lelong their car..

On 2/13/2025 at 2:31 PM, Davidklt said:

Actually, I have seen a few BYDs with drivers letting go after a few months of usage. What could be the cause?

https://www.sgcarmart.com/used_cars/info.php?ID=1370382&DL=4343

See!!! Even in your example, a 9 years old Atto is still being advertised for $140k.

This is higher depreciation than a brand new 10 years COE Atto, which is going for $150k now: https://bydcars.sg/wp-content/uploads/2025/02/BYD-Pricelist-6-Feb-–-16-Feb-2025-.pdf

So, what is the cause for high prices of second hand EV? Are second hand EV so popular? 

Haha I’m looking for good second hand EV deals since many ppl says prices drop a lot. But I can’t find any 😞

On 2/13/2025 at 7:49 PM, Tohto said:

Honda is still refuse to lelong their car..

Honda no plan to be top 1 best selling cars, so they no need to lelong their cars. Also honda all the while is premium jap cars, so car price must maintain premium also. 😂

Edited by 13177

On 2/13/2025 at 9:24 PM, 13177 said:

Honda no plan to be top 1 best selling cars, so they no need to lelong their cars. Also honda all the while is premium jap cars, so car price must maintain premium also. 😂

Premium.. ummmm

Noisy road noise,  bumpy ride..

Only the VTEC days chased after by now all the uncle here. 

Now also ugly design, unclear direction where they are heading. 

On 2/13/2025 at 9:24 PM, 13177 said:

Currently PI outsell Kah Motor.

Wait till Kah Motor outsell PI

On 2/13/2025 at 9:46 PM, Tohto said:

Premium.. ummmm

Noisy road noise,  bumpy ride..

Only the VTEC days chased after by now all the uncle here. 

Now also ugly design, unclear direction where they are heading. 

Honda AD doesn’t have any suitable product for our market.

However, Honda still doing well in USA and South East Asia.

On 2/13/2025 at 10:12 PM, inlinesix said:

Honda AD doesn’t have any suitable product for our market.

However, Honda still doing well in USA and South East Asia.

South East asia model are all the lower tier design for this region. Saw some unknown model in Vietnam.

On 2/13/2025 at 8:28 PM, pengu said:

See!!! Even in your example, a 9 years old Atto is still being advertised for $140k.

This is higher depreciation than a brand new 10 years COE Atto, which is going for $150k now: https://bydcars.sg/wp-content/uploads/2025/02/BYD-Pricelist-6-Feb-–-16-Feb-2025-.pdf

So, what is the cause for high prices of second hand EV? Are second hand EV so popular? 

Haha I’m looking for good second hand EV deals since many ppl says prices drop a lot. But I can’t find any 😞

i thot 2nd hand Tesla a lot and going for 120-140k? Last I check, think was 1-2 mths ago it was going for this prices....200k plus drop to 120-140k....tekan a bit think can get 110-130k ba....for a 2-3 yr ride..:grin: 

On 2/14/2025 at 8:02 AM, Spidey10 said:

i thot 2nd hand Tesla a lot and going for 120-140k? Last I check, think was 1-2 mths ago it was going for this prices....200k plus drop to 120-140k....tekan a bit think can get 110-130k ba....for a 2-3 yr ride..:grin: 

Go check again.

The car depre of 2-3 year car is the same or higher as a brand new Tesla…..

Second hand EV car having no buyer and low prices is a myth 😞