No one wants used EVs, making new ones a tougher sell too

kobayashiGT

On 1/31/2024 at 4:04 PM, Beregond said:

That's why all laugh at the car light plan.

Imagine all cars are replace by bicycle. 

I can imagine all the funny funny tax gonna come out. Or maybe gst 20 %

😂😂😂

Replaced by bicycles? Then we have achieved what China did in 1970's! Hurray! 

Car-lite but "kah" - heavy. 

beijing-chang-an-street-bikes-1.jpg.9f6f79821b2c933504878286c24868de.jpg

Edited by Volvobrick

On 1/31/2024 at 7:08 PM, Tianmo said:

If tomorrow they convert my estate MSCP whole level 6A into EV chargers, I cfm convert to EV also.  I don't mind 3.7 since I can park and charge every night peacefully. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

I think u plug in your EV to USB cable to charge better lah....that will never happen 😂

If tomorrow they convert my estate MSCP whole level 6A into EV chargers, I cfm convert to EV also.  I don't mind 3.7 since I can park and charge every night peacefully. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

Like this? You have to move the China. 

DSC_6116.thumb.JPG.751fb3b9c5ab8920db03a4b4629fc582.JPG

On 1/31/2024 at 7:04 PM, RadX said:

Exactly mentioned yesterday and the 43kw are phased out and think the 22kw as well

so the battle of the 3.7 and 7.4, good to have both as if I were to use my car on a 3.7, would take 15hrs? So some of the plausible suggestions incl having a variety of both 3.8/7.4 in MSCP and more AC vs DC

thus with more 3.7, can have more chargers in the block 

as for timing , the car app shd show. That’s how I can “cheat” my time by adjusting amps and seeing the “estimated” time left to the desired %

Wah, so zhun ah.... I swear, I wasn't at whatever forum you were at, am not from MOT LTA or whatever EV charging industry, just a long time EV driver.

But good points which many ppl may not know, spare electrical capacity to be diverted to EV charging is limited at most buildings before they have to upgrade the infra at great cost. So might as well have more slower AC chargers so more ppl can use it, especially pertinent for residential buildings.

My car AC charges at 11kW, so 3.7kW is damned slow. But I rather charge slowly than have to keep running out to unplug the car, and worse if I have to circle round and round to find a non charging parking lot after unplugging.

It is more of a concept of might as well slowly charge when car is just parked there not moving for hours, rather than trying to quickly charge to full on AC when most cars are limited to 7 or 11kW. If want to do that, might as well just DC charge.

On 1/31/2024 at 11:32 AM, RadX said:

Yes this was where I was at yesterday and a good mixture of ppl. We have mall, charge operators, MOT and LTa along with us end users

productive and looking forward to new rules to drive the “etiquette “ forward

I did also raise my “trickling charge” but no conclusion😂… the main concerns arE the DCs

I don’t think it will be long before we see you post KNNBCCB here. Etiquette …..🤣

On 1/31/2024 at 5:41 PM, Jtis said:

Agree, for DC charging, you can't adjust charge rate AFAIK. The reason why you can adjust charge rate for AC charging via the charge current(amperage), is because the AC-to-DC converter is on the car itself, whereas for DC, the AC-to-DC converter is inside the EV charger itself, the dc charge is pushed directly to the car battery.

DC charge rate is determine by the ev battery BMS. The BMS will decide how much charge current (depending on battery SoC), communicate this to EV onboard charge controller. EV charge controller will then relay this message on the charge protocol communication. In a charge session, before energy transfer, EV will advertise it's required charge current (EVTargetCurrent Req). If this is agreeable with EVSE, charge session will proceed to State C. The exchange of requested charge current happens throughout the entire energy transfer phase. So if BMS decides to use lower charge current because the battery is at a higher SoC, EV charge controller can immediately request for a lower charge current (via EVTarCurrent Req msg).

For AC charging, the eventual amount of charge current to the battery is still determine by the BMS. The BMS request the amount of current to EV onboard charge controller which then draws the required amount of DC current from the AC-DC converter. 

They won't bother to take the upper floors. hacking and running the power cables and what not cost them money.
100% guarantee chop they will take ground or 2nd level. 

May speed up EV adoption actually. 

On 1/31/2024 at 8:22 PM, Volvobrick said:

Replaced by bicycles? Then we have achieved what China did in 1970's! Hurray! 

Car-lite but "kah" - heavy. 

beijing-chang-an-street-bikes-1.jpg.9f6f79821b2c933504878286c24868de.jpg

aiyoh. this is so low class.

must feature amsterdam for car-lite. That is angmoh high class bicycle city. Not this 1970s beijing crap.

On 2/1/2024 at 9:43 AM, Lala81 said:

They won't bother to take the upper floors. hacking and running the power cables and what not cost them money.

Top floor for solar panels and/or farming.

My estate charging station is at Level 3b. It could be rare

On 1/31/2024 at 8:26 PM, Volvobrick said:

Like this? You have to move the China. 

DSC_6116.thumb.JPG.751fb3b9c5ab8920db03a4b4629fc582.JPG

Yah like this. ^_^

But if I ever move to china, it will not be for the charging infrastructure of  Electrical vehicle, but strongly possibly for Erection variety, same same EV, but no same same EV. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

On 1/31/2024 at 8:23 PM, Lethalstrike said:

I think u plug in your EV to USB cable to charge better lah....that will never happen 😂

Maybe get a super heavy duty UPS with wheels, charge it at home and bring to carpark charge EV. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

Yah, so far all I see are on ground floor or 1B (level 2) max,  the red line lots, have not seen any above that. 

Personally I would prefer them up on the white lots, and at levels lesser ppl use.

The nearest one to me is at the MSCP across the road, on 1B, and if I were to charge there, I have to pay for parking over my season parking and walk double the distance, I simply cannot accept. 

If they build on upper decks, it won't disturb the current parking habit, and make plans for expansion easier also. Of course at a higher cost upfront like you mentioned. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

Edited by Tianmo

Buying used EV definitely should think very hard.

If you buy used ICE car, the most leak here and there, lose some power, but still can move.

If used EV has problem with even a single cell of the whole battery, maybe it won't move at all, and requires replacing some part or whole suite of batteries, which could be extremely costly. It's a great unknown, and you definitely needs deep pocket. Used car dealers will likely only offer you scrap value to protect themselves. Just my thoughts.

On 2/1/2024 at 11:21 AM, Kb27 said:

Buying used EV definitely should think very hard.

If you buy used ICE car, the most leak here and there, lose some power, but still can move.

If used EV has problem with even a single cell of the whole battery, maybe it won't move at all, and requires replacing some part or whole suite of batteries, which could be extremely costly. It's a great unknown, and you definitely needs deep pocket. Used car dealers will likely only offer you scrap value to protect themselves. Just my thoughts.

Recently, i sold iphone 12.  Buyer asked me to check battery health %.

Similar can be done for EV.

In addition, also need to check for water ingress within battery pack.

During life of EV, battery degradation is the less of your problem.

The bigger problem is insurance claims.  Battery is usually part of the Chassis.

Any major accident will lead to total loss

On 2/1/2024 at 11:26 AM, Beehive3783 said:

Still wanna buy an EV? Make sure the chassis doesn't need to be replaced in the event of an accident.

https://www.sgcarmart.com/articles/features/this-is-why-you-dont-want-to-wreck-your-high-tech-evs-34521?GASRC=sgcm

This is why you don't want to wreck your high-tech EVs! - Sgcarmart

BlueSg/GetGo renters also don't want to wreck their rented vehicles....but in life, nothing is 100% in your control...😇

Edited by Vratenza