Why 6-digit COE prices are the new normal: Ex-industry insider reveals

Mockngbrd

On 9/20/2023 at 3:48 PM, Carbon82 said:

Using 'girl math', $130K COE or $1mil HDB is actually very the cheap also.

No wonder businesses are upping price like nobody business while COE premium and housing price have been shooting through the roof month after month... 

$3,950 earrings that are practically free: How ‘girl math’ is used to justify spending 

rrgirlmathcartier2009.jpg

Ms Chloe Liem feels that her $3,950 Cartier Trinity earrings are “practically free”.

The 20-year old rationalises her purchase like this: She initially wanted a pair that costs $5,250, so getting a cheaper set makes it feel like she is saving $1,300 from the get-go.

She also has $1,000 in mall vouchers, meaning she has to fork out only $2,950. 

Whipping out a calculator on her TikTok video, the content creator deadpans that if she wears the earrings daily for the next four years, it will cost about $1 apiece each time she wears them.

Justifying big-ticket spending like this is known as “girl math”, said Ms Liem, referring to a new viral TikTok trend, which began in New Zealand but has since gained popularity around the world.

We laugh at it and gave it a term "girl math", but the truth is everyone spending on wants is using a variation of this calculation one way or another to justify our spending.

Edited by Vulkan
  • Sad 1

On 9/21/2023 at 2:03 PM, Vulkan said:

We laugh at it and gave it a term "girl math", but the truth is everyone spending on wants is using a variation of this calculation one way or another to justify our spending.

Absolutely true. 

On 9/19/2023 at 3:36 PM, Soya said:

U dun buy, RadX will buy

He buy to flip lah .. u didn't hear he make alot from flipping cars already?? :D

I agree with this girl!

I bought a shirt for $20 and only used it only once!

So the cost of that shirt cost $20 per use and her diamond earring only cost $1 to wear.

Hers is better value!

Now that shirt is still in my cupboard and the price of housing is as we all know not cheap.

So keeping that shirt for many years cost more than the shirt did in storage fees!

It would have been better if I used that shirt once and throw it away.

If I throw it away after say 10 years the total cost of that shirt is 

cost of shirt + storage fees + cost of washing it as in water, electricity and laundry powder and time and effort

to wash, hang, fold, iron and keep!

Working that out I must have save thousands because I go commando and save so much money not wearing underwear!

image.thumb.png.5ae6589256adb9770b14e43febc50045.png

On 9/19/2023 at 2:43 PM, inlinesix said:

Public transport fare has a cap of $128/mth.

Private transport no cap le.

There is no cap but there is a floor.

Remember what happened the last time petrol price went very low? Gahmen immediately piled on additional petrol tax for motorists.

Now petrol price went back up ...... of course the tax stays. Of course.

On 9/21/2023 at 6:27 PM, Karoon said:

Remember what happened the last time petrol price went very low? Gahmen immediately piled on additional petrol tax for motorists.

If u are the CEO and dominate the market.... will u think of YOY 30, 40, 50% growth?? How to make big profit, increase your revenue, decrease your expenditure. 

Edited by jcmm

On 9/21/2023 at 6:27 PM, Karoon said:

Yes yes, i remember. When the shining botak head was finance minister. CCB PAP

On 9/21/2023 at 5:17 PM, Jamesc said:

I agree with this girl!

So the cost of that shirt cost $20 per use and her diamond earring only cost $1 to wear.

Hers is better value!

Now that shirt is still in my cupboard and the price of housing is as we all know not cheap.

So keeping that shirt for many years cost more than the shirt did in storage fees!

cost of shirt + storage fees + cost of washing it as in water, electricity and laundry powder and time and effort

Working that out I must have save thousands because I go commando and save so much money not wearing underwear!

Isn’t her way of calculation the standard CAPEX method to calculate depreciation of equipment in most companies.  Useful equipment lifespan is 5 years and the depreciation per year is calculated by total equipment cost divided by 5 years.  She is just taking it 1 step further by breaking it down into days.  Very detailed! 

Of course, she forgot to budget in the maintenance cost, and the ROI which could be brought in by those ear rings.

I agree with this girl!

Hers is better value!

@Jamesc Ok lah - lets all Agree its $1 per day blah blah blah! But end result is the owner wear liao - still HER face - CMI lah !!! Puiiiiiiiiiiiiii

Edited by AndrewLee72

On 9/22/2023 at 1:19 PM, AndrewLee72 said:

@Jamesc Ok lah - lets all Agree its $1 per day blah blah blah! But end result is the owner wear liao - still HER face - CMI lah !!! Puiiiiiiiiiiiiii

lol very zhek ark

On 9/22/2023 at 1:02 PM, Albeniz said:

Isn’t her way of calculation the standard CAPEX method to calculate depreciation of equipment in most companies.  Useful equipment lifespan is 5 years and the depreciation per year is calculated by total equipment cost divided by 5 years.  She is just taking it 1 step further by breaking it down into days.  Very detailed! 

Of course, she forgot to budget in the maintenance cost, and the ROI which could be brought in by those ear rings.

earrings got maintenance cost meh? :D 

ROI? reel in rich playboys? :D 

Aiya...so easy to tabulate. What happens when top heavy and yet bottom still needs to support? Of cos bottom must shoot high high right? 100/100 or 100/10 better? 

