Hamburger Hypersonic November 16, 2023 Share November 16, 2023 Hence I always buy used car of less than 3 yrs with AD warranty still in tact. Easier to track mileage and in an event of issues, send in to AD for check and repair. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
t0y0ta Supercharged November 16, 2023 Share November 16, 2023 Friend just bought Vezel 7+ years old... mileage was 90k You think got discount? 😁 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
macrosszero Turbocharged November 16, 2023 Share November 16, 2023 Friend of mine sold his underutilised car to a dealer with low mileage for its age (3 years and 20k kms), even then the dealer saw fit to tweak the mileage further. It’s almost standard practice in the industry that you may as well assume the mileage is tweaked if you don’t get full service records. And some dealers actively throw away any maintenance records precisely because of this, and then go back to AD to do a simple oil change so there is just one precious official label “proving” the mileage is now “real”. 1 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged November 16, 2023 Share November 16, 2023 It should be made illegal. Can't believe this practice is still not outlawed in Singapore. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic November 16, 2023 Share November 16, 2023 On 11/16/2023 at 4:14 PM, Benarsenal said: It should be made illegal. Can't believe this practice is still not outlawed in Singapore. I don't think that it is legal. But ppl in the industry are NOT willing to testify in court. How to catch? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged November 16, 2023 Share November 16, 2023 On 11/16/2023 at 4:46 PM, inlinesix said: I don't think that it is legal. But ppl in the industry are NOT willing to testify in court. How to catch? There's no specific law in SG for tampering odometer by itself. It is covered under cheating if there is intention to sell, but that's a large and grey area that's hard to catch. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
macrosszero Turbocharged November 16, 2023 Share November 16, 2023 I was chatting with a friend who got out of the used car business in Ubi; he commented, everyone that comes here is looking for shiny cars with glossy tires, nicely maintained seats and body with no dents, and low mileage, so we give them what they want lor. If I try to sell my stock in their original condition with high mileage, I won’t sell any cars. The problem is uninformed consumers outnumber the smart ones… But where it comes to odometer tampering, it’s really just because the authorities don’t want to do anything about it. If they can take meticulous photos of a car’s undercarriage they can surely take a photo of its odometer, or record the odometer reading at the point of inspection. LTA by their inaction is condoning or at the very least allowing conditions for tweaking odometers and going unpunished. 11 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atonchia Supersonic November 16, 2023 Share November 16, 2023 My previous car bought from the Used card dealer who won Singaporean of the year. Unlikely have tampered odo right? 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
macrosszero Turbocharged November 16, 2023 Share November 16, 2023 On 11/16/2023 at 9:01 PM, Atonchia said: My previous car bought from the Used card dealer who won Singaporean of the year. Unlikely have tampered odo right? Should ask the question before forking over the cash Buy already, don’t think so much, just enjoy and fix the problems if and when they come 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atonchia Supersonic November 16, 2023 Share November 16, 2023 On 11/16/2023 at 9:13 PM, Macrosszero said: Should ask the question before forking over the cash Buy already, don’t think so much, just enjoy and fix the problems if and when they come Car already scrapped when reached 10yo. That's was more than 2 years ago. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Endure201 Clutched November 17, 2023 Share November 17, 2023 Sold 7 years old my car in May this year with a mileage of 121K KM, after few days car dealer put up for sales with a mileage of 80+K KM only. Don't ever trust 2nd car dealer on the mileage, i should say 99.99% are all tampered. 1 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic November 17, 2023 Share November 17, 2023 On 11/17/2023 at 8:15 AM, Endure201 said: Sold 7 years old my car in May this year with a mileage of 121K KM, after few days car dealer put up for sales with a mileage of 80+K KM only. Don't ever trust 2nd car dealer on the mileage, i should say 99.99% are all tampered. I owned a few used car. My family. Father bros etc all buy used car. I think add up easily 20+ used cars already. But not once did we even check if the mileage is real. I am not joking. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic November 17, 2023 Share November 17, 2023 On 11/15/2023 at 4:23 PM, Beregond said: There is another myth. A 1 owner car is better then a multi owner car Ask yourself if u are a new used car owner. Or u just brought a used car. What do u do. Most driver would spend 1-2 k or even more to touch up the used car they brought. So a multi owner car. Every time that car change hand. The new owner spend money touch up / repair Compare to a 1 owner car. Drive the car say 7 years. Know exactly all the damages. Keep dragging and dragging . Then sell that car. U buy it, u are the 2nd owner only. But all the haven't repair damages pass to u straight away. Except for 1 car, all my used cars are 1 owner and it has served me well. yes no doubt the 2nd or 3rd owner will do the repairs. However each time it changes hands the mechanics or owners can screw it up by hacking the writing loom or add unnecessary crap. I always like 100% 1 owner stock cars as I know it has not been meddled with. to me owned by many means f**ked by many! So 1 owner semi virgin cars are still appreciated by me. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic November 17, 2023 Share November 17, 2023 On 11/15/2023 at 4:23 PM, Beregond said: There is another myth. A 1 owner car is better then a multi owner car Ask yourself if u are a new used car owner. Or u just brought a used car. What do u do. Most driver would spend 1-2 k or even more to touch up the used car they brought. So a multi owner car. Every time that car change hand. The new owner spend money touch up / repair Compare to a 1 owner car. Drive the car say 7 years. Know exactly all the damages. Keep dragging and dragging . Then sell that car. U buy it, u are the 2nd owner only. But all the haven't repair damages pass to u straight away. Except for 1 car, all my used cars are 1 owner and it has served me well. yes no doubt the 2nd or 3rd owner will do the repairs. However each time it changes hands the mechanics or owners can screw it up by hacking the writing loom or add unnecessary crap. I always like 100% 1 owner stock cars as I know it has not been meddled with. to me owned by many means f**ked by many! So 1 owner semi virgin cars are still appreciated by me. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic November 17, 2023 Share November 17, 2023 On 11/17/2023 at 10:23 AM, Mkl22 said: Except for 1 car, all my used cars are 1 owner and it has served me well. yes no doubt the 2nd or 3rd owner will do the repairs. However each time it changes hands the mechanics or owners can screw it up by hacking the writing loom or add unnecessary crap. I always like 100% 1 owner stock cars as I know it has not been meddled with. to me owned by many means f**ked by many! So 1 owner semi virgin cars are still appreciated by me. Quite true also. I can only say luck and mindset is the key😆 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mits_jc 5th Gear November 19, 2023 Share November 19, 2023 Go to court and sue, win already so what? Car dealer don't pay, spend more money to sue further??Article from 2019 Another ST Forum article from 2020 "....To deal with this, Case has suggested that the authorities require that odometer readings be recorded and included as part of the vehicle transfer process to deter tampering." I can oso suggest we do away with CASE...toothless jiak liao bee tiger (mayb tiger too fierce to describe it..can call pussy instead) 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
zipping Supersonic November 19, 2023 Share November 19, 2023 We need to go 4 vehicle inspection every 1 or 2 yrs, very easi and simple to get them (vicom/sta/lta) to record mileage on odometer during inspection....but then again no political will to do it. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic November 20, 2023 Share November 20, 2023 LTA still monitoring closely. Wait ah… ↡ Advertisement 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...