Jamesc Hypersonic October 20, 2023 Share October 20, 2023 Everyday people say things like COE so high because of car dealers or PHV companies but all the people that say this is mistaken. But people are mistaken not just on COE or PHVs or used car dealers but many things in their life. Driving on the roads people drive badly thinks its the other drivers are that are driving badly and idiots. Its NOT them, its NEVER them! Its always other people fault! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic October 20, 2023 Share October 20, 2023 The SG driver is NEVER wrong. Can NEVER apologise And can NEVER give way Must always go first and must always drive lane 1 even if driving very slowly. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Confusedboi Supercharged October 20, 2023 Share October 20, 2023 Car is like a drug, once you have tasted car ownership very hard to give up lah. Cannot afford also will die die try and scrimp and save and penny pinch here and there to find ways to keep car. Once you give up car ownership and squeeze onto overcrowded world crass public transport, you will regret big time and blame yourself for not able to afford car anymore . Then some will turn to phv big brother ah loan to get rental cars to “continue” car ownership. Otherwise need to suck it up and stick to virtual car since cannot afford real car or van 😭😪🤬 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arogab Turbocharged October 20, 2023 Share October 20, 2023 On 10/20/2023 at 8:58 AM, Jamesc said: People still don't understand COE and economics for that matter! No point blasting PHV rental companies. If no one takes PHVs they would go bankrupt over night. Rental companies are not driving up the price of COEs. Its the people that take the PHVs. They keep booking PHVs and giving them a lot of money! Please stop people using PHVs and there will be no idiot PHV drivers cutting you up or jam brake in front of you because he missed the turning. PHVs will not be driving very slowly blocking you because he is checking his phone to see if got customer nearby to pick up or not. Please stop your wives or gfs or small 3 taking PHV and stop giving them money to throw at the PHV rental companies and bring down the price of COE! You work so hard and give your wives and kids and small three money and they take PHVs and you complain COE so ex! You are the problem. Not PHV leasing companies. Sounds like ChatGPT 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic October 20, 2023 Share October 20, 2023 On 10/20/2023 at 12:11 PM, Arogab said: Sounds like ChatGPT Its CHATjamesc 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arogab Turbocharged October 20, 2023 Share October 20, 2023 On 10/20/2023 at 11:25 AM, Jamesc said: Its CHATjamesc With your speed, you should set up a website to answer questions. Many will aks about MIL 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atonchia Supersonic October 20, 2023 Share October 20, 2023 I can see business cost going to further increase +++ Car, van, motorcycle, truck much more expensive. Amortise over 10years still very high. Fuel cost going to further increase when middle east issue escalate. Commodities already increased due to Russia and Ukraine. Property price still increases .... Water and electricity also increases. 1st to go likely pure e-commerce companies with heavy reliance on deliveries. Then physical stores & F&B, increase cost of food, labour and utilities. Another round of survival of the fittest. Covid period seen shift to ecomm.... Probably soon see some re-adjustment, shift in demand. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kar_lover Supercharged October 20, 2023 Share October 20, 2023 Ya i agree with Jamesc, there is no supply without demand. Consumers are more and more able & willing to afford paying for PHV rides vs BMW hence more and more PHVs. And for that matter, proposal for PHV to have own category is silly too. Cos normal non-PHV car owners can convert their cars to PHV and PHV car owners can also convert back to normal. If there are different COE categories between normal and PHV car, then how is this conversion going to work? LTA need to refund or owners need to pay surcharge to convert? Say Cat A is $80k and Cat F (PHV) is $100k. Then if i have a normal car but then decide to convert to PHV cos i lost my job then do i top up the prevailing difference of $20k? Then later on i find that PHV not for me i want to go back to normal, then LTA have to refund me? Or what if i only decide to convert 1 yr later and the Cat F PHV drop to $60k while Cat A is still $80k. Then how? Do i need to top up $20k based on the time when i got my orignal COE (when PHV was $100k) or LTA refund me $20k based on current COE of $60k? And since the COE left 9 years so should pro-rate? Headache leh. 