2024 Toyota Century SUV

Carbon82

On 9/11/2023 at 9:06 AM, kobayashiGT said:

Why no cloth seat liao? leather seat got some friction sound one leh. elegance meh? 

Which top luxury european marques uses fabric seats? It wouldnt be acceptable even for Camry.

On 9/6/2023 at 9:15 AM, Arogab said:

I guessed people start to feel that SUV is the trend and saloon is just getting bored and less practical

I spotted the trend 5/6 yrs ago . . . the one reason I upsize id simply the border causeway barriers/ kerbs, Humps and Bumps are challenging, once heavy rain the saloon cars are in a disadvantages , just look at Singapore Bukit Timah canals and long Kang 😪

On 10/1/2023 at 3:53 PM, Meanmachine said:

I spotted the trend 5/6 yrs ago . . . the one reason I upsize id simply the border causeway barriers/ kerbs, Humps and Bumps are challenging, once heavy rain the saloon cars are in a disadvantages , just look at Singapore Bukit Timah canals and long Kang 😪

For ponding, you need real SUV.

Not CUV

On 10/1/2023 at 11:34 AM, Heartbreakid said:

Nobody says it is a copy of the Rolls Royce SUV. If it was to be a China made SUV, arrows would have be shoot all over the place. 😆

But still I like the Century Sedan with cloth seats, feels more premium. 

In all fairness, Hong Qi indeed look more like a RR, whereas the Century SUV has cue of the Century sedan. 

On 10/1/2023 at 11:58 AM, Ct3833 said:

Next respray i will make my COE altis 2 tone to give it a luxury look 🤣

And then put on a Lexus logo? Mai la mai la... :D

BTW, 2 tone Corolla was available back in the late 80s to mid 90s.

23795a_578x417.jpg

On 10/1/2023 at 3:53 PM, Meanmachine said:

Actually if you look at those old car in the early 20th century, most look and has the ride height of SUV. Then someone invented sedan and lowered hatch and the rest is history.

So I see the SUV craze now as a like for retro-ness beside the practical aspect. 

On 10/1/2023 at 10:28 PM, Carbon82 said:

Actually if you look at those old car in the early 20th century, most look and has the ride height of SUV. Then someone invented sedan and lowered hatch and the rest is history.

So I see the SUV craze now as a like for retro-ness beside the practical aspect. 

I would just like to comment that in the early days of cars, the height was necessarily high because of the way they were built.

Separate chassis was the order of the day, that means the engine and body was mounted on top of a strong ladder-frame chassis. Moreover, cars then had big wheels (a legacy from the horse-drawn carriages?). Together, the end result are tall cars with big ground clearances.

When monocoque chassis designs (as in the chassis and body are merged into one unit) became the standard in the 50s and 60s, cars began to get lower and lighter and came with smaller wheels, which was good for roadholding, handling and efficiency. I think this peaked in the late 80s, afterwhich cars began to become taller again to accommodate the ever-bigger builds of the human race.

I would just like to comment that in the early days of cars, the height was necessarily high because of the way they were built.

Separate chassis was the order of the day, that means the engine and body was mounted on top of a strong ladder-frame chassis. Moreover, cars then had big wheels (a legacy from the horse-drawn carriages?). Together, the end result are tall cars with big ground clearances.

When monocoque chassis designs (as in the chassis and body are merged into one unit) became the standard in the 50s and 60s, cars began to get lower and lighter and came with smaller wheels, which was good for roadholding, handling and efficiency. I think this peaked in the late 80s, afterwhich cars began to become taller again to accommodate the ever-bigger builds of the human race.

On 9/5/2023 at 11:59 PM, Carbon82 said:

After the Corolla Cross and new Crown, another iconic Toyota model has been SUV-nised... I seriously hope the trend will stop soon. @Toeknee_33what's your thought?

Toyota-Century-SUV-Front-Teaser-main-102

Toyota-Century-SUV-New-Teaser-scaled.jpg

Toyota announced the debut of an all-new model on September 6, which will be streamed live on YouTube from Tokyo, Japan. The automaker didn’t name the model but the official teaser photos showing portions of the front and rear suggest it will be the already-confirmed Century-branded SUV.

Stay tuned for more updates. 🙂

Few week ago I saw a Toyota Century Sedan on ECP with curtain on the rear passenger side window. 

car look grand too maybe due to it size, went home Google it is using Lexus LS platform, thus explain the grand look 😂

In all fairness, Hong Qi indeed look more like a RR, whereas the Century SUV has cue of the Century sedan. 

And then put on a Lexus logo? Mai la mai la... :D

BTW, 2 tone Corolla was available back in the late 80s to mid 90s.

23795a_578x417.jpg

The invention of the asphalt road.

Actually I drove a Jeep Grand Cherokee in the early 90s. Already siao SUV then.

I think all I spent on sg cars I can get half a dozen fully trimmed Jeep GCs liaole. Its expensive here.

The Century is very chio.

On 10/1/2023 at 4:21 PM, inlinesix said:

For ponding, you need real SUV.

Not CUV

Haha yeah happen to me in 2007 during the one in 50 years flood, my Honda CRV got F it up by the flood 😂

CRV was a small medium Car, mostly used as Gojek/ Grab car, due to it's size, hardly can accommodate 4 passengers, So Sport Utility is practical for many drivers who can upload more luggage for weekends sports like Cyclings geasr and Trekking tools, plus my travelling luggage.