Davidklt Supercharged October 30, 2023 Share October 30, 2023 This may be nostalgic for many people. Tomorrow is actually the last day of operation for Toa Payoh Swimming Pool and Stadium. They would make way for an integrated sports hub. For me, I took my pre NS IPPT there many moons ago. Today, I did a short run round its track. A senior told me to take a photo of her with the track as the backdrop. I then asked her what the stadium meant to her. She told me that she participated and represented Singapore in running at this very venue in 1980. She is 67 and still run. Her best friend who was with her was also a caretaker for the stadium. Here are some photos. ↡ Advertisement 20 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic October 30, 2023 Share October 30, 2023 Went there once for pre-NS IPPT once. Can only do 1 pullup -> PTP lol 7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Davidklt Supercharged October 30, 2023 Author Share October 30, 2023 (edited) On 10/30/2023 at 8:29 PM, Lala81 said: Went there once for pre-NS IPPT once. Can only do 1 pullup -> PTP lol I was super happy cos I passed my IPPT and skipped PTP. Which is 2 months of freedom ! This meant a lot to a pre-enlistee. Edited October 30, 2023 by Davidklt 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic October 30, 2023 Share October 30, 2023 (edited) On 10/30/2023 at 8:31 PM, Davidklt said: I was super happy cos I passed my IPPT and skipped PTP. Which is 2 months of freedom ! This meany a lot to a pre enlistee. i barely passed IPPT SBJ at the last part of BMT even with PTP. So 2 months of PTP vs BMT recourse, still ok bah. Some of my PTP sectionmates had to do recourse. Edited October 30, 2023 by Lala81 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Inlinefour Twincharged October 30, 2023 Share October 30, 2023 On 10/30/2023 at 8:29 PM, Lala81 said: Went there once for pre-NS IPPT once. Can only do 1 pullup -> PTP lol me did at cmpb early 90s with @Carbon82 everything failed still throw into hendon 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic October 30, 2023 Share October 30, 2023 (edited) Another place with long history going to tear down soon. Looks like sg very soon left no more old building liao. Like over the weekends went to Tanglin Halt look see, discovered that the hawker centre, shop houses and the open carpark already gone. Soon those HDB flats will be gone soon. Anyway, hopefully the new sports hub will be useful, better and beneficial for people. Pray that they would not build another Singapore Sports Hub which ended up quite useless. Edited October 30, 2023 by 13177 4 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic October 30, 2023 Share October 30, 2023 On 10/30/2023 at 8:29 PM, Lala81 said: Went there once for pre-NS IPPT once. Can only do 1 pullup -> PTP lol Don't remember where i did my pre-NS IPPT, but i can remember very clearly that i do zero pullup, ---> PTP also. 😅 Even though i passed all others station. 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Davidklt Supercharged October 30, 2023 Author Share October 30, 2023 On 10/30/2023 at 8:54 PM, 13177 said: Another place with long history going to tear down soon. Looks like sg very soon left no more old building liao. Like over the weekends went to Tanglin Halt look see, discovered that the hawker centre, shop houses and the open carpark already gone. Soon those HDB flats will be gone soon. Anyway, hopefully the new sports hub will be useful, better and beneficial for people. Pray that they would not build another Singapore Sports Hub which ended up quite useless. This was what I was discussing with my friend a few days ago over coffee. Very hard to find old school stuff in Singapore nowadays. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged October 30, 2023 Share October 30, 2023 Iconic. They filmed the Flying Fish drama there also IIRC, all those many years ago. On 10/30/2023 at 9:06 PM, Davidklt said: This was what I was discussing with my friend a few days ago over coffee. Very hard to find old school stuff in Singapore nowadays. Indeed. Many of the old places that we grew up with are now mostly gone. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Davidklt Supercharged October 30, 2023 Author Share October 30, 2023 On 10/30/2023 at 9:13 PM, Benarsenal said: Iconic. They filmed the Flying Fish drama there also IIRC, all those many years ago. Indeed. Many of the old places that we grew up with are now mostly gone. Yes ! At the swimming pool. Was SBC’s first 偶像剧? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged October 30, 2023 Share October 30, 2023 Facility still good, functional and has historical value. Why tear down when it's already as integrated as it can be? Gym, track and pool and park in the same location. GDP generation. 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic October 30, 2023 Share October 30, 2023 On 10/30/2023 at 9:50 PM, Sosaria said: Facility still good, functional and has historical value. Why tear down when it's already as integrated as it can be? Gym, track and pool and park in the same location. GDP generation. Abuden? 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged October 30, 2023 Share October 30, 2023 On 10/30/2023 at 10:59 PM, Volvobrick said: Abuden? Nowadays the idea and focus of "integrated" is actually to add a lot of retail and F&B space to generate rental revenue. Like the tampines hub. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Loki Supersonic October 30, 2023 Share October 30, 2023 On 10/30/2023 at 11:14 PM, Sosaria said: Nowadays the idea and focus of "integrated" is actually to add a lot of retail and F&B space to generate rental revenue. Like the tampines hub. I think they are also moving the library and polyclinic to the same area 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic October 30, 2023 Share October 30, 2023 It's an old town with mostly aging demographic...has much needed tlc to lure youngsters back at this prime location... At least garment spend good money on useable infra than feed more jlb... Ten penis hub is a success...try mimick with pg satu but...sexpensive makan and parking...😂 This new one at tpy should be popular given its locationality...it's central not within the town itself but overall on the tiny red dot...😁 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic October 30, 2023 Share October 30, 2023 I actually missed the Singapore Pool 4-D counter there. Parking was just in front and run in to buy 4-D, as always no queue from 3.00 pm to 4.30 pm. All in within 10 minutes, come out of car park, free parking. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic October 30, 2023 Share October 30, 2023 On 10/31/2023 at 6:52 AM, Picnic06-Biante15 said: I actually missed the Singapore Pool 4-D counter there. Parking was just in front and run in to buy 4-D, as always no queue from 3.00 pm to 4.30 pm. All in within 10 minutes, come out of car park, free parking. You very sporty hor...run in and out...your shuttle run timing must be very the good 😁 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Playtime Twincharged October 30, 2023 Share October 30, 2023 Many many maannnyyyyyy years back. There was a meesiam store at there swimming pool. Best childhood memories. After swim, eat meesiam 😌 nostalgia makes things better I guess. ↡ Advertisement 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...