Gnahp Turbocharged February 26 Author Share February 26 On 2/26/2024 at 7:56 PM, mersaylee said: Next time try army style...place target on bathroom floor...spray from one side to the other macam GPMG...with the target in between...reverse the direction if need be...cover it up...rinse bottle, wash hands...😁 I sniper trained difficult for me to do GPMG style 😁 ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic February 26 Share February 26 On 2/26/2024 at 7:58 PM, Gnahp said: I sniper trained difficult for me to do GPMG style 😁 Skillsfuture...cross train...😁 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic February 26 Share February 26 On 2/26/2024 at 5:09 PM, boonhat_91 said: Thanks all for the replies. Guess there is no specific accurate method, just need to ensure it is within min-max on the good ole dipstick. On that topic, my car manual says to warm up engine to normal operating temp -> turn off and wait 5 min then do the dipstick check. Not when cold which is the usual practice. Is the "normal operating temp" around where the coolant temp gauge stabilizes (100°C)? If so, I have observed that the coolant temp remains stable during my entire 40min commute even with sports mode and heavy footed driving. Does that mean that after my journey, I can turn off and wait 5 min and it would be ok to do the dipstick check accordingly? Edit: I'm aware coolant temp =/= oil temp, but stable coolant temp should mean oil temp is also stable? Its not there is no specific method. Its every vehicle be it commerical or car have their own method. 1 way or another there got to be a way to measure the correct level to fill up. Dun check the manual, cos u can never fully drain your engine oil 100%. at least 20% is left inside. using a measure container to measure how much u drain and refill also not very accurate, because how u know your engine oil is at the correct level before u drain out? some engine esp diesel engine , as u drive the engine oil will increase . 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kklee 6th Gear February 26 Share February 26 On 2/26/2024 at 5:09 PM, boonhat_91 said: Thanks all for the replies. Guess there is no specific accurate method, just need to ensure it is within min-max on the good ole dipstick. On that topic, my car manual says to warm up engine to normal operating temp -> turn off and wait 5 min then do the dipstick check. Not when cold which is the usual practice. Is the "normal operating temp" around where the coolant temp gauge stabilizes (100°C)? If so, I have observed that the coolant temp remains stable during my entire 40min commute even with sports mode and heavy footed driving. Does that mean that after my journey, I can turn off and wait 5 min and it would be ok to do the dipstick check accordingly? Edit: I'm aware coolant temp =/= oil temp, but stable coolant temp should mean oil temp is also stable? IMHO. Toyota Hybrid manual also indicates wait 5 mins ... for the oil to drain back to pan. How you check you coolant temp ? My previous ICE, coolant temperature is a range. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic February 26 Share February 26 I have drained oil very hot, cold and also 5mins after cold start. SG not that cold to matter. All the oil in the sump will also drain after some time. used to use Fumoto valve. Chuck the catch pan below flip open the valve and then go lim kopi at home. When back the change filter then close the valve and fill. Didn’t even needed to jack up. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
boonhat_91 6th Gear February 27 Share February 27 On 2/26/2024 at 11:48 PM, Kklee said: IMHO. Toyota Hybrid manual also indicates wait 5 mins ... for the oil to drain back to pan. How you check you coolant temp ? My previous ICE, coolant temperature is a range. Same, the 5 mins is for the oil to drain back the sump it says. My car coolant temp gauge shows temp - not exact temp but it has 50°C somewhere on the left, 100°C in the middle, and 130°C on the right. Extreme left (cold) and right (hot) ends are not given a number value. During driving the needle is always just a hair to the left of the 100°C middle mark. Oh just checked the manual also says "During normal driving, the engine coolant temperature stabilizes at 100 °C (210 °F) or less, and the gauge indicates a range lower than 100 °C (210 °F)." Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kklee 6th Gear February 27 Share February 27 On 2/27/2024 at 9:57 AM, boonhat_91 said: Same, the 5 mins is for the oil to drain back the sump it says. My car coolant temp gauge shows temp - not exact temp but it has 50°C somewhere on the left, 100°C in the middle, and 130°C on the right. Extreme left (cold) and right (hot) ends are not given a number value. During driving the needle is always just a hair to the left of the 100°C middle mark. Oh just checked the manual also says "During normal driving, the engine coolant temperature stabilizes at 100 °C (210 °F) or less, and the gauge indicates a range lower than 100 °C (210 °F)." IMHO. Your observation that the needle is always a hair to the left of the 100°C should be correct. My ICE observation, is between 90-100°C. Try this :- Open door, turn off the AC, the needle may move to 100°C or a hair above. In a while, the radiator fan will come on and the needle will move back. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kklee 6th Gear February 28 Share February 28 IMHO. For my hybrid, there is a maintenance mode. Will be useful when DIY change engine oil ! