RH1667 Hypersonic May 31, 2024 Share May 31, 2024 Wanton noodle few days back from Toa Payoh Lor 4 HC, next to the steam fish stall. This $6 because add char siew and mushroom. ↡ Advertisement 10 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic May 31, 2024 Share May 31, 2024 (edited) So let’s eat!! Edited May 31, 2024 by Fcw75 13 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic May 31, 2024 Share May 31, 2024 Dinner. 😂 8 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heartlander Turbocharged May 31, 2024 Share May 31, 2024 Those who live in Bedok South would most likely know about the famous BCM stall in Blk 58 market. Unfortunately it closed down 1 to 2 year back but subsequently revived to operate in a kopitiam nearby called Kopi Kia. Heard that the stall owner used to work in the famous stall and is not a descendant from the original Chai Chee hawker who popularised the dish. Finally got time to try it in a morning few days ago when the stall just started operating for the day. Found it to be flavourful with chunky meaty wantons. But somehow I still prefer the version at the usual Eunos kopitiam, think is more fragrant while this Bedok South version is definitely more oily. Overall still nice though. One thing noteworthy is that the kopi-C sold at this kopitiam is only $1.40, while all other kopitiams nearby all selling at $1.60. Taste is not the best but quite nice already. 10 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heartlander Turbocharged May 31, 2024 Share May 31, 2024 Since my recent work trip to London, I have been obsessed with fish and chip, but not the usual dory fish type but those with better fish such as halibut and haddock. This evening was at Arnold's for dinner and actually happily ordered the favourite half spring chicken when glanced that they actually serve fish and chip also. Out of curiosity I asked for the type of fish they used, and hoki is it. Been tempted enough to ask to change the order which is not my usual self haha. Luckily never regretted the choice. Despite the meat being thinner than what I preferred, it is flavourful and did not have any fishy smell at all. Though not many would order it as their fried chicken is definitely the main draw, but I would still highly recommend it if you are not that hungry and want to eat something healthier but still want it fried haha. The potato chips are also definitely chunkier than most places and personally taste better than Maxxx. 10 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic May 31, 2024 Share May 31, 2024 Heeheehee. Brought my kids to bishan park after work. Satisfying meal. Only had 金昌 which I was quite sceptical of as I don't usually like it. Wah for 31 dollars (including 3 rice) for everything on the tray, the seafood part is fresh and vfm by singapore standards. I cook myself the cost price surely already around there (don't even know how much bamboo clams cost). Ordered the 菠菜 and 虾酱鸡丝 from the stall beside, since my girl dont like seafood. Also good vfm. Man the kway zhup queue is damn long. 9 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic May 31, 2024 Share May 31, 2024 (edited) On 5/31/2024 at 8:36 PM, Heartlander said: Since my recent work trip to London, I have been obsessed with fish and chip, but not the usual dory fish type but those with better fish such as halibut and haddock. This evening was at Arnold's for dinner and actually happily ordered the favourite half spring chicken when glanced that they actually serve fish and chip also. Out of curiosity I asked for the type of fish they used, and hoki is it. Been tempted enough to ask to change the order which is not my usual self haha. Luckily never regretted the choice. Despite the meat being thinner than what I preferred, it is flavourful and did not have any fishy smell at all. Though not many would order it as their fried chicken is definitely the main draw, but I would still highly recommend it if you are not that hungry and want to eat something healthier but still want it fried haha. The potato chips are also definitely chunkier than most places and personally taste better than Maxxx. Was curious what is a hoki fish. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Blue_grenadier I tried a few funny fish fish and chips in aussie. But sometimes have bones one haha. Not fun to eat. Edited May 31, 2024 by Lala81 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic May 31, 2024 Share May 31, 2024 On 5/31/2024 at 2:49 PM, Tohto said: Try it before, felt standard drop significant compare to older day at the Simon road coffeeshop. Today I actually went to Kovan HC for lunch, reach there then found out still closed for spring cleaning on Friday. I thought normally is Mon-Wed. No choice went to HG central. As the HC at HG ave 1 also not many food option for lunch. Aiyah you didn't say earlier. I know it's closed this week... 