No one wants used EVs, making new ones a tougher sell too

kobayashiGT

I hope Car Mfg also make Solar Panels on the Car Roof,so while parking under the Sun for 2 Hours,it could charge back at least 30% of Power.

On 12/27/2023 at 5:29 PM, RadX said:

Need la

electric PMA😂😂

Good stuff.. this is better than EV. Can take a free ride inside MRT. Battery life extend again.

On 12/27/2023 at 10:09 PM, ER-3682 said:

I hope Car Mfg also make Solar Panels on the Car Roof,so while parking under the Sun for 2 Hours,it could charge back at least 30% of Power.

1 solar panel can generate about 250 - 400w.

For 2 hours, you are getting 0.5 - 0.8kwh.  That's about 1.5% of power

On 12/27/2023 at 10:07 PM, ER-3682 said:

But when Kena Jam for 2 Hours,it may run out of Battery.

For 2 hours of idling, that's btw 2 - 4kwh.

It is about 3.7% - 7.4% of Tesla Model 3 power

On 12/28/2023 at 7:55 AM, Beanoyip said:

You would hope the dealers have good trade in programs to rehouse/reuse/repurpose those older EVs.

PErhaps, this was not thought of yet, and maybe in time to come, they could be retrofitted with new batteries once they are traded in

The truth is like some bro mention.

The current EV will be hard to sell 2nd hand. Because new and better EVs keep coming out. EV is in the baby or growing stage now. 

Maybe like 10 years down the road when there are much more ev maybe like 40% of all cars are EV , and EV development reach a stagnant or mature stage. 

2nd hand EV will be selling like 2nd hand ICE now.

There is no turning back. Unless u are in the 70s now. And u dun want drive when 80s.

Even if u are in the 50s-60s now. Sooner or later u will have alot of chances to drive EV.

On 12/27/2023 at 10:07 PM, ER-3682 said:

But when Kena Jam for 2 Hours,it may run out of Battery.

off aircon. off radio. off everything. hahahah 

On 12/27/2023 at 11:09 PM, ER-3682 said:

I actually had a car with solar sunroof before. It would circulate the cabin air using solar when parked to keep the temperature down. 

I think there are EVs with solar roof but the electricity generated may be just enough to power the HiFi.... 

On 12/28/2023 at 7:55 AM, Beanoyip said:

You would hope the dealers have good trade in programs to rehouse/reuse/repurpose those older EVs.

How to have good trade in program when ev got rebate and minus off the parf value and most ev parf value less than $10k

only can calculate the coe value le

On 12/26/2023 at 10:53 AM, kobayashiGT said:

someone must invent battery revitalizer machine, to rejuvenate EV battery. That will be the "servicing" for EV next time! 

Batteries are 8years warranty while car itself is 6years 

On 12/28/2023 at 9:07 AM, kobayashiGT said:

off aircon. off radio. off everything. hahahah 

Actually EV uses less power in a jam. It’s the WOT of high speed that squeeze the juice. 

On 12/28/2023 at 9:08 AM, Volvobrick said:

I actually had a car with solar sunroof before. It would circulate the cabin air using solar when parked to keep the temperature down. 

I think there are EVs with solar roof but the electricity generated may be just enough to power the HiFi.... 

better still . Swap batteries 

Edited by Sdf4786k

On 12/28/2023 at 9:31 AM, Sdf4786k said:

Batteries are 8years warranty while car itself is 6years 

Still tight to 20k km per year, so for me mileage 25k+ per will reach 160k much earlier.

On 12/27/2023 at 9:42 PM, Vratenza said:

" if the price is right" is the key statement in all these discussion. 

For the longest time... If i buy a premium ICE sports car... I am probably mentally prepared to take a 30-40k depreciation when i sell it in second hand market. 

As a buyer of 2nd hand premium ICE sports car, likewise, the market has always been conditioned to accept this range of depreciation. 

For bread and butter, "entry level" EV, are the sellers and buyers ready to transact at the "right price" ? I don't have the answer.... 

That's why I rather take a back seat and watch from sideline and enjoy the last 10-15yrs my ICE cars. 

CNG died.

Diesel died.

Why are ppl so optimistic that EV will knock out ICE cars and live happily ever after? [laugh][laugh][laugh]

You are likely somewhere near end of early majority and start of late majority, while those who had gotten an EV now are mostly early adopters, so all depends on which stage of a consumer we belong to, happy can liao. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

On 12/27/2023 at 10:09 PM, ER-3682 said:

I believe china EV producers are already looking into it, we might soon see EVs made of solar panels from china. 

It has to go that direction, china being the largest and fastest glowing EV market, and also the world's biggest solar panel producer. They simply match up nicely. [laugh][laugh][laugh]