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic February 28 Share February 28 (edited) On 2/28/2024 at 8:40 AM, Kklee said: IMHO. For my hybrid, there is a maintenance mode. Will be useful when DIY change engine oil ! I'm not exactly sure for hybrid, but the ICE engine should have a oil drain plug. 1. Traditional way: Jack up car. Better if you have chock to stop the wheels turning. Be very careful when using thin scissor-type jack, it may fall over, and possibly trap you underneath the car. Place oil pan underneath the plug. Try to loosen the plug first. You need the correct size socket and maybe a long handle wrench, in case the previous guy overtightened it. If it's jammed and you try pushing, hitting and kicking it, that's when that jack may fall out. Absolutely no safety, when you're working alone. The plug that you'll be removing may dropped into the pan now filled with hot oil. You need a way to recover it without burning your hands. Be careful not to cross-thread or you'll get a big problem. And wear gloves of cuz. After the oil is mostly drained, tightened back the plug and refill with oil. Hope you know which hole to pour it in. 2. Vacuum way: Get a vacuum pump that's made for this. Insert the hose and then pump out the oil. This is a cleaner way, No need to mess with drain plug and pan, that you have to clean afterwards. Finally, you need to know where/how to dispose of the used oil. Edited February 28 by Kb27 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kklee 6th Gear February 28 Share February 28 On 2/28/2024 at 3:58 PM, Kb27 said: I'm not exactly sure for hybrid, but the ICE engine should have a oil drain plug. 1. Traditional way: Jack up car. Better if you have chock to stop the wheels turning. Be very careful when using thin scissor-type jack, it may fall over, and possibly trap you underneath the car. Place oil pan underneath the plug. Try to loosen the plug first. You need the correct size socket and maybe a long handle wrench, in case the previous guy overtightened it. If it's jammed and you try pushing, hitting and kicking it, that's when that jack may fall out. Absolutely no safety, when you're working alone. The plug that you'll be removing may dropped into the pan now filled with hot oil. You need a way to recover it without burning your hands. Be careful not to cross-thread or you'll get a big problem. And wear gloves of cuz. After the oil is mostly drained, tightened back the plug and refill with oil. Hope you know which hole to pour it in. 2. Vacuum way: Get a vacuum pump that's made for this. Insert the hose and then pump out the oil. This is a cleaner way, No need to mess with drain plug and pan, that you have to clean afterwards. Finally, you need to know where/how to dispose of the used oil. IMHO. I used to use the top drain method. 👍 Where to disposed the used oil ?? 🤣 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic February 28 Share February 28 On 2/28/2024 at 4:14 PM, Kklee said: IMHO. I used to use the top drain method. 👍 Where to disposed the used oil ?? 🤣 Try to find a workshop willing for you to dispose of it. Normally, they would be glad to collect it, as it is sold to recyclers. I used to collect about 20L in a big container after a few oil change, before I bring it to my fren's w/s, but I don't do it anymore. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kklee 6th Gear February 28 Share February 28 On 2/28/2024 at 4:19 PM, Kb27 said: Try to find a workshop willing for you to dispose of it. Normally, they would be glad to collect it, as it is sold to recyclers. I used to collect about 20L in a big container after a few oil change, before I bring it to my fren's w/s, but I don't do it anymore. IMHO. Got workshop that can do top-drain? No need to think about disposal. P.S. Last time go mxtradings for disposal ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gnahp Turbocharged February 28 Author Share February 28 I used the suction method on our previous car fast, easy, no mess and oil change (+ oil filter change) can be done in less than 30 minutes 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kklee 6th Gear February 28 Share February 28 On 2/28/2024 at 5:35 PM, Gnahp said: I used the suction method on our previous car fast, easy, no mess and oil change (+ oil filter change) can be done in less than 30 minutes IMHO. I used to have this but felt that it was too toxic to store in the bomb shelter with the oil inside. Then I had a 5.5L round one - somewhere around. I am trying to migrate to a 12V one. 🤣 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic February 28 Share February 28 On 2/28/2024 at 5:35 PM, Gnahp said: I used the suction method on our previous car fast, easy, no mess and oil change (+ oil filter change) can be done in less than 30 minutes Till the mityvac leaks. When the rubber seals harden. I still like my fumoto valve. I did buy a pressure brake bleeder before. The blasted thing didn’t seat well and blew brake fluid everywhere. Vacuum method still better. 1 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gnahp Turbocharged February 28 Author Share February 28 this one 10 years old already, use regularly so far so good, choy.... 😁 I have stahlbus (similar to fumoto) on my motorcycles but I am not comfortable using it on this car stahlbus cannot be torqued more than 24Nm otherwise they will snap my wife's car oil drain plug torque spec is 40Nm if torqued to 24Nm, I will not sleep well at night 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gnahp Turbocharged February 28 Author Share February 28 for pressure bleeding, I use this so far so good 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kklee 6th Gear February 28 Share February 28 On 2/28/2024 at 10:50 PM, Gnahp said: this one 10 years old already, use regularly so far so good, choy.... 😁 I have stahlbus (similar to fumoto) on my motorcycles but I am not comfortable using it on this car stahlbus cannot be torqued more than 24Nm otherwise they will snap my wife's car oil drain plug torque spec is 40Nm if torqued to 24Nm, I will not sleep well at night IMHO. You stored the EO in the container and only disposed when filled ? I think frequent use, it will last. EO can lubricate the seals. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...