Singapore, China to set up mutual 30-day visa-free travel

Raubern

On 12/9/2023 at 12:43 PM, Davidklt said:

You didnt get into the real numbers or understand the ground situation.

This is one of the examples I am quoting and I have seen this in real life.

A PRC national bought / set up an eatery here in Singapore. Some of his relatives/friends that visited him using 探亲 visa are actually working casually in his eatery as chefs and cashiers. To shave accommodation costs, they stay with him. Best of all, the owner doesnt need to pay CPF, foreign worker levy etc and they get some help around.

And it is so hard for MOM to enforce. 

With the visa waiver, this would just open the floodgates. There are so many PRC restaurants and stalls in Chinatown. 

You are expecting the above to happen more often with 30 days visa free travel when longer term family visit pass is already available and probably makes more sense for Chinese F&B owners seeking to game the system?

Sorry, I still don't get your point. Not saying it won't be abused but there are very few overstayers in Singapore as unlike many countries, we don't just deport overstayers, we jail the offenders before deportation and also go after those who employ and shelter overstayers, think 24 months jail.  

Just curious if such visa free entry can be extended repeatedly with day trip to JB? 

On 12/10/2023 at 4:20 PM, Voodooman said:

You are expecting the above to happen more often with 30 days visa free travel when longer term family visit pass is already available and probably makes more sense for Chinese F&B owners seeking to game the system?

Sorry, I still don't get your point. Not saying it won't be abused but there are very few overstayers in Singapore as unlike many countries, we don't just deport overstayers, we jail the offenders before deportation and also go after those who employ and shelter overstayers, think 24 months jail.  

Just curious if such visa free entry can be extended repeatedly with day trip to JB? 

I don't think so. they will sure scan if you are trying to game the system anot. 

On 12/11/2023 at 8:51 AM, kobayashiGT said:

I don't think so. they will sure scan if you are trying to game the system anot. 

On what ground to reject their re-entry into Singapore after a day trip to JB?

It is 30 days visa free entry.

Not 30 days per month, per year.....

On 12/10/2023 at 4:20 PM, Voodooman said:

Even Hk don't dare to open their border freely to China Chinese. One need a special pass to visit HK. 

Travelling into Singapore as long as one can afford flight ticket? 

You do the maths. How many percent would be legit traveller? How many percent would be here to make a quick buck?

Our ica, law enforcement, Mom resoruces will be stretch. 

🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

Edited by Kopites

On 12/11/2023 at 10:43 AM, Kopites said:

Even Hk don't dare to open their border freely to China Chinese. One need a special pass to visit HK. 

You do the maths. How many percent would be legit traveller? How many percent would be here to make a quick buck?

🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

I don't have the maths. Maybe you can share your assumptions?  But we are pretty strict on immigration offences.

It is always a risk and reward assessment.

On 12/11/2023 at 10:31 AM, Kopites said:

On what ground to reject their re-entry into Singapore after a day trip to JB?

It is 30 days visa free entry.

Not 30 days per month, per year.....

i think the question was can they go JB say on day 29, then come back in reset another new 30 days again.

immigration cant be that dumb to allow that i think. cos tour groups could come here, include a short trip into JB, then back here again for flight home? should still count down as part of 30 days still.

On 12/11/2023 at 11:11 AM, Voodooman said:

I don't have the maths. Maybe you can share your assumptions?  But we are pretty strict on immigration offences.

It is always a risk and reward assessment.

On 12/11/2023 at 11:26 AM, Playtime said:

i think the question was can they go JB say on day 29, then come back in reset another new 30 days again.

immigration cant be that dumb to allow that i think. cos tour groups could come here, include a short trip into JB, then back here again for flight home? should still count down as part of 30 days still.

Is visa free entry. 

On 12/11/2023 at 11:26 AM, Playtime said:

Is visa free entry. Unless there are other stipulated conditions. Free entry per month or per year. What stop a person to re-enter of no visa is required?

On 12/11/2023 at 11:40 AM, Kopites said:

Is visa free entry. Unless there are other stipulated conditions. Free entry per month or per year. What stop a person to re-enter of no visa is required?

then can look forward to many many new FT MLs KTV hosteses etc coming in liao lor 🤨

Immigration officer will ask if he/she is vigilant.

Entry will be denied if suspicious of working here.

Don't think the details are out but what @kobayashigt is saying is visa free does not mean ICA can't deny entry.

On 12/11/2023 at 10:43 AM, Kopites said:

🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

Ah Wong first trip out only spread big big. Hopefully he doesn't do the same in India. We will be overwhelmed! 

On 12/11/2023 at 12:14 PM, inlinesix said:

Immigration officer will ask if he/she is vigilant.

Entry will be denied if suspicious of working here.

My understanding the proof of travel documents; airline return tickets should suffice. For land crossing used to be 5 days decade ago policy....subsequently reduced to 3 days for re-entey. Not sure of recent year though.   

On 12/11/2023 at 1:25 PM, Volvobrick said:

Ah Wong first trip out only spread big big. Hopefully he doesn't do the same in India. We will be overwhelmed! 

Correct me if I am wrong.

I reckon government do not has control over the numbers of incoming traveller traveling under the visa free scheme.  If so, it is frightening. A mere 0.1%of their population. 

Edited by Kopites

On 12/11/2023 at 2:46 PM, Kopites said:

My understanding the proof of travel documents; airline return tickets should suffice. For land crossing used to be 5 days decade ago policy....subsequently reduced to 3 days for re-entey. Not sure of recent year though.   

I guess you don't get the point.

Before 30 days is up, the traveller can go to JB and re-enter.  That will give the traveller another 30 days.

Doing it too many times will raise questions.  It is how the questions is being answered that will determined whether the person can enter Singapore or not.

On 12/11/2023 at 3:15 PM, inlinesix said:

I guess you don't get the point.

Before 30 days is up, the traveller can go to JB and re-enter.  That will give the traveller another 30 days.

Doing it too many times will raise questions.  It is how the questions is being answered that will determined whether the person can enter Singapore or not.

I understand your pov.

My pov is what sort of questions could deny a traveler from entering into a country with visa free scheme. 

Decade ago we used to show traveler cheques as proof of fund. Nowadays reductance. 

On 12/11/2023 at 2:52 PM, Kopites said:

Correct me if I am wrong.

I reckon government do not has control over the numbers of incoming traveller traveling under the visa free scheme.  If so, it is frightening. A mere 0.1%of their population

Jialat, 0.1% means 1.4m PRC visitors.

Then add another 1.5m Indians if Ah Wong is not to be seen as giving preference treatment.  Add the already visa free Indonesians (300m), Malaysians (30m), Australians (30m)... Mandai forest will be very crowded. 😂😂😂