Ginyu 5th Gear Friday at 05:35 AM Share Friday at 05:35 AM (edited) Del Edited Friday at 05:43 AM by Ginyu ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ginyu 5th Gear Friday at 05:41 AM Share Friday at 05:41 AM (edited) On 1/10/2025 at 12:00 PM, 13177 said: Ya, now buy car no need to see face value, esp if want to buy EV, basically most of the EV is china car. Lol. Those people who still insisted to buy Jap car difficult liao if they want to buy EV. Go to the motorshow and see for yourself if is still worth to pay more for face value. They are more expensive is not because they are better but more expensive to make them due to higher energy cost to run those legacy factories and higher labour costs Some newer models of premium European brands are using cheap plastics to cut cost and still charge premium prices Legacy automakers are using the same old factory to build their EVs because no money to build dedicated ones A disadvantage against Chinese EVs or Tesla as theirs are the modern dedicated factories for EVs🤣 Edited Friday at 05:50 AM by Ginyu 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Unfazed 6th Gear Friday at 08:58 AM Share Friday at 08:58 AM On 1/10/2025 at 1:18 PM, ER-3682 said: Go to Her GRC Ward, meet her in Meeting People Session,touch her Face & Back,feel it..then let me know,alot of TeeKoh in MyCarForum also wanted to know. I'm not carrying out this noble or rather sai kang. 😉 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic Friday at 09:12 AM Share Friday at 09:12 AM On 1/7/2025 at 9:30 PM, Hamburger said: I too observed that the depreciation for dual motor is the same or even lesser as compared to the same car with single motor. Road tax is the culprit and reason here. buy used then... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic Friday at 09:35 AM Share Friday at 09:35 AM On 1/10/2025 at 5:12 PM, Mkl22 said: buy used then... I was looking at used car section. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic Friday at 10:24 AM Share Friday at 10:24 AM On 1/10/2025 at 12:52 PM, Kxbc said: Noob EV question. Say I buy EV from Manufacturer X. 2 years down the road, X closes down completely. Not taken over, not merger. Question: I guess no more software update which means security vulnerability will not be patched, any software issue also no one to help with, Any issues driving the car for the remaining 8 years, esp on the maintenance part? If it happens, only solution is to change car. Lol. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic Friday at 10:30 AM Share Friday at 10:30 AM (edited) On 1/10/2025 at 12:40 PM, leftturn said: Frankly speaking high EV sales volumes, particularly for the Chinese brands, is mainly driven by low price and abundance of features which are cheap for manufacturer to implement but poor execution. But need to thank many EV buyers now for taking one for the team and giving their hard earned dollars for the progress of EV development and tech. I won't be the sacrificial lamb and wait till this segment matures before entering. But then I will likely not get any Chinese brand EVs. Ya, best if you want to buy a new car now, just buy a ICE car, at least can drive for next 10 years. Lol. By then EV should be stable liao. Edited Friday at 10:32 AM by 13177 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic Friday at 12:09 PM Share Friday at 12:09 PM On 1/10/2025 at 1:35 PM, Throttle2 said: In reality for BB cars , whether renew COE or not does not depend on parf becos the parf is not big money anyway. It ultimately depends on price of COE and the overall condition of car Buy new car OMV + GST + ARF + Dealer margin + COE Renew COE Lost PARF + COE 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heartlander Turbocharged Friday at 01:43 PM Share Friday at 01:43 PM On 1/10/2025 at 8:09 PM, inlinesix said: Buy new car OMV + GST + ARF + Dealer margin + COE Renew COE Lost PARF + COE I really feel like I need to correct you haha: Buy new car OMV + GST + ARF + Dealer margin + COE Renew COE Lost PARF + COE + potential EV battery replacement + potential tear and wear (suspension + aircon) + joy of new car + latest safety technology + image (latest car vs old car thus showing how rich) etc etc. 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic Friday at 01:59 PM Share Friday at 01:59 PM (edited) On 1/10/2025 at 9:43 PM, Heartlander said: I really feel like I need to correct you haha: Buy new car OMV + GST + ARF + Dealer margin + COE Renew COE Lost PARF + COE + potential EV battery replacement + potential tear and wear (suspension + aircon) + joy of new car + latest safety technology + image (latest car vs old car thus showing how rich) etc etc. Other than “potential tear and wear” and “potential EV battery replacement”, the rest are reasons for itchy backside. “potential EV battery replacement” should be excluded Edited Friday at 01:59 PM by inlinesix 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic Friday at 03:39 PM Share Friday at 03:39 PM On 1/10/2025 at 6:24 PM, 13177 said: If it happens, only solution is to change car. Lol. No software update car still drive lah... 