No one wants used EVs, making new ones a tougher sell too

kobayashiGT

On 12/26/2023 at 1:05 PM, Vratenza said:

let me illustrate my point:

lets say the EV has 8 battery modules/cells, during the annual servicing at 7yrs into ownership, the AD tested that the battery degradation status is as such:

1) 91%

2) 86%

3) 93%

4) 82%

5) 91%

6) 90%

7) 91%

😎 92%

So based on manufacturer's SOP, the AD proceed to go ahead to swap out # 2 and #4.

then the car is sold to another buyer right after the cells swap.

in the next 3 years of of the remaining COE, the rest of the unreplaced  6 cells continue with the natural degradation to start dipping below 90% or even 80%.

the new owner has to come up with cash to replace these failing cells.

thats assuming they honour and change even anything. sometimes they drag and tell you no stock or supplier making new one and have to be patient and drag it out until you cannot tahan. which you then sell and pass the buck to someone else.

On 12/26/2023 at 3:13 PM, Vratenza said:

I think is more like manufacturer's SOP for the ADs.

My car, engine error code flashed, return to AD, AD say is one of the 4 spark plug gone, need to replace under warranty. 

For my car, the next servicing was a major one, which was only 2000km away, and that included changing all 4 spark plugs, so I asked the Service Advisor why not just change all 4 spark plugs in one shot, save the labour. The SA said no can do, must follow the manufacturer schedule and SOP. 🙄

normal to claim labour from manufacturer. service is their profit. warranty claim is paid by manufacturer.

On 12/26/2023 at 3:15 PM, RadX said:

If it were me

change car! Is SOP

😂

If same brand...the SA will throw in one brand new spark plug (redundant to you) as freebie...😁

On 12/26/2023 at 2:22 PM, ER-3682 said:

Warranty..Agent will help Factory save Money,if you own pay,change whole Battery.

that's the thing, if wanna sell....will you change the whole battery or change one piece....hahahhah...obvious right....hence the 2nd hand demand and price...:nosebleed:

On 12/26/2023 at 11:58 AM, Benarsenal said:

Wonder if more manufacturers will adopt battery swap technology like Nio?

First, they need to standardise the battery. In china can. Nio just need to do 1 % of the car population in one city, can it can be feasible liao. 

In Singapore, imagine 200 car is BYD, 200 car is BMW, 200 car is Opel, how many type of battery the workshop need to store? It will be a logistical nightmare. Cannot lah. Hhahaha. Singapore too small for EV mass adoption. Hybrid lah. Don't be so ambitious. hahaha 

On 12/26/2023 at 5:16 PM, kobayashiGT said:

First, they need to standardise the battery. In china can. Nio just need to do 1 % of the car population in one city, can it can be feasible liao. 

In Singapore, imagine 200 car is BYD, 200 car is BMW, 200 car is Opel, how many type of battery the workshop need to store? It will be a logistical nightmare. Cannot lah. Hhahaha. Singapore too small for EV mass adoption. Hybrid lah. Don't be so ambitious. hahaha 

That's why. If battery swap is to become a thing, then standardisation is key.

On 12/26/2023 at 5:12 PM, Mustank said:

Looks like Toyota made wise decision

future, don’t know still wise

Toyota is losing market share in Europe and China.

It is dependant on American especially in pickup market.

On 12/26/2023 at 4:42 PM, Mkl22 said:

thats assuming they honour and change even anything. sometimes they drag and tell you no stock or supplier making new one and have to be patient and drag it out until you cannot tahan. which you then sell and pass the buck to someone else.

You mean like this? 😰

......His electric vehicle battery died. One year later, he's still waiting for a replacement

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.cbc.ca/amp/1.7066842

On 12/26/2023 at 4:42 PM, Mkl22 said:

What I am afraid of is once you get the battery error code... Cannot be removed from dash, how to sell to the next kum gong like that? 😆

On 12/26/2023 at 5:22 PM, Ct3833 said:

You mean like this? 😰

......His electric vehicle battery died. One year later, he's still waiting for a replacement

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.cbc.ca/amp/1.7066842

He said he's moved up from 17th to 15th in the nationwide queue for replacement batteries, but still doesn't have an estimated date for when he might get one. 

Machiam waiting for organ donation... 😅

1st mover always need to have pocket deep enough... Or else please wait for other heroes to test water first. 

On 12/26/2023 at 5:21 PM, Benarsenal said:

That's why. If battery swap is to become a thing, then standardisation is key.

Never happen, won't happen. hahaha. Next topic please! hahahaha. 

On 12/26/2023 at 5:42 PM, Vratenza said:

What I am afraid of is once you get the battery error code... Cannot be removed from dash, how to sell to the next kum gong like that? 😆

maybe can use black tape to cover the code and hope buyer cannot see...😆

On 12/26/2023 at 5:21 PM, inlinesix said:

Toyota is losing market share in Europe and China.

It is dependant on American especially in pickup market.

Need Middle East go to war then can sell many Hilux 🤪

On 12/26/2023 at 6:33 PM, Karoon said:

New EVs should be designed such that entire battery can be easily removed by forklift. 

Like that will have a lot of EV battery theft. Like how some thieves would steal catalytic converters not too long ago.

On 12/26/2023 at 5:28 PM, inlinesix said:

Looks like Canada is a shit country for EV.

Interesting enough, he was given a courtesy car, that means Nissan had been paying for 1 year of courtesy car but was unable to provide a replacement battery ?  Supply chain cant be so screw up, there might be other problems that nissan did not tell the truth😰