No one wants used EVs, making new ones a tougher sell too

kobayashiGT

4th Gear
On 1/2/2025 at 10:29 PM, 13177 said:

BYD has 4 dealers here? I only know two only, in leng kee and tpy.

Ubi has one. Another at zhong shan park. 

On 1/3/2025 at 10:56 AM, Volvobrick said:

Ho say liao, cam expect more price drops from Tesla to boost sales. 

If i buy EV,i won't support Elon Mask.

On 1/3/2025 at 11:35 AM, ER-3682 said:

If i buy EV,i won't support Elon Mask.

Of course, support Zhu Guo? 

Edited by Volvobrick

On 1/3/2025 at 11:38 AM, Volvobrick said:

Of course, support Zhu Guo? 

Ppl buy RR Spectre

😂

On 1/3/2025 at 10:56 AM, Volvobrick said:

Ho say liao, cam expect more price drops from Tesla to boost sales. 

Potential buyer wait for Juniper la.

😂

On 1/3/2025 at 11:49 AM, inlinesix said:

Ppl buy RR Spectre

😂

See tonight's TOTO.

On 1/3/2025 at 12:14 PM, ER-3682 said:

See tonight's TOTO.

I also see tonight.

Buy i Corolla (GR hor)

😂

On 1/3/2025 at 12:43 PM, inlinesix said:

I also see tonight.

Buy i Corolla (GR hor)

😂

Must have BIG Dreams.

4th Gear
On 1/3/2025 at 1:20 PM, ER-3682 said:

Must have BIG Dreams.

Build Your Dream?

On 1/3/2025 at 12:14 PM, ER-3682 said:

See tonight's TOTO.

My wife's one dollar contribution to sg pools. 

On 1/2/2025 at 4:39 PM, serenade said:

When EV reaches 10 years old, whether to renew COE depends largely on battery condition, cost of a new battery, whether still have stock of battery. And most importantly (to me), is whether the brand is still in existence with plentiful spares. 

Looking at the large number of China EV only brands today, I am quite skeptical whether all will still be in business 10 years from now.. 

You're actually right with your concern on whether these Chinese EV brands will still be in business in the next decade. As of today, even with heavy subsidies from the CCP, only BYD, Li Auto and Huawei (Luxeed, Aito) are profitable in the midst of cut throat competition within China. The rest like Zeekr, Xpeng, Xiaomi, Nio etc are still bleeding. 

On 1/4/2025 at 9:41 AM, Lethalstrike said:

You're actually right with your concern on whether these Chinese EV brands will still be in business in the next decade. As of today, even with heavy subsidies from the CCP, only BYD, Li Auto and Huawei (Luxeed, Aito) are profitable in the midst of cut throat competition within China. The rest like Zeekr, Xpeng, Xiaomi, Nio etc are still bleeding. 

Of even greater concern, is how many of the local agents will still be around after 5 years to supply spares and do repairs? The ICE model, there was good post sales revenue stream from servicing, plug change, oil filter change, gearbox fluid etc and changing of worn engine parts. With EV, the servicing revenue will be from chassis items, cooling systems. Can these bring in enough revenue to sustain a business where rents are high? Once the initial euphoria of going EV is over or COE supply is cut, can sales alone support so many players. Not referring to C&C, PM and the dealers who have a large number of ICE cars sold over the years who can still sustain their workshop operations.

Hence there will be a useless check list of items that need to be inspected periodically to maintain your warranty. 
no different to our additional tax to recover petrol duties. 

I was looking at ARF value of China EV....

It's like almost nothing if deregister towards end of COE. 

Even German make also very low. 

So basically the future of SG car population will have no renewed COE car, as no one will buy a high COE and risk changing a new battery ( possibly no replacement too) or even increase fire risk.

Basically car repair workshop can close shop soon. 

Maybe spray paint and tyre and Aircon shop still can survive.

On 1/5/2025 at 4:16 PM, Atonchia said:

I was looking at ARF value of China EV....

It's like almost nothing if deregister towards end of COE. 

Even German make also very low. 

So basically the future of SG car population will have no renewed COE car, as no one will buy a high COE and risk changing a new battery ( possibly no replacement too) or even increase fire risk.

Basically car repair workshop can close shop soon. 

Maybe spray paint and tyre and Aircon shop still can survive.

Your conclusion is not right leh - with most nothing PARF, the 10 year old EV can be renewed for only the COE premium. Any time battery big problem, just scrap and take back COE. 

So the future will be full of renewed low powered (thus low road tax) EVs.

BUT..... the gahmen sure will impose some hefty additional road tax on renewed EVs to make the system "fairer" to force them to scrap (and collect new ARF). 

Edited by Volvobrick

On 1/5/2025 at 4:42 PM, Volvobrick said:

Your conclusion is not right leh - with most nothing PARF, the 10 year old EV can be renewed for only the COE premium. Any time battery big problem, just scrap and take back COE. 

So the future will be full of renewed low powered (thus low road tax) EVs.

BUT..... the gahmen sure will impose some hefty additional road tax on renewed EVs to make the system "fairer" to force them to scrap (and collect new ARF). 

Additional road tax of $700 will be a big hindrance for COE car