No one wants used EVs, making new ones a tougher sell too

kobayashiGT

On 2/1/2024 at 8:14 PM, Volvobrick said:

Again did things without going through brain. Should be at the furtherest corner on the highest floor so people won't chope the charging lot and trickle charge the whole day/night. They have to drive all the way up and walk all the way down. They will charge only when necessary. 

We all know who set to trickle charge hor! 

Yes, I agree they sld be installed at the far corner on the higher floor where the lots are usually empty. This way it won't disturb the current parking habit. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

On 1/31/2024 at 8:22 PM, Volvobrick said:

Replaced by bicycles? Then we have achieved what China did in 1970's! Hurray! 

Car-lite but "kah" - heavy. 

beijing-chang-an-street-bikes-1.jpg.9f6f79821b2c933504878286c24868de.jpg

if you look at this pic, that was the truely CAshless society.. society with bleak economy.

If Sg turn to this, cars will be the last thing to worry about LOL

On 2/2/2024 at 1:57 AM, Lethalstrike said:

This is particularly interesting. I suppose this still only affects Teslas the most as they remain the only ones who do giga-casting on the chassis of the Model 3s and Ys. More will eventually adopt this manufacturing technique. 

All the old dinosaurs sitting in LTA have to wake up their idea and keep up with the times la. 

i believe this will not be a Tesla only issue, soon it will be a main concern among all EVs that are build base up, including the China big boys  Those EVs which have an ICE version will likely continue to use the ICE version design. 

I think those guys at LTA now very lost, dont know what to do with all the in between. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

On 2/2/2024 at 9:11 AM, Nawoo said:

So if governments get rid of all the ICE cars, then all the ah beng mechanic workshops will die? Since kenna lock out from servicing Evs

We shd be worrying about AI replacing our jobs hahaha

On 2/2/2024 at 10:04 AM, Atachi said:

Those hungry Mechanics outside (survivors) press on, there's a chance the China/Japan made EVs will be serviceable for that market segment. Like how some hybrid can be service outside with third party parts.

If govt serious about going full EV by certain dateline, they will need to "force" manufactures to open up their software. Just like how many here mentioned LTA need to update the law on fixing EV chassis. But i got higher hope EU to pass that law rather then here. 😂 Also doubt AD can cope with servicing, they need time to scale.

No need to force lah.

EV cars hardly need any servicing anyway. Hyundai told me maybe once a year depending on mileage….js wait for car to alert u.

However other EV brands told me still need to go in for routine inspection like every 20k or so.

On 2/2/2024 at 10:52 AM, Tianmo said:

i believe this will not be a Tesla only issue, soon it will be a main concern among all EVs that are build base up, including the China big boys  Those EVs which have an ICE version will likely continue to use the ICE version design. 

I think those guys at LTA now very lost, dont know what to do with all the in between. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

It just reminded me when BMW launched their electric motorbike.

I have a class 2B license.  So i called TP to ask what hp electric motorbike I can ride.

TP told me this was a motorbike specification issue.  Told me to ask LTA.

I almost want to say KNNCCB.

I believe soon, there will be a 2nd hand market or scarp yard parts on EV batteries for different models.

As of now, EVs has a battery replacement issue or a total loss issue, that seem to be about all in term of parts. Batteries on total loss EVs, might be rescued, repaired and good to go again, providing those EVs who need a battery replacement because of some minor hits with alternative, which may otherwise resulted in another case of total loss. So next time if the dealer say your EV need a 60K new battery replacement because the cover is hit, go get a replacement for a fraction of the 60K from a 2nd hand dealer or the scrap yard. 

Also, with technologies advancement, hopefully EV batteries get cheaper to replace  and in return brings down the total cost of EVs, thats is when EVs are really ready to take off here. Some will drive the full 10 yrs, some will scarp after 2 yrs, and all the 2nd hand car dealers can start transforming their businesses to PIs and 2nd hand EV batteries dealers. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

On 2/2/2024 at 10:58 AM, inlinesix said:

It just reminded me when BMW launched their electric motorbike.

I have a class 2B license.  So i called TP to ask what hp electric motorbike I can ride.

TP told me this was a motorbike specification issue.  Told me to ask LTA.

I almost want to say KNNCCB.

yah, and it also brings us to another matter.

TP rule is while driving, no hand on electronic devices. But in the case of a Tesla, the HU is a bloody Electronic device that controls the whole car. So once the car moved you cannot touch the HU in the tesla anymore?   Say while driving you need to adjust the AC, or set a new destination on the map, and a TP ride up next to you while you doing so, how ah? The TP pull you over and book you or he close one eye pretend he never see? [laugh][laugh][laugh]

On 2/2/2024 at 11:15 AM, Tianmo said:

I believe soon, there will be a 2nd hand market or scarp yard parts on EV batteries for different models.