2 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged October 20, 2023 Share October 20, 2023 On 10/20/2023 at 2:09 PM, Kar_lover said: Ya i agree with Jamesc, there is no supply without demand. Consumers are more and more able & willing to afford paying for PHV rides vs BMW hence more and more PHVs. And for that matter, proposal for PHV to have own category is silly too. Cos normal non-PHV car owners can convert their cars to PHV and PHV car owners can also convert back to normal. If there are different COE categories between normal and PHV car, then how is this conversion going to work? LTA need to refund or owners need to pay surcharge to convert? Say Cat A is $80k and Cat F (PHV) is $100k. Then if i have a normal car but then decide to convert to PHV cos i lost my job then do i top up the prevailing difference of $20k? Then later on i find that PHV not for me i want to go back to normal, then LTA have to refund me? Or what if i only decide to convert 1 yr later and the Cat F PHV drop to $60k while Cat A is still $80k. Then how? Do i need to top up $20k based on the time when i got my orignal COE (when PHV was $100k) or LTA refund me $20k based on current COE of $60k? And since the COE left 9 years so should pro-rate? Headache leh. Someone suggested don't allow easy conversion of PHV back and forth. But then that makes them no different from taxi. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kar_lover Supercharged October 20, 2023 Share October 20, 2023 On 10/20/2023 at 2:12 PM, Benarsenal said: Someone suggested don't allow easy conversion of PHV back and forth. But then that makes them no different from taxi. Exactly lor.... isn't this what gig economy about? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic October 20, 2023 Share October 20, 2023 On 10/20/2023 at 2:45 PM, yishunite said: It is a bluff that this is how most people use PHV to enable the PHV companies to loophole back round the taxi regulations and taxes. If lock to an individual's NRIC whereby the individual did not set up shell company to dodge 40% dp then why not let it be swappable But if it is registered by a company whether Grab or TanAhCar Pte Ltd then it either has commercial hirable license or is strictly for non-hiring purpose (like a security company that needs car to patrol) Since loan is taken for the purpose of making money (PHV), it is a COMMERCIAL decision. It should NOT be subjected to the protection of a consumer. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic October 20, 2023 Share October 20, 2023 I saw the new toyota prius on the road as taxi liao. 2 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
daffodilistic 1st Gear October 21, 2023 Share October 21, 2023 (edited) On 10/20/2023 at 2:09 PM, Kar_lover said: Ya i agree with Jamesc, there is no supply without demand. Consumers are more and more able & willing to afford paying for PHV rides vs BMW hence more and more PHVs. And for that matter, proposal for PHV to have own category is silly too. Cos normal non-PHV car owners can convert their cars to PHV and PHV car owners can also convert back to normal. If there are different COE categories between normal and PHV car, then how is this conversion going to work? LTA need to refund or owners need to pay surcharge to convert? Say Cat A is $80k and Cat F (PHV) is $100k. Then if i have a normal car but then decide to convert to PHV cos i lost my job then do i top up the prevailing difference of $20k? Then later on i find that PHV not for me i want to go back to normal, then LTA have to refund me? Or what if i only decide to convert 1 yr later and the Cat F PHV drop to $60k while Cat A is still $80k. Then how? Do i need to top up $20k based on the time when i got my orignal COE (when PHV was $100k) or LTA refund me $20k based on current COE of $60k? And since the COE left 9 years so should pro-rate? Headache leh. boss, OPC car scheme already like this leh, apparently need to pay for it one if one goes from e.g. OPC 5 yrs -> normal 1 yr -> OPC (assuming brand new car) Edited October 21, 2023 by daffodilistic Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kar_lover Supercharged October 21, 2023 Share October 21, 2023 On 10/21/2023 at 8:37 AM, daffodilistic said: boss, OPC car scheme already like this leh, apparently need to pay for it one if one goes from e.g. OPC 5 yrs -> normal 1 yr -> OPC (assuming brand new car) OPC to normal is a fixed rate of $17,000 for 10 yrs. It is not COE Category dependent, i.e. whether Cat A or B, the conversion is still based on $17k. But here they are talking about creating a new COE category for PHV vehicle and vehicles are moving across different COE categories where the values of the COEs can fluctuate a lot. So i don't think its the same thing. ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...