Advice needed: 6 days in Perth with a two year old and farm stay in March?

therock

On 1/17/2024 at 3:28 PM, inlinesix said:

Which car Navi has real time traffic update?
Interest to know

bmw idrive have real time traffic update. even car breakdown can see...

On 3/17/2024 at 5:26 PM, therock said:

Does anyone know how to disable the auto start stop on a cx5 ?

super irritating 

Is it a button on the right lower side. The e loop button or what not. 

I can't remember if I disabled it the last time 

Thanks I’ll try tomorrow 

fyi the cx5 only has usb c ports so bring an adapter or use the cigarette port

BTW I’m glad they gave me the cx5 

It’s one of my potential cars

nice exterior and well built interior 

the steering and chassis are well weighted but if you’re taller, you won’t be able to see the HUD unless you somehow lower the seat 

rear legroom is now much better and definitely better than the Corolla cross 

the 2.5l is better than our 2.0 but I do miss the immediacy of a light pressure turbo 

visibility is good and it’s not too hard even for my MIL to climb into and the boot is generous even with six pieces of luggage and a cot 

Edited by therock

On 3/17/2024 at 8:44 PM, therock said:

Thanks I’ll try tomorrow 

the steering and chassis are well weighted but if you’re taller, you won’t be able to see the HUD unless you somehow lower the seat 

the 2.5l is better than our 2.0 but I do miss the immediacy of a light pressure turbo 

visibility is good and it’s not too hard even for my MIL to climb into and the boot is generous even with six pieces of luggage and a cot 

Thought it was quite cramped inside the cabin compared to other makes equivalent SUV size?

6 piece luggage = 24" size or smaller? If 6 x 24" that's quite impressive... if 6 x 28" that's even more amazing....

On 3/17/2024 at 6:29 PM, Lala81 said:

Is it a button on the right lower side. The e loop button or what not. 

I can't remember if I disabled it the last time 

Remember must press the button every time to disable stop-start each time you start the engine... it defaults back to on each time you turn off the engine... no way to permanently disable it...

On 3/17/2024 at 8:44 PM, therock said:

Thanks I’ll try tomorrow 

CX5 spacious? The Corolla Cross is a compact crossover (yaris cross is subcompact).
Whereas the CX5 is supposed to be a mid size crossover (but is actually more like a compact). How ridiculously bad is mazda at maximising cabin space?
Well out of these 3 cars, Rav4/CX5/CRV. The CX5 has the longest wheelbase but the least rear legroom by quite a margin.

My kids are comfortable in the back but their waterbottles hanging off the car hooks is in between their knees. And this is with myself having a much more upright seat compared to my usual driving position in a sedan. For myself, i sure won't want to seat in the backseat on a longer drive. 

I'm 1.8m and i can see the HUD just fine leh. 

Mazda is for singles/couples and some families where everyone is bit smaller size lah. Dunno how those bui bui americans fit in a mazda. 
Looks swee, best jap interior but really the cabin space is at best barely acceptable. 

On 3/18/2024 at 12:43 PM, teomingern said:

Thought it was quite cramped inside the cabin compared to other makes equivalent SUV size?

6 piece luggage = 24" size or smaller? If 6 x 24" that's quite impressive... if 6 x 28" that's even more amazing....

i dunno how he fit those unless it's mostly smaller luggages. i fit 2 x 28",  1 cabin and with me and the missus backpacksand 1 duffel bag, already up to blocking the rear windscreen pretty much to the max liao.

It's 522L storage space which is decent. But lower than say a tiguan/rav4/crv etc. 

On 3/18/2024 at 8:54 PM, therock said:

Bella Gina 

7139D50F-F4B9-4F80-939E-4170F6665F01.jpeg

IMG_1277.jpeg

Those eggs look a bit sad, no? As does the smoked salmon - a bit dry?

Edited by teomingern

On 3/18/2024 at 9:42 PM, Lala81 said:

i dunno how he fit those unless it's mostly smaller luggages. i fit 2 x 28",  1 cabin and with me and the missus backpacksand 1 duffel bag, already up to blocking the rear windscreen pretty much to the max liao.

It's 522L storage space which is decent. But lower than say a tiguan/rav4/crv etc. 

Yeah, I was pretty amazed that he could fit 6 pieces of luggage - I guess if it's what you mention, then it's also 6 pieces lar... cos luggage may not mean suitcases...

On 3/18/2024 at 9:37 PM, Lala81 said:

CX5 spacious? The Corolla Cross is a compact crossover (yaris cross is subcompact).
Whereas the CX5 is supposed to be a mid size crossover (but is actually more like a compact). How ridiculously bad is mazda at maximising cabin space?
Well out of these 3 cars, Rav4/CX5/CRV. The CX5 has the longest wheelbase but the least rear legroom by quite a margin.

My kids are comfortable in the back but their waterbottles hanging off the car hooks is in between their knees. And this is with myself having a much more upright seat compared to my usual driving position in a sedan. For myself, i sure won't want to seat in the backseat on a longer drive. 

I'm 1.8m and i can see the HUD just fine leh. 

Mazda is for singles/couples and some families where everyone is bit smaller size lah. Dunno how those bui bui americans fit in a mazda. 
Looks swee, best jap interior but really the cabin space is at best barely acceptable. 

Yeah... that was my feel as well... I guess the Americans just buy the largest CX-9 lor... and treat the CX-5 like a subcompact lor... hahaha...

On 3/19/2024 at 7:55 AM, teomingern said:

Yeah... that was my feel as well... I guess the Americans just buy the largest CX-9 lor... and treat the CX-5 like a subcompact lor... hahaha...

In US I think it is straight term as compact.

On 3/19/2024 at 9:06 AM, Tohto said:

In US I think it is straight term as compact.

I think depends on website... I usually read Car & Driver and they use 'compact' as a catch-all term... but Motortrend subdivides into 'sub-compact' and 'compact'... so I guess a lot depends on how these different review websites decide to categorize the cars they receive and review...