COE premiums continue rising; higher Nov-Jan quota unlikely to cool car demand, say dealers

kobayashiGT

On 11/1/2023 at 11:48 AM, Benarsenal said:

I don't buy this argument. Hard work alone in today's world doesn't cut it. Last time taxi driver or hawker can work hard and earn a decent living, nowadays no matter how hard they work they also struggle.

In today's world it's about being smart and moving in the right direction. But when the odds are stacked against you such that even if you do that and you get nowhere, then you have to question the underlying motives behind putting these things out of reach.

Why do you think the government wants to put things out of reach for people and make their lives miserable , and in the process lose their vote ? Just curious. 

On 11/1/2023 at 12:23 PM, Ingenius said:

Why do you think the government wants to put things out of reach for people and make their lives miserable , and in the process lose their vote ? Just curious. 

To assert power. They know they can get away with it. Especially when they can so easily replace 'us' with foreigners.

On 11/1/2023 at 12:52 PM, Benarsenal said:

To assert power. They know they can get away with it. Especially when they can so easily replace 'us' with foreigners.

I see, so they want to assert power over the people, I will dwell over that, thanks for sharing.

Edited by Ingenius

On 11/1/2023 at 1:17 AM, 107fan said:

When material needs likes cars and high quality housing (which are still rather fundamental material needs) are priced upwards, it may simply instill a stronger drive in the next generation. I am seeing this as a positive effect.

I get what the current messaging is trying to do, and it does leave a bad taste if it is just telling next generation to be content with being mediocre. Except that I don't think it's all that.

These are not material goals that are beyond mortals' reach, it just means that the next generation gotta work even harder that's all. Each generation works harder than its predecessor, that is a fact. No, you can't buy a landed for $15,000 like your grandparents did.

With the new luxury car tax, you have to work even harder to afford your 7 series or exotic cars, which is an even higher and exclusive tier beyond just working hard to earn that 150k Cat A COE. That's a tier deliberately designed to be a high hurdle to climb, there is no room for the average joe to expect it to be his or her human right to earn that, sorry to be blunt. Of course, there is no fair reason for this policy other than the fact that it will generate a shit ton of money for the government for luxury cars.

Weak argument. Many here are talking about bread butter issues.  Let's not bring in what's luxury. Leave it on another topic on "What motivates one to drive that bmw or merc."

Edited by Unfazed

On 11/1/2023 at 12:23 PM, Ingenius said:

For you to tell us but not for us to oblige to reply. You fit better in pure political threads and we will let you know when the time comes.

On 11/1/2023 at 12:52 PM, Benarsenal said:

Time and again, you know who's been proven to be a moron ya?

On 10/29/2023 at 10:35 PM, Scion said:

there's quite a chance Singapore (and the world) will fall into recession next year

they may call for a election because usually during recessions, people tend to vote for a stable govt

Not really true also leh. Last round LHL called for an election during Covid and lost Seng Kang GRC. 

So doesn't mean we have an impending crisis, it will automatically play to PAP's advantage 😅

On 10/30/2023 at 10:15 AM, Voodooman said:

I actually don't see full fledged electronics road pricing by distance traveled happening in the next 5 years at least. 

They might start with all the ECP, AYE, PIE, KJE, TPE, etc to replace gantries but island wide will take time as it will be a total revamp. Political hot potatoes.  

https://www.todayonline.com/singapore/explainer-why-distance-based-road-pricing-unlikely-anytime-soon-2289551

Actually when they say distance based pricing unlikely anytime soon, I'm scared. They always throw some test balloons to gauge public sentiments first and more often than not, they already have it ready 😆

On 11/1/2023 at 6:18 PM, Lethalstrike said:

Actually when they say distance based pricing unlikely anytime soon, I'm scared. They always throw some test balloons to gauge public sentiments first and more often than not, they already have it ready 😆

To me that’s a test baloon aldy

rem GST?

On 11/1/2023 at 7:56 PM, RadX said:

To me that’s a test baloon aldy

rem GST?

aiyoh certain things they monitor very long one.. but when come to MONEY implement first then say..

wah.. wrong ahhh... nevermind.. increase price to fix it.. KNN WRONG again increase more! whahahahahahahaha..

On 11/1/2023 at 6:18 PM, Lethalstrike said:

Knowing our technocrats, they will be testing out the workability /reliability of ERP 2.0 in our highly built up CBD area once system is fully rolled out in next 1-2 years.  

ERP2.0 is not a totally new concept. We already have some form of congestion based road pricing, our G is good at boiling frogs. 

We will know in a few years. 

On 10/30/2023 at 11:50 AM, Ginyu said:

If it does then many will jump off the building lor. They bought it at high price. Just imagine the value of their property will be less than the outstanding mortgage loan, jumping off is one of the options🤣

where is Thanos and his snap!!! :grin:

On 11/3/2023 at 6:23 PM, Jasonbwy said:

IMG_1825.png

They are not identifying the true issue, keep dumping COEs will bring down prices meh? Will only earn more money for MIW imo. 

Finally, there will be 205 – or 22.2 per cent – more COEs for commercial vehicles, taking the total available quota for November to January to 1,129. LTA did not explain how it is able to add these extra COEs to the pool.

magically appear. Later will have some cock and bull about error in overcompensating. Say the early projection of the 5year dereg was not reflective and need to add more.