kobayashiGT Internal Moderator November 6, 2023 Share November 6, 2023 Source: https://mothership.sg/2023/11/lorry-speed-limiters/ All lorries in Singapore — with a maximum laden weight (MLW) of between 3,501kg and 12,000kg — must soon be equipped with a speed limiter to ensure that they do not exceed the 60km per hour speed limit. To reduce fatalities & injuries The Traffic Police (TP) said in a statement on Nov. 3, 2023, that lorry owners can start installing the devices in 2024 and will be given up to three years to do so, depending on the MLW and registration date of the vehicle. As of now, it is compulsory for goods vehicles with an MLW exceeding 12,000kg to have a speed limiter installed. The speed limiter complements other measures intended to reduce fatalities and injuries among all road users, the TP said. Timeline For lorries registered before 2018, a speed limiter must be installed before 2026 if their MLW is between 5,001kg and 12,000kg. For those with an MLW of between 3,501kg and 5,000kg, it must be completed before July 2026 Newer lorries registered from 2018 will have to install the device before 2027 if the MLW of their vehicle is between 5,001kg and 12,000kg, and before July 2027 if the MLW is between 3,501kg and 5,000kg. Speed limiters will also be required for imported lorries to be approved for use from 2026. During the vehicle’s pre-registration, relevant documentation should be submitted to the Land Transport Authority. The laws against tampering speed limiters, non-compliant speed limiters and unauthorised speed limiters will be reviewed, TP said. Companies will have to apply to be an authorised agent online by Nov. 30 to supply, install, rectify, or perform inspections on speed limiters for lorries. A list of authorised companies will be put up on the police website by Dec. 31, 2023. Companies that are currently authorised to install speed limiters in other vehicles are also required to apply for an authorisation certificate. Opt for electronic speed limiter The TP is urging lorry owners to install an electronic control unit-based speed limiter, which is newer and likely to be less expensive. But not all lorries are compatible with electronic control unit-based speed limiters. Owners should consult the device installation companies. The alternative is the mechanical speed limiter. Agents authorised by TP will conduct a compliance check after installation to ensure the speed limiter is functioning properly. ↡ Advertisement 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic November 6, 2023 Share November 6, 2023 70 ones can chiong as they like? 🤔 It's not the load...it's always the speed...😅 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Inlinefour Twincharged November 6, 2023 Share November 6, 2023 boleh vehicles still flying around sillypore together with blursg and getgone 4 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic November 6, 2023 Share November 6, 2023 On 11/6/2023 at 9:31 AM, mersaylee said: 70 ones can chiong as they like? 🤔 It's not the load...it's always the speed...😅 Increase in cargo load will increase stopping distance. That's the problem. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ct3833 Supersonic November 6, 2023 Share November 6, 2023 Be it trucks, small vans etc, any penalties when they exceed the speed limit ? I still see commercial vehicles being driven lat hugh speed like nobody business. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic November 6, 2023 Share November 6, 2023 Everything has its pros and cons. If your delivery or service is using lorry and is slow or late you know why. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic November 6, 2023 Share November 6, 2023 On 11/6/2023 at 11:08 AM, Ct3833 said: Be it trucks, small vans etc, any penalties when they exceed the speed limit ? I still see commercial vehicles being driven lat hugh speed like nobody business. I drove from Kitchener road to Tuas South following legal speed of 70km/h. It will take me 45mins to arrive. I almost fall asleep everytime i drive office van. 1 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic November 6, 2023 Share November 6, 2023 Dun be too happy. Maybe in a year or 2. New law come out. All cars need to be installed with speed limiter 90km/hrs😅 1 2 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic November 6, 2023 Share November 6, 2023 On 11/6/2023 at 2:45 PM, Beregond said: Dun be too happy. Maybe in a year or 2. New law come out. All cars need to be installed with speed limiter 90km/hrs😅 my almost 9 year old car is damn noisy once past 90-95kph. So actually I've been living with this for 1+ year already. 2 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged November 6, 2023 Share November 6, 2023 On 11/6/2023 at 2:45 PM, Beregond said: Dun be too happy. Maybe in a year or 2. New law come out. All cars need to be installed with speed limiter 90km/hrs😅 NOwadays with so many cars on the roads even during working hours sometimes (says a lot about productivity post-covid), it is rare to get the chance to travel at 90 km/h on our expressways. 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic November 6, 2023 Share November 6, 2023 On 11/6/2023 at 6:14 PM, Sosaria said: NOwadays with so many cars on the roads even during working hours sometimes (says a lot about productivity post-covid), it is rare to get the chance to travel at 90 km/h on our expressways. Can la. But engine must have snail. No snail no talk 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic November 6, 2023 Share November 6, 2023 On 11/6/2023 at 6:14 PM, Sosaria said: NOwadays with so many cars on the roads even during working hours sometimes (says a lot about productivity post-covid), it is rare to get the chance to travel at 90 km/h on our expressways. yes. but do u want your car to be fitted with such device??😂 I raise my hand, i dun want😐 BTW, does cyclist want to be fitted with a device, they can cycle max 20km/h only??😆 Yes, i raise both hand 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic November 6, 2023 Share November 6, 2023 On 11/6/2023 at 6:27 PM, Beregond said: yes. but do u want your car to be fitted with such device??😂 I raise my hand, i dun want😐 BTW, does cyclist want to be fitted with a device, they can cycle max 20km/h only??😆 Yes, i raise both hand Cyclist max speed limit is 70km/h. That's the speed at most viaduct. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic November 6, 2023 Share November 6, 2023 On 11/6/2023 at 2:24 PM, inlinesix said: I drove from Kitchener road to Tuas South following legal speed of 70km/h. It will take me 45mins to arrive. I almost fall asleep everytime i drive office van. Don't think any commercial vehicle drive at 70km/h lo. You see so many of them drive at least 80km/h or more. Nowadays can see so many vans drive on lane 1 on expressway. 😅 4 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic November 6, 2023 Share November 6, 2023 On 11/6/2023 at 3:39 PM, Lala81 said: my almost 9 year old car is damn noisy once past 90-95kph. So actually I've been living with this for 1+ year already. You never go check what is the problem causing it? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic November 6, 2023 Share November 6, 2023 On 11/6/2023 at 9:34 PM, 13177 said: Don't think any commercial vehicle drive at 70km/h lo. You see so many of them drive at least 80km/h or more. Nowadays can see so many vans drive on lane 1 on expressway. 😅 actually if u go tuas everyday, u will notice, those monster truck limit really is 60km/hrs (10 wheels) those small 1 (6 wheels or 4 wheels got no limit) 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic November 6, 2023 Share November 6, 2023 On 11/6/2023 at 9:34 PM, 13177 said: Don't think any commercial vehicle drive at 70km/h lo. You see so many of them drive at least 80km/h or more. Nowadays can see so many vans drive on lane 1 on expressway. 😅 I have to drive btw 70 and 80. Otherwise I will fall asleep especially when I am alone 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic November 6, 2023 Share November 6, 2023 On 11/6/2023 at 10:33 PM, yishunite said: Nowadays hard to overtake van leh 😅 Totally agreed. They even tailgate cars siah. 😅 Either those cars drive too slow liao or these vans drive too fast. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...