Leasing cos. only lease meh, can also sell right? Leasing cos. must be 100% private one meh? 

Competitive not competitive all can stir one mah. You want your teh tarik more foamy then tarik tarik more lor. All buyers just united say I must buy X numbers of cars but slowly slowly register them over 6 mths lor. This big co. that co. all say their business cho dua need vehicles badly but buy liao parked at roof top mah. Ask them, say all must standby gao gao  for people to bite to rent mah.

Heck care demand lah, whack snatch limited supply first mah, sure become demand strong mah. Some months mai chut chia first lor but tio coe first can already. One mouth but can say many versions one mah, correct?

Who cares about quiet showrooms? You want to serve 100 walk-in or one walk-in for 100? Some big AD even got what strategic pricing for big co. ok? Walk-in buy BnB small fry lah. Vol. sales earn lesser per car also nevermind lah. Got recurring purchase. Sell to walk-in after take car is bye bye liao leh, understand? Only co. can buy and buy mah? Walk into Renault see got people serve or not lor. Maybe want to open door also hard ah. 😀 and we wonder how to do business if so quiet but how many ADs close shop?

Business cost and ownership cost very different lah. Business cost like high paper value cos their fleet maybe buy little bit lower than market price leh due to vol. sales mah. Profit per car can adjust adjust one mah. Then after few yrs, dump it using paper value lor. What's the real depreciation of these fleet, we know meh? We can get the scraps mah, "gd and low" used vehicles leh, just go mkt buy veg only, u believe?

COE hoot high high nevermind. Most commoners won't know they are bearing it what? Cos they cannot see what's beyond mah. I no buy car not my taiji wor. Ownself bid ownself high let consumers bear lor. Who can complain use expensive big truck to send you your water supply leh, you don't drink lor? Things must not be cheap else we won't treasure it mah, logic ok, else you don't drink eat lor? 

😉

GLSGL

Actually coe how high also nevermind. 

Is at which level is the breaking point for society or for consumers to bear, that's all. 

We want to LLST then COE will just tio sut high high lor. 

Is like I pinch you is pain but not jin pain mah hor. 

Kena slice off own meat then different story mah. 😂

Is like I purposely let my 2 children compete with ea other. Who lose who don't get to eat. End up, they fight it out with ea other, for survival. Noted, it's not incentive we are looking at ah. Rather than let them shine on their own merits.  Think think ok?

😃

Edited by Unfazed

Alot of used car showrooms or PI at my area always got table right in front one if you know what I mean.

But all quiet quiet BUT I see when they order their nasi padang, all mountain one leh with beef rendang plus other dishes. I ordered sama sama one and knn, easily 8 over bucks in industrial area leh. 

Look at how huge their nasi padang we can know if their business quiet or not loh.

😉

On 9/22/2023 at 9:22 AM, Beehive3783 said:

Yes yes, i remember. When the shining botak head was finance minister. CCB PAP

Many casted their votes on him. 🤔

I agree with this girl!

Hers is better value!

Just like what I always say...almost everyone has a calculator but not everyone uses the buttons the same way...

Tink brain for calculator...😁

On 9/22/2023 at 5:30 PM, Unfazed said:

Aiya...so easy to tabulate. What happens when top heavy and yet bottom still needs to support? Of cos bottom must shoot high high right? 100/100 or 100/10 better? 

Leasing cos. only lease meh, can also sell right? Leasing cos. must be 100% private one meh? 

Competitive not competitive all can stir one mah. You want your teh tarik more foamy then tarik tarik more lor. All buyers just united say I must buy X numbers of cars but slowly slowly register them over 6 mths lor. This big co. that co. all say their business cho dua need vehicles badly but buy liao parked at roof top mah. Ask them, say all must standby gao gao  for people to bite to rent mah.

Heck care demand lah, whack snatch limited supply first mah, sure become demand strong mah. Some months mai chut chia first lor but tio coe first can already. One mouth but can say many versions one mah, correct?

Who cares about quiet showrooms? You want to serve 100 walk-in or one walk-in for 100? Some big AD even got what strategic pricing for big co. ok? Walk-in buy BnB small fry lah. Vol. sales earn lesser per car also nevermind lah. Got recurring purchase. Sell to walk-in after take car is bye bye liao leh, understand? Only co. can buy and buy mah? Walk into Renault see got people serve or not lor. Maybe want to open door also hard ah. 😀 and we wonder how to do business if so quiet but how many ADs close shop?

Business cost and ownership cost very different lah. Business cost like high paper value cos their fleet maybe buy little bit lower than market price leh due to vol. sales mah. Profit per car can adjust adjust one mah. Then after few yrs, dump it using paper value lor. What's the real depreciation of these fleet, we know meh? We can get the scraps mah, "gd and low" used vehicles leh, just go mkt buy veg only, u believe?

COE hoot high high nevermind. Most commoners won't know they are bearing it what? Cos they cannot see what's beyond mah. I no buy car not my taiji wor. Ownself bid ownself high let consumers bear lor. Who can complain use expensive big truck to send you your water supply leh, you don't drink lor? Things must not be cheap else we won't treasure it mah, logic ok, else you don't drink eat lor? 

😉

GLSGL

Finally someone catch onto my GLSGL movement liao.

muayhahahahahaha😂🤣😎👍👍💪💪✌️✌️