Voodooman Supersonic August 21, 2023 Share August 21, 2023 (edited) Planning a road trip to KL (one of the cars is a Tesla Model Y) and seeking advice of EV owners who have driven up north (KL and beyond) on recommended stopover locations for fast EV charging. Preferably with a place to sit down, drink coffee/ makan while we wait. a. Based on my googling, it is either Shell Pagoh (1x180KW) or TNB (2x90KW) at Ayer Keroh (north bound). https://maps.app.goo.gl/wqyJj36uXMA2z9Y6A?g_st=ic https://maps.app.goo.gl/wqyJj36uXMA2z9Y6A?g_st=ic b. Will be staying at Bukit Bintang area and the plan is to juice up at Tesla DC chargers at Pavillion. Was told they are already operational but on Tesla MY website, it is still "Target opening date to be confirmed". Anyone has latest updates? c. South bound. Thinking of charging at Shell Tangkak (1x180 KW) or Petronas at Ayer Hitam (2x180 KW and 1x 50KW chargers). https://maps.app.goo.gl/8iSF3awZHHA2KTGc6?g_st=ic https://maps.app.goo.gl/UxrpkYZGUrZeW5Fj6?g_st=ic All inputs (need to download apps, etc) / updates are welcome. For comments relating to the inconvenience of EV charging, etc, please go to this thread and contribute although the negatives are probably very well covered by now. In short, let's stay focused/ concise on the topic so that others can benefit from it. Thank you. Edited August 21, 2023 by Voodooman ↡ Advertisement 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator August 21, 2023 Share August 21, 2023 Keen to follow thread and pick up on their latest infra 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic August 21, 2023 Share August 21, 2023 Me Not ready for EV yet why think so hard where to stop and charge the car maybe 5 more years will see more charger and doesnt require any planning as within 10km radius sure have enough chargers to use 7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic August 21, 2023 Share August 21, 2023 (edited) On 8/21/2023 at 1:39 PM, RadX said: Keen to follow thread and pick up on their latest infra KNN scare what, just pack and go lah, but make sure it's a Honda hor. Edited August 21, 2023 by Tianmo 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator August 21, 2023 Share August 21, 2023 On 8/21/2023 at 2:14 PM, Tianmo said: KNN scare what, just pack and go. Then no battery change car?😂😂 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic August 21, 2023 Share August 21, 2023 On 8/21/2023 at 2:15 PM, RadX said: Then no battery change car?😂😂 Yah, buy 2 EV, one tow one, juice out change and go. Or better still, drive sg car in, straight to MY dealer, buy one MY plate, drive out, OTW liao. Along the way, no battery change car, go until Thailand come back also can. Still can drive sg car back full battery. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic August 21, 2023 Share August 21, 2023 On 8/21/2023 at 1:36 PM, Voodooman said: Planning a road trip to KL (one of the cars is a Tesla Model Y) and seeking advice of EV owners who have driven up north (KL and beyond) on recommended stopover locations for fast EV charging. Preferably with a place to sit down, drink coffee/ makan while we wait. a. Based on my googling, it is either Shell Pagoh (1x180KW) or TNB (2x90KW) at Ayer Keroh (north bound). https://maps.app.goo.gl/wqyJj36uXMA2z9Y6A?g_st=ic https://maps.app.goo.gl/wqyJj36uXMA2z9Y6A?g_st=ic b. Will be staying at Bukit Bintang area and the plan is to juice up at Tesla DC chargers at Pavillion. Was told they are already operational but on Tesla MY website, it is still "Target opening date to be confirmed". Anyone has latest updates? c. South bound. Thinking of charging at Shell Tangkak (1x180 KW) or Petronas at Ayer Hitam (2x180 KW and 1x 50KW chargers). https://maps.app.goo.gl/8iSF3awZHHA2KTGc6?g_st=ic https://maps.app.goo.gl/UxrpkYZGUrZeW5Fj6?g_st=ic All inputs (need to download apps, etc) / updates are welcome. For comments relating to the inconvenience of EV charging, etc, please go to this thread and contribute although the negatives are probably very well covered by now. In short, let's stay focused/ concise on the topic so that others can benefit from it. Thank you. Contact sgpikarchu on Tiktok. He has a lot of experience driving Tesla in Malaysia. