Buying COE car from a direct owner question

mike9765

@Benarsenal how was the "market value" determined? Was it based off the average of the advertised prices on Sgcarmart?

On 11/14/2023 at 10:24 PM, Benarsenal said:

When I sold my (very) old Lancer some years ago, the buyer paid me $1k above market value, but below my asking price.

I just take lor.

On 11/14/2023 at 1:45 PM, Soya said:

TS neber say what car

If frenchie or some oddball COE car, offer a few bucks above paper 

If B&B, offer a bit below dealer 

If exotic, rare n desirable, suck thumb n careful not to drop the soap 

how would you advise offering for a COE conti car? Thanks

Is it fair that I tell the direct owners that I am willing to pay at the price point between their selling price and the price the dealers are taking in for? Because the selling price of all the 2nd hand cars are ridiculous following the current COE(I won't pay that price) and I know dealers take in the vehicle at the current market value of the car.

On 11/14/2023 at 11:58 PM, mike9765 said:

how would you advise offering for a COE conti car? Thanks

Depends on what conti car

If u looking for advice, why dun u share more info?

On 11/15/2023 at 7:12 AM, ER-3682 said:

I think T.S. is a Sec 4 Boy Holiday Project.

Assumptions will make an ass out of you - and this case exemplifies the adage. 

• Dislike 1

On 11/15/2023 at 7:08 AM, Soya said:

Depends on what conti car

If u looking for advice, why dun u share more info?

7 series. Any input on offering method? Thanks. 

On 11/15/2023 at 10:42 AM, mike9765 said:

7 series. Any input on offering method? Thanks. 

7 Series COE Car.?Mostly Endless Money Pits...

On 11/15/2023 at 11:11 AM, ER-3682 said:

7 Series COE Car.?Mostly Endless Money Pits...

COE summore.....these wound be the Bangled era......

On 11/15/2023 at 6:48 AM, 200sx said:

Is it fair that I tell the direct owners that I am willing to pay at the price point between their selling price and the price the dealers are taking in for? Because the selling price of all the 2nd hand cars are ridiculous following the current COE(I won't pay that price) and I know dealers take in the vehicle at the current market value of the car.

It depend on the type of car. I assume you are referring to daily driven ones. Think should be reasonable.

But right, the seller also want to take advantage of making a profit as well, hence it will ultimately depend on their desperation to let go of the car.

In my case, I sold my prev car close to dealer selling price.

On 11/15/2023 at 11:13 AM, ER-3682 said:

COE Mercedes Benz S-Class already Bad..BMW 7 Series worse.

wait TS lagi tulan and make another snide remark. alas good advice on deaf ears.... he needs to be burnt by COE 7series then can wake up. no one likes to hear bad news.

anyway if it is a coe 7 series, hence low ball time. the rich wont buy it and the market is very small. i would pay not more than 10-12k max a year.

Edited by Mkl22

On 11/15/2023 at 11:16 AM, Mkl22 said:

wait TS lagi tulan and make another snide remark. alas good advice on deaf ears.... he needs to be burnt by COE 7series then can wake up. no one likes to hear bad news.

image.png.74536210132bad6028da6180c8c31c46.png

On 11/15/2023 at 12:56 AM, mike9765 said:

@Benarsenal how was the "market value" determined? Was it based off the average of the advertised prices on Sgcarmart?

It was just a calculation based on depreciation. My that model not very common in SG le so there wasn't any reference to take note of.

On 11/15/2023 at 10:16 AM, Mkl22 said:

anyway if it is a coe 7 series, hence low ball time. the rich wont buy it and the market is very small. i would pay not more than 10-12k max a year.

No need to tulan, my friend's 7 series at 7 yo already keep dying out on him and he just KPKB only. 

Just keep some spare money

to change out all the worn out parts.

If you were selling you car

would you spend a lot to do up the whole car

for the next owner?

Well I am sure the seller wouldn't bother too!

On 11/15/2023 at 12:14 PM, Arogab said:

No need to tulan, my friend's 7 series at 7 yo already keep dying out on him and he just KPKB only. 

7 Years Old already Endless Money Pits,imagine over 10 Years old with over 100,000Km.?Good Luck.