tjyand 2nd Gear January 5, 2024 Share January 5, 2024 On 1/5/2024 at 10:57 AM, ccc888 said: Yap those with high parf + 150k COE export out and get new car not much lost actually. (VES neutral band bestest) They maybe able to recover parf and coe, but will still lose on the dealer margin and car omv when selling… ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fitmugen 5th Gear January 5, 2024 Share January 5, 2024 2nd hand car dealers going to be jialat for a few months at least. All the cars they buy at high 7 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ccc888 4th Gear January 5, 2024 Share January 5, 2024 On 1/5/2024 at 5:03 PM, tjyand said: They maybe able to recover parf and coe, but will still lose on the dealer margin and car omv when selling… COE drop from 150k to 85k=65k savings on new car might be able to cover…. Those kena 150k can do the maths whether to cut loss and move on anot….none of my biz whahaha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
thebestbees 2nd Gear January 5, 2024 Share January 5, 2024 On 1/5/2024 at 5:04 PM, Fitmugen said: 2nd hand car dealers going to be jialat for a few months at least. All the cars they buy at high Wonder what’s their next course of action, cut some losses now or just hold and wait ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic January 5, 2024 Share January 5, 2024 On 1/5/2024 at 5:04 PM, Fitmugen said: 2nd hand car dealers going to be jialat for a few months at least. All the cars they buy at high Cannot be so sure they are going to be jialat just because coe dropped a lot in yesterday bid, must see the next few rounds coe la. Maybe the few coe go up again. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freeder Hypersonic January 5, 2024 Share January 5, 2024 On 1/5/2024 at 5:04 PM, Fitmugen said: 2nd hand car dealers going to be jialat for a few months at least. All the cars they buy at high Hmmm.. sure boh? COE high or Low they will all jiak at paper value … AD lagi cleber as they got study type so use over -trade term to make those kan chiong buyer shiok .. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Brass 6th Gear January 5, 2024 Share January 5, 2024 (edited) On 1/5/2024 at 10:56 PM, Freeder said: Hmmm.. sure boh? COE high or Low they will all jiak at paper value … AD lagi cleber as they got study type so use over -trade term to make those kan chiong buyer shiok .. Apparently it isn't the case nowadays... I tried using Quotz, Motorist and one shift last July to sell a 04/15 Citroen C4 Cactus. Paper was 14k, Quotz gave me 16k but Motorist gave me 19k. Didn't accept the offer and eventually went for consignment where I sold it for 20k in August. Also, personnel at DFM told me back in 04/22 that I bidded $600 above the 2nd highest bid for the car (yes it was a lease vehicle from DFM). If this is for a Frenchie, what about a Toyota? Edited January 5, 2024 by Brass Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ccc888 4th Gear January 5, 2024 Share January 5, 2024 On 1/6/2024 at 5:16 AM, Brass said: Apparently it isn't the case nowadays... I tried using Quotz, Motorist and one shift last July to sell a 04/15 Citroen C4 Cactus. Paper was 14k, Quotz gave me 16k but Motorist gave me 19k. Didn't accept the offer and eventually went for consignment where I sold it for 20k in August. Also, personnel at DFM told me back in 04/22 that I bidded $600 above the 2nd highest bid for the car (yes it was a lease vehicle from DFM). If this is for a Frenchie, what about a Toyota? Sudden drop of COE affect fairly new less than 3yo 2nd hand cars the most. Can b almost dollar to dollar drop. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic January 5, 2024 Share January 5, 2024 On 1/6/2024 at 7:13 AM, ccc888 said: Sudden drop of COE affect fairly new less than 3yo 2nd hand cars the most. Can b almost dollar to dollar drop. It has always been like this. Same in 2005-2009, where the extra coe quotas dropped the coe prices and many of the 2000-2004 where scrapped early by 2006-2007. Same thing in 2016-2017, where 2012-2014 were scrapped. the story now repeats again. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scion Turbocharged January 5, 2024 Share January 5, 2024 On 1/4/2024 at 4:11 PM, Mkl22 said: maybe you too young then 2008/2009 recession saw the coe hit $3k yep, my friend managed to get his COE at $5k+ in 2009... became a legend among us, we still mentioned it once in a while when kopi together😁 1 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Huatster94 Neutral Newbie January 6, 2024 Share January 6, 2024 What would be the most affordable vehicle to get now? Looking at Suzuki swift at 113k. Anyone managed to get a discount off champion motors? TIA Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ccc888 4th Gear January 6, 2024 Share January 6, 2024 On 1/6/2024 at 8:40 AM, Huatster94 said: What would be the most affordable vehicle to get now? Looking at Suzuki swift at 113k. Anyone managed to get a discount off champion motors? TIA I saw MG ads from 118k lol 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ccc888 4th Gear January 6, 2024 Share January 6, 2024 On 1/6/2024 at 7:46 AM, Mkl22 said: It has always been like this. Same in 2005-2009, where the extra coe quotas dropped the coe prices and many of the 2000-2004 where scrapped early by 2006-2007. Same thing in 2016-2017, where 2012-2014 were scrapped. the story now repeats again. History don't exactly repeats but it rhymes haha We are seeing higher highs and higher lows 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ccc888 4th Gear January 6, 2024 Share January 6, 2024 On 1/6/2024 at 7:51 AM, Scion said: yep, my friend managed to get his COE at $5k+ in 2009... became a legend among us, we still mentioned it once in a while when kopi together😁 If nt wrong, got $1 (some lucky ones got handsome rebates) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
limpeh6969 3rd Gear January 6, 2024 Share January 6, 2024 On 1/6/2024 at 8:40 AM, Huatster94 said: What would be the most affordable vehicle to get now? Looking at Suzuki swift at 113k. Anyone managed to get a discount off champion motors? TIA wait a while longer. your desired swift will drop to 80k range soon 🙂 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic January 6, 2024 Share January 6, 2024 On 1/6/2024 at 11:05 AM, limpeh6969 said: wait a while longer. your desired swift will drop to 80k range soon 🙂 Zhun bo? I wait! 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
limpeh6969 3rd Gear January 6, 2024 Share January 6, 2024 On 1/6/2024 at 11:31 AM, Fcw75 said: Zhun bo? I wait! i predict coe will drop to 40k range this year 😎 4 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Huatster94 Neutral Newbie January 6, 2024 Share January 6, 2024 On 1/5/2024 at 10:44 PM, 13177 said: Cannot be so sure they are going to be jialat just because coe dropped a lot in yesterday bid, must see the next few rounds coe la. Maybe the few coe go up again. Seems like used car prices doesn’t really drop. Some of the used car depreciation is higher than new car ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...