Penang food trip

MysticCipher88

Planning a trip up to penang and i am so spoilt for the food choices.

What are the top 3 stalls must eat?

(just the char kway tiao alone i found 8-10 stalls already.. so confusing 😅)

On 10/25/2023 at 2:06 PM, MysticCipher88 said:

@MysticCipher88 

Just came back after 1 week in Penang. Too many good food in GeorgeTown alone.

Let me give a few..........For breakfast or lunch, 

1.  Char Kway Tiao and other noodles at Jenny Cafe, Address: 3C, Jalan Sungai Emas, Kawasan Perumahan Sungai Emas, 11100 Batu Ferringhi, Pulau Pinang, Malaysia

2. Tai Thong Dim Sum at Address: 45, Lebuh Cintra, George Town, 10100 George Town, Pulau Pinang, Malaysia

3. Ferringhi Coffee Garden

Address: 43d, Jalan Batu Ferringhi, Kampung Batu Feringgi, 11100 Batu Ferringhi, Pulau Pinang, Malaysia

For dinner, can try 外婆家的味道 at Address: 141, Jln Lembah Permai, 11200 Tanjung Bungah, Pulau Pinang, Malaysia

or the night market near Address: 9A, Lorong Kinta, 10400 George Town, Pulau Pinang, Malaysia

On 10/25/2023 at 2:06 PM, MysticCipher88 said:

if you wish to try dishes that are unique to Penang (even within Msia)

penang prawn noodle (soup type)

penang white curry noodle

CKT as u already searched.

char koay kak

durian (different from johor and pahang durian)

as for specific stalls, it's tough to recommend as it's very subjective. And the locals won't eat at most of the tourist places. 

Georgetown is tourist-centric and it's easy to find everything there, although the durian sold there is marked up quite a bit for tourists. If you have a car, you can explore the rest of the island for more local fare.

On 10/26/2023 at 7:44 PM, Tohto said:

Check out this Penang food  Youtuber , eating all type of Penang street food. Many not visit by tourist.

Mainly eat by the local.

https://youtube.com/@lmfoodchannel?si=5PmoTU_y2_EL5cPB

@Tohto 

Yup correct. I been to this area as well. super jam in the morning 8am to 11am. 

It's basically area around Tai Thong Dim Sum at Address: 45, Lebuh Cintra, George Town, 10100 George Town, Pulau Pinang, Malaysia. 

Whole area full of good food. 

For Penang traditional Prawn Noodle in soup, can try the below. Mainly eat by local

Beng Hokkien Mee - Harbor View Park, Pengkalan Weld, George Town, 10300 George Town, Pulau Pinang

118518846_3201875066515796_7637798744783810535_n - Copy.jpg

pulau tikus morning market

CKT: Ah Leng, Siam Road, 7th street barefoot CKT during lunch

Char Kway Kak, similar to our cai tow kway but different

Something different: Halab

Try their. lor mee and lor bak

Hokkien Mee: heavenly. 90% of the stalls are above good

Nasi Kandar... good but also quite ex... esp when order giant squid and mutton

there is a lot of cafes popping up as well, esp bayan lepas and queensbay area

ATAs one try  mcallestier mansion,  blue / green mansion

ok, i go penang at least 4x a yr for work 😜

On 10/26/2023 at 8:54 PM, Mahjong74 said:

@Tohto 

Yup correct. I been to this area as well. super jam in the morning 8am to 11am. 

It's basically area around Tai Thong Dim Sum at Address: 45, Lebuh Cintra, George Town, 10100 George Town, Pulau Pinang, Malaysia. 

Whole area full of good food. 

For Penang traditional Prawn Noodle in soup, can try the below. Mainly eat by local

Beng Hokkien Mee - Harbor View Park, Pengkalan Weld, George Town, 10300 George Town, Pulau Pinang

118518846_3201875066515796_7637798744783810535_n - Copy.jpg

How is the traffic jam in Penang these days? 

Going up next month but the jam is worrying, last time it took me almost 2 hours to get from Batu Ferringhi to Lek Kok Si. Crazy jam everywhere. 

On 10/27/2023 at 8:37 AM, Voodooman said:

Going up next month but the jam is worrying, last time it took me almost 2 hours to get from Batu Ferringhi to Lek Kok Si. Crazy jam everywhere. 

Was there last month, traffic is quite bad.

Rented a car from the airport and just drive everywhere.

Queensbay mall is probably the biggest mall there me think. 

The traffic become so bad now? I know the traffic in penang quite jam but I don’t remember i got jam for 2 hours to get from one place to another, even though i was there for many times liao.

@Voodooman 

Same traffic jam around Geroge Town area but if possible, avoid going thru George town during peak hours. 

I stayed in Batu Ferringhi area last month. Took me 1 hour to drive from Batu Ferringhi to Lek Kok Si at around 3pm. 

i usually get a hotel in Georgetown, park in the carpark and walk around for makan.

drive out only when going Balik Pulau/Ayer Itam.

traffic is heavy even when leaving Penang for mainland at 7am (weekday)