COE Bidding - November 2023

Carbon82

On 11/8/2023 at 5:02 PM, Alfc said:

For dealers or PHV companies, if they have not registered a car with the previous COE, they can just let it lapse and forgo the $10k deposit. If my facts are right, they can easily bid it up with controlled downside risk for them.

You are correct! Thanks for poiting that out. So those guys will  lose 10k . 

relax guys, Cat B dropped 40k but still 110k. not say low also.

only those who just bid the last 2 bidding losing $$ but most are not car owner. i think they should be those companies with blue labels one.

On 11/8/2023 at 4:01 PM, 13177 said:

OMG, coe has dropped a lot across all categories siah!

Cat A: $95k (dropped around $11k)

Cat B: $110K (dropped around $40k)

I wonder if this is proof that coe can be manipulated?  Just after parliament speech by CHT this happens

On 11/8/2023 at 5:33 PM, Arogab said:

Wah lao, one time only, dealers also never reduce the total car price. Mai siao 

Maybe it will plunge again? Remember petrol prices?  It was well over $3 then a speech and then suddenly it dropped?

On 11/8/2023 at 5:31 PM, Ct3833 said:

You are correct! Thanks for poiting that out. So those guys will  lose 10k . 

If this turns out to be so, wonder if the findings or consequences can be made public (how many and who are the ones doing it (forfeit lapse COE). Will be interesting to see and potential follow up on likely or unlikely culprits who run up COE

On 11/8/2023 at 4:40 PM, Philipkee said:

Maybe it will plunge again? Remember petrol prices?  It was well over $3 then a speech and then suddenly it dropped?

Just look at the total bids minus the quota. In the coming month, car dealers will need to find that much sales in theory. In fact is by the next bid. 

However, they may have some orders on hand that they reserve of 3 bids. But I am assuming when it drops following the supply and demand theory. Orders on hand must be reducing 😂

Simple, when my factory is full in capacity, I don't reduce price and also I choose the best profits. But if today's situation, when I got spare capacity, I also go around look for customers and quote lower. Haha. 

I don't take the idea for just one time drop lah. I still think G also smart, when price is high, they throw in number to collect more. When price goes low, they squeeze numbers to make it high. KNN, I just tell you one thing I am not happy with zero growth. we pay these guys millions and they say the road building tanks and the is zero growth? Just my 2 cents worth. Even I can afford $100k COE, I don't buy shit

Those who booked their Cat B with specific nunber of bids,  especially for those who got their coe this round, will not get any  or little rebates from their dealers depite cat B has dropped by 40k. 

On 11/8/2023 at 5:52 PM, Ct3833 said:

Those who booked their Cat B with specific nunber of bids,  especially for those who got their coe this round, will not get any  or little rebates from their dealers depite cat B has dropped by 40k. 

Don't complain.

COE come down one time, one time and we car dealers make a bit of money.

COE when up so many times we loss money no one say anything.

Edited by Jamesc

On 11/8/2023 at 5:39 PM, Philipkee said:

I wonder if this is proof that coe can be manipulated?  Just after parliament speech by CHT this happens

Of course it can be manipulated. Supply is dictated by Govt.

Tink the fleet buyers lie low for now scare gahmen really clamp down on their fake PHV aka 100% loan scam

How can u say manipulation?? in Stocks we used to bluff newbies there's more seller than buyer then price come down.. so call market forces! whahahahahahaha..

mmmmm in life many things/result can be altered lah.. some more CLOSED bidding system wor...

got auditor/audit? Ops i forget most time own self check own self.. 😁

I believe coe can be manipulated. 😅

On 11/8/2023 at 4:44 PM, Freeder said:

Wondering what’s the new price now for Lexus RX350H ?

Last week price was ard $368k😅..

For sure it will not drop by 40k 

On 11/8/2023 at 4:17 PM, Mkl22 said:

Looks like many will let the previous month coe lapse 

Those who booked through ADs may have to have their booking fees forfeited in addition to leaving the 10k coe deposite  lapsed.

It is not in AD's interest to help their customers secure another lower COE, their interest is to put cars on the road asap. Will be interesting to see how many dispute cases to be surfaced soon. One way would be to bid low next round, if can get coe, drop the expensive one.