As of now, EVs has a battery replacement issue or a total loss issue, that seem to be about all in term of parts. Batteries on total loss EVs, might be rescued, repaired and good to go again, providing those EVs who need a battery replacement because of some minor hits with alternative, which may otherwise resulted in another case of total loss. So next time if the dealer say your EV need a 60K new battery replacement because the cover is hit, go get a replacement for a fraction of the 60K from a 2nd hand dealer or the scrap yard. 

Also, with technologies advancement, hopefully EV batteries get cheaper to replace  and in return brings down the total cost of EVs, thats is when EVs are really ready to take off here. Some will drive the full 10 yrs, some will scarp after 2 yrs, and all the 2nd hand car dealers can start transforming their businesses to PIs and 2nd hand EV batteries dealers. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

Already have big players in the market 😂 also some small enterprise. 

JIOS Aerogel Commissions New Factory in Singapore for Electric-Vehicle Battery Components

On 2/2/2024 at 10:47 AM, Sdf4786k said:

if you look at this pic, that was the truely CAshless society.. society with bleak economy.

If Sg turn to this, cars will be the last thing to worry about LOL

Give Singapore 10 more years can see similar scenario in SG just that the crowd will be walking underground taking MRT. Once all infra is up and MRT lines open, cost of car ownership will be exorbitant. The true car-lite. 

On 2/2/2024 at 10:02 AM, Tianmo said:

New.  I believe all those installed last year are now at level 3A, the 3 lots at one far end of the carpark.

Just drove over to the opposite carpark to check out the charger just now, and level 3A is not white lots, there are red/white, usually only level 5A and above are white lots. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

This mscp only 4 levels included unshaded roof top. 1.5 floors of white lots. These 3 green lots kope 3 white lots. 

On 2/2/2024 at 1:21 PM, Atachi said:

Give Singapore 10 more years can see similar scenario in SG just that the crowd will be walking underground taking MRT. Once all infra is up and MRT lines open, cost of car ownership will be exorbitant. The true car-lite. 

True, once the CRL is completed, they will tell you anywhere in sg would not be ulu liao, so no need car.

On 2/2/2024 at 11:24 AM, Tianmo said:

yah, and it also brings us to another matter.

TP rule is while driving, no hand on electronic devices. But in the case of a Tesla, the HU is a bloody Electronic device that controls the whole car. So once the car moved you cannot touch the HU in the tesla anymore?   Say while driving you need to adjust the AC, or set a new destination on the map, and a TP ride up next to you while you doing so, how ah? The TP pull you over and book you or he close one eye pretend he never see? [laugh][laugh][laugh]

Nowadays uses voice control for adjusting fan speed and temperature. Hey Google (for Volvo & Polestar), Hey Mercedes, Hey BMW etc, adjust the temperature to 21 degree bla bla.

But Tesla can't say Hey Tesla. You need to press voice control button once on steering wheel, then speak your command. Also, if you just want to adjust the direction of air flow of the A/C, you're also screwed on Tesla as you still have to use the touchscreen since there are no physical air vent controls 🤣

On 2/2/2024 at 10:26 AM, Nawoo said:

EVs have terrible resale value. MCFers very rich. can afford to buy and throw away

Really?  I have been looking high and low for a pre-owned EV selling at slightly above paper value (since no buyer and it is buy and throw) for wifey but noone wants to "throw" to me. If you have lobang, please let me know. 😂😂😂

• Haha! 10

On 2/2/2024 at 2:56 PM, Lethalstrike said:

Nowadays uses voice control for adjusting fan speed and temperature. Hey Google (for Volvo & Polestar), Hey Mercedes, Hey BMW etc, adjust the temperature to 21 degree bla bla.

But Tesla can't say Hey Tesla. You need to press voice control button once on steering wheel, then speak your command. Also, if you just want to adjust the direction of air flow of the A/C, you're also screwed on Tesla as you still have to use the touchscreen since there are no physical air vent controls 🤣

Buttons are good, can keep my eyes on the road while adjusting fan speed, temperature, throttle response, lights, etc, without looking. Voice control is stupid especially when i have passengers in the car. 

Guess i am old school.

On 2/2/2024 at 2:56 PM, Lethalstrike said:

I don't like to be seen to be talking to myself.... Only siao lang like Golum talk to themselves.