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic Friday at 04:10 PM Share Friday at 04:10 PM On 1/10/2025 at 11:39 PM, Tohto said: No software update car still drive lah... Yeah lor why must update? If like phone every update just mades it slower and slower. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic Saturday at 02:14 AM Share Saturday at 02:14 AM (edited) On 1/10/2025 at 9:43 PM, Heartlander said: I really feel like I need to correct you haha: Buy new car OMV + GST + ARF + Dealer margin + COE Renew COE Lost PARF + COE + potential EV battery replacement + potential tear and wear (suspension + aircon) + joy of new car + latest safety technology + image (latest car vs old car thus showing how rich) etc etc. For renew coe, other than parf and coe, all that is mentioned can also happen after 5years of owning the car form new. so shall we change coe to 5years? 🤣 Edited Saturday at 02:14 AM by Mkl22 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic Saturday at 02:31 AM Share Saturday at 02:31 AM On 1/11/2025 at 12:10 AM, Volvobrick said: Yeah lor why must update? If like phone every update just mades it slower and slower. Its like my office windows. 10 years never updated. Work just fine. 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heartlander Turbocharged Saturday at 02:40 AM Share Saturday at 02:40 AM On 1/11/2025 at 10:14 AM, Mkl22 said: For renew coe, other than parf and coe, all that is mentioned can also happen after 5years of owning the car form new. so shall we change coe to 5years? 🤣 With current very lousy parf values for EV cars, it makes sense to renew COE for 5 years only since the owner is not losing much anyway. With 5 years renewal, there is definitely higher chance to siam the major tear and wear items failure events. So for those who like their EVs so much, this is definitely do-able. But if they fail, then just scrap lor nothing to do. In fact also can do for 10 years COE renewal. if the parf is really low. Just use until breakdown on the road lor. The interests due to COE renewal be it cash or loan is the only cost involve. Like that I can forsee alot of EV owners renewing their rides after 10 years. Sure going to impact the COE distribution pattern in a big way in years to come if nothing is done to its related rules soon. But I still firm in my thinking that renewal cost is not just COE and parf lost, unless the technology improve alot such as longevity of EV battery. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rskc 5th Gear Saturday at 02:45 AM Share Saturday at 02:45 AM (edited) On 1/10/2025 at 11:39 PM, Tohto said: No software update car still drive lah... Ya lor. In fact, I told my AD NOT to update software for my ICE since the car was running well for 5 years. It only recently updated cos I changed my headlamps under warranty. Edited Saturday at 02:45 AM by Rskc 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heartlander Turbocharged Saturday at 02:48 AM Share Saturday at 02:48 AM On 1/11/2025 at 10:31 AM, Beregond said: Its like my office windows. 10 years never updated. Work just fine. But the Window would be slow, especially if you want to do more processor-intensive tasks. And it cannot use the latest features which might improve productive and security aspect so more prone to online scam and virus attack. To each his own lah. No right or wrong. For me, car is different category. There is no need to upgrade if it is stable in the first place as it should have been. Upgrading software does not add in AEB or ACC or sunroof or whatever as those need hardware support. I no need fanciful GUI for my dashboard. Important is car is stable. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kxbc Turbocharged Saturday at 03:43 AM Share Saturday at 03:43 AM On 1/10/2025 at 11:39 PM, Tohto said: No software update car still drive lah... That's good to hear. I did read an article yesterday in the papers. This author had his car stuck in the workshop for more than a few days for a software update, one of which was to rectify a faulty range estimate. The software apparently showed half the range the batteries are capable of. This fault is really hard to live with. Imagine range anxiety every time in the car and don't know when the battery will really die. Not doable unless you live in landed and can plug in daily. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...