😅 I think most people will go lor ah soo which is nearer, when kovan is closed. But lor ah soo parking is horrible... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic May 31, 2024 Share May 31, 2024 On 5/30/2024 at 11:26 PM, Carbon82 said: @Fcw75 @Tohto @SiLangKia @Ct3833 @Asicskk @Arogab @TangoCharlie @Atrecord @Discoburg We will be having our MU at 26A Chai Chee Road S(461027), from 7pm onward. You can park your car at either ESR BizPark @Chai Chee (behind Decathlon) - $1.50 per entry, or HDB carpark behind Blk 27 - $1.20/hr. See you tomorrow. Sorry wasn't able to go over tonight. Son tio delayed and then girl also asked to go fetch her... reached home 8.40... drained liao... 3 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic May 31, 2024 Share May 31, 2024 On 5/31/2024 at 8:55 PM, Atrecord said: Aiyah you didn't say earlier. I know it's closed this week... 😅 I think most people will go lor ah soo which is nearer, when kovan is closed. But lor ah soo parking is horrible... Hawker centre can closed for 1 week, so long? Thought closed for 3 days for washing already consider long. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic May 31, 2024 Share May 31, 2024 On 5/31/2024 at 8:55 PM, Atrecord said: Aiyah you didn't say earlier. I know it's closed this week... 😅 I think most people will go lor ah soo which is nearer, when kovan is closed. But lor ah soo parking is horrible... Lorong ah soo roof top got parking lah. But very hot. I felt not much thing to east there during lunch time. I like the nasi lemak there but at around 1pm sure no more. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic May 31, 2024 Share May 31, 2024 On 5/31/2024 at 9:22 PM, 13177 said: Hawker centre can closed for 1 week, so long? Thought closed for 3 days for washing already consider long. Kovan HC plus the wet market is quite big. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ct3833 Supersonic May 31, 2024 Share May 31, 2024 (edited) On 5/31/2024 at 9:34 PM, Tohto said: Lorong ah soo roof top got parking lah. But very hot. I felt not much thing to east there during lunch time. I like the nasi lemak there but at around 1pm sure no more. The nasi lemak are quite ex now, and i have a feeling that they add quite a lot of MSG, i dont know it is in the rice or where. If you like prata, go try out this prata shop, their kosong can be very crispy>>> https://maps.app.goo.gl/VTZezn5MfyBm9tdY7 It is an indian shop by itself. No MCF discount though..😅 Or the same 2nd floor food center , go eat the noodle from this one hand guy. Noodle not bad. If you like pork liver, his pork liver is quite good. Punggol Noodles 榜鵝乾麵 https://maps.app.goo.gl/ZaTDSPc16WeWY1Vm9 Edited May 31, 2024 by Ct3833 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic May 31, 2024 Share May 31, 2024 On 5/31/2024 at 10:13 PM, Ct3833 said: The nasi lemak are quite ex now, and i have a feeling that they add quite a lot of MSG, i dont know it is in the rice or where. If you like prata, go try out this prata shop, their kosong can be very crispy>>> https://maps.app.goo.gl/VTZezn5MfyBm9tdY7 It is an indian shop by itself. No MCF discount though..😅 Or the same 2nd floor food center , go eat the noodle from this one hand guy. Noodle not bad. If you like pork liver, his pork liver is quite good. Punggol Noodles 榜鵝乾麵 https://maps.app.goo.gl/ZaTDSPc16WeWY1Vm9 Chindamani has a few outlets. Some closed over the last few years eg the Tampines one. I go to the one at Serangoon north. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic May 31, 2024 Share May 31, 2024 On 5/31/2024 at 10:13 PM, Ct3833 said: The nasi lemak are quite ex now, and i have a feeling that they add quite a lot of MSG, i dont know it is in the rice or where. If you like prata, go try out this prata shop, their kosong can be very crispy>>> https://maps.app.goo.gl/VTZezn5MfyBm9tdY7 It is an indian shop by itself. No MCF discount though..😅 Or the same 2nd floor food center , go eat the noodle from this one hand guy. Noodle not bad. If you like pork liver, his pork liver is quite good. Punggol Noodles 榜鵝乾麵 https://maps.app.goo.gl/ZaTDSPc16WeWY1Vm9 Yes, the one hand Punggol noodles is quite good. I ate before. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic June 1, 2024 Share June 1, 2024 Wife friend hand carry this back from China for us. The real 枇杷,can't get this here. Those fruits store always selling the fake one. This is very sweet. 13 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic June 1, 2024 Share June 1, 2024 12 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic June 1, 2024 Share June 1, 2024 On 6/1/2024 at 9:44 AM, Tohto said: Wife friend hand carry this back from China for us. The real 枇杷,can't get this here. Those fruits store always selling the fake one. This is very sweet. Dont think I ever tried before. Not an exotic fruit kinda guy. Lol. My taste in fruits is quite westernized. ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...