COE Bidding - November 2023

Carbon82

Your salary is 20k but your nice boss gives you an advance of 20k

so this month you have 40k to spend happy as puck.

Next month no salary!

On 11/9/2023 at 8:25 AM, Throttle2 said:

End of the day.  The car is the car, the coe is something else. 

and the problem we hv is also we are not doing buyer bidding.  We are still doing dealer bidding.   

And their mark up includes COE, ARF, Excise tax every damn thing. 

Guys don't you think the  announcement of traffic police,  accruing the polestar to its line up , is it just co- incidental with the sudden COE drop??

Especially Cat B  which is the same category , may be who knows ! 

Edited by Vinil

On 11/9/2023 at 3:14 PM, Vinil said:

Guys don't you think the  announcement of traffic police,  accruing the polestar to its line up , is it just co- incidental with the sudden COE drop??

Especially Cat B  which is the same category , may be who knows ! 

Police car need COE meh? even so left right pocket.. 

On 11/9/2023 at 12:25 PM, shinkong said:

agreed this is a turning point that has been brought forward.  it should accelerate a domino effect - as more quota is brought forward and lowering the COE, more cars (between 6-<10 years) will enticed to scrap earlier -> and hence giving back more quota..... <if you know what i mean>.  this should go on until it hits a peak (could be around 2026), which by then government will start to claw back.  in summary, could be best period to change new rides between 2024-2026.  just my thoughts.

I see it differently. They are currently only clawing back those 5year ones. They might take a small percentage of the 10year coe but who knows, they can do what they want. No one to audit on the end also. so the effect might be limited. 

If you look at the car population in term of age. 5-8year old cars are the bumper crop of 80k units a year. 

On 11/9/2023 at 3:24 PM, Ody_2004 said:

Police car need COE meh? even so left right pocket.. 

haha. No need la. Must be a school holiday question. 

On 11/9/2023 at 3:45 PM, Vinil said:

@boonhat_91 they are not buying 1 car it is around 20 cars 

i totally agree with you.. 

The SPF wanna save 40k for 20 cars while they make sure the remaining 596 enjoy the same discount too.

On 11/9/2023 at 3:41 PM, Mkl22 said:

I see it differently. They are currently only clawing back those 5year ones. They might take a small percentage of the 10year coe but who knows, they can do what they want. No one to audit on the end also. so the effect might be limited. 

If you look at the car population in term of age. 5-8year old cars are the bumper crop of 80k units a year. 

I thought there are clawing additional from the bumper years, this is in additional to the 5-year expiry of the extended COEs...

this big drop is like a black swan in stock market loll

but then, COE at a ridiculous 150k level, people still want to bid

they will need to accept the big losses in the end lor

just like FOMO and extreme overbought levels in stock market, u want to buy, u prepare for any big pullbacks or corrections

On 11/9/2023 at 5:45 PM, Scion said:

this big drop is like a black swan in stock market loll

but then, COE at a ridiculous 150k level, people still want to bid

they will need to accept the big losses in the end lor

just like FOMO and extreme overbought levels in stock market, u want to buy, u prepare for any big pullbacks or corrections

small change for the ultra rich.....:grin:

next is property....what goes up must come down hor.....cannot everyday sunday hor 

Edited by Spidey10

Why people keep saying car dealers make a lot of money?

Bankers don't make a lot of money? 

Doctors don't make a lot of money? 

Pilots don't make a lot of money? 

Ministers don't make a lot of money? 

Lawyers don't make a lot of money? 

Unless people mean all the above earn their money

and car dealers don't deserve the money they make?

On 11/9/2023 at 3:47 PM, Vinil said:

@Ody_2004 yes all vehicle, except public busses , school buses and emergency vehicles 

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/transport/traffic-police-to-add-electric-polestar-2-to-highway-patrol-fleet-in-2024

The cars are tax-free and do not require certificates of entitlement.