No one wants used EVs, making new ones a tougher sell too

kobayashiGT

On 12/13/2024 at 9:59 AM, serenade said:

In the old days, there was a saying : " Any idiot can drive fast in a straight line. It takes balls and skill to be able to go very fast round bends."

To put this into the context of EV discussion, is there a driver's car EV, that can flung round a series of bends? Real world cars for the common man and not the Taycan or Lotus EV. In the ICE world there were the AE86, WRX, LGT, Golf, 850R, Focus, Mini, BMW 3-series and 5-series. Good handling and good brakes on mass market cars that can carry 4 in comfort.

So far no one has come out to say that their BYD Seal/3 or Tesla is great round corners.  Physics says that heavy cars (EV battery is very heavy) with high inertia will not be nimble. 

Is there a driver's car EV at real world price ($110k COE withstanding) that can carry 4 in comfort on the market now? 

Model 3 Performance is probably as "mass market" as you can get for M3 level of performance. It is not very heavy. 

Can't buy though - no signal stalk! 

On 12/12/2024 at 10:04 AM, Beregond said:

Ya. Lane 1 is clear. We both had the same ideal. And both switch at the same time. Most of the time I can catch up.

But if EV driver really wack. The different is very very obvious.  Esp if got turbo lag. That split sec. They already gone.

Tested a few EV. Not seal yet. That pick up is addictive.  Esp if u are a spirit driver.

But then undercarriage also important. Posh ev drive better then Tesla3 despite having a smaller hp.

But I understand that playing pickup can result in you visiting the charging station much more frequently.

On 12/13/2024 at 8:07 PM, Mkl22 said:

More to come. Too many in China now. Most will die and leaving with less than 10 brands. 

would it be a bit risky buying EV now? never know which one will go bust....

once bust, i read all the software support will not be able to use, basically the car is useless and can sell as scrap...tio bo?

On 12/13/2024 at 9:23 PM, ER-3682 said:

Just now met 1 BMW i4 at Beach Rd,pick up very fast,but in the end,still stuck in Traffic Light.

in SG, how fast u wanna drive....every 500m got Traffic lights...so dun really need powderful cars....:grin:

On 12/16/2024 at 10:08 AM, Spidey10 said:

once bust, i read all the software support will not be able to use, basically the car is useless and can sell as scrap...tio bo?

Just drive as is. Unless something major happens it will not shut off. The longer you stretch it the less you lose. Which is why go for the bigger brands. BYD should be very safe. 

On 12/16/2024 at 9:10 AM, Spidey10 said:

in SG, how fast u wanna drive....every 500m got Traffic lights...so dun really need powderful cars....:grin:

500m.?More like 100m.

On 12/16/2024 at 9:08 AM, Spidey10 said:

Most of the brand that comes into Singapore are unlikely to fail.

If scare, buy brand from GAC, SAIC, BAIC and BYD.

On 12/16/2024 at 9:22 AM, ER-3682 said:

500m.?More like 100m.

That's why Sg is suitable for EV.

On 12/16/2024 at 10:15 AM, inlinesix said:

No denying the fact, indeed it is...only thing is we need more charges...if the G build more charges and more in the malls too. i think there will be even more pple willing to change...

majority of us are staying in HDB...if they can solve the HDB charging points...half the battle is won. 

On 12/16/2024 at 10:33 AM, Spidey10 said:

No denying the fact, indeed it is...only thing is we need more charges...if the G build more charges and more in the malls too. i think there will be even more pple willing to change...

majority of us are staying in HDB...if they can solve the HDB charging points...half the battle is won. 

A lot of your concern is just mindset change.

For EV, charge as and when it is available rather than no battery than charge.

Looking at the expansion of charge+ charger in my estate, it is just a matter of when.

In my estate, there was 8 slot in MSCP that was build in 2022 (thereabout).

Now, charge+ is adding 10 slot in open car park.

Ya, so many traffic lights on our road, and many times when you move off from a green traffic light and less than 100m the next traffic light is red.

On 12/16/2024 at 10:41 AM, 13177 said:

Ya, so many traffic lights on our road, and many times when you move off from a green traffic light and less than 100m the next traffic light is red.

More so in newer estate.

To move from 1 end of Punggol to other end (horizontally), it takes up to 30 minutes.

On 12/16/2024 at 12:43 PM, inlinesix said:

More so in newer estate.

To move from 1 end of Punggol to other end (horizontally), it takes up to 30 minutes.

This is like I was in Gold Coast, move from Broad Beach to Main beach.  The number of traffic light.....

On 12/16/2024 at 11:15 AM, inlinesix said:

i went to Batu Pahat ... so many so many EVs 

small small EVs ... for soccer (pasar) mom 

why? because everyone got a charger point at home 

Batu Pahat is sibei suitable for EV 

well, we all know that little EV is NOT the only car and for local drive only ... 

drive to pasar and school to send/pick up kids

soccer mom praise HIGH for EVs because never need to pump petrol 

:grin:

On 12/16/2024 at 10:43 AM, inlinesix said:

More so in newer estate.

U punggol kaki ahhh..:grin:....i understand what you mean...every 100m need to brake and wait...

On 12/18/2024 at 7:25 AM, Wt_know said:

well, we all know that little EV is NOT the only car and for local drive only ... 

msia mostly landed prop....if i stay landed, sure can consider changing to EV...Come back just plug in...

On 12/18/2024 at 7:58 AM, Spidey10 said:

msia mostly landed prop....if i stay landed, sure can consider changing to EV...Come back just plug in...

Some said battery replacement will be expensive,  i dont know if it really need to be replaced within 10 years , even assuming so, if one month save $300 on fuel, 10 years will save $36,000, that is more than enough to replace a lot of battery ? 

On 12/18/2024 at 7:25 AM, Wt_know said:

On 12/18/2024 at 7:58 AM, Spidey10 said:

Not everyone can afford charger installation.

Minimally, need RM30k to convert to 3 phase before talking about EV charger installation.

BYD Dolphins in Malaysia chip chip nia 

Edited by inlinesix