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged August 21, 2023 Share August 21, 2023 (edited) This is from a year ago, so I think there should be more chargers available now. https://carbuyer.com.sg/2022-audi-etron-electric-ev-drive-to-malaysia/ Edited August 21, 2023 by Benarsenal 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ingenius Turbocharged August 21, 2023 Share August 21, 2023 What if reached the charging station in Malaysia but it is being taken up ? 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shibadog Turbocharged August 21, 2023 Share August 21, 2023 On 8/21/2023 at 4:15 PM, Ingenius said: What if reached the charging station in Malaysia but it is being taken up ? drink more kopi 10 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic August 21, 2023 Author Share August 21, 2023 On 8/21/2023 at 4:15 PM, Ingenius said: What if reached the charging station in Malaysia but it is being taken up ? That is why I am only looking at fast DC chargers, at least the wait can be managed. Waiting for those EV owners who have driven up to share. It appears Shell charger can reserved for up to 1 hour for premium members, not sure it is good or bad for Tesla driver. 😂 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ingenius Turbocharged August 21, 2023 Share August 21, 2023 On 8/21/2023 at 4:35 PM, Voodooman said: That is why I am only looking at fast DC chargers, at least the wait can be managed. Waiting for those EV owners who have driven up to share. It appears Shell charger can reserved for up to 1 hour for premium members, not sure it is good or bad for Tesla driver. 😂 Then you better pray there is no massive traffic jam along the way, which may deplete the battery and car stalled. I am clearly a pessimist. 😅 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic August 21, 2023 Author Share August 21, 2023 On 8/21/2023 at 4:39 PM, Ingenius said: Then you better pray there is no massive traffic jam along the way, which may deplete the battery and car stalled. I am clearly a pessimist. 😅 The model Y has a range of more than 500km on paper, sufficient to cover SG/KL distance of 370km. If schedule is tight, ie need to be in KL by a certain time, then just juice up at Petronas' 7 bays charging station at Ayer Hitam. They should built more of this type of infra along NSHW. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lethalstrike Turbocharged August 21, 2023 Share August 21, 2023 @Voodooman My own experience driving up to KL with a XC40 Recharge is as below, 1. The journey up adds another 2 hrs due to the charging stops required, vs an ICE car. Upside is I get to rest a bit more if I'm not rushing. But if I have companions with ICE cars, they will have to wait for me. Note I factor in quite a lot of range buffer to be absolutely safe. On a Model Y, probably you can get away with 1 stop strategy on the way to KL, but it may leave you very little margin for error (such as planned charging station is down, in-use or other reasons) 2. Cruising speed i just put it to 110km/h and with adaptive cruise control turned on for best efficiency. If I drive at 150km/h as what i used to do in an ICE car, the electric consumption goes to shit. Kinda expected since 60% of the expended energy of an EV is to overcome air resistance. The higher the speed, the greater the air resistance 3. Make sure tire pressures are up to mark 4. Jom Charge DC fast chargers I've tried. App is pretty good and seamless. You also won't go wrong with the planned Petronas and Shell DC fast chargers. 5. Contrary to my expectations, the car doesn't actually eats a lot of battery when its stuck in stop/start traffic jam. Propulsion is still the main contributor for battery consumption 6. Advertised range is always very different from reality, across all EVs. If Tesla says Model Y is rated for 500km WLTP, you can be sure to minus 20% from it for the realistic range. That means 400km from 100% to 0%. Obviously, you won't risk to only charge when you are at 0%. So assume the minimal will be at 10% left. Thus its 360km worth of range from 100% to 10%. If you whack the car hard on NSH, it will surely be lesser than 360km 🤣 From my own experience for bringing an EV for trips up north, I would say it is still not quite ready yet for those who are impatient and really just want to get up and go. You need to plan a bit more ahead. 13 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic August 21, 2023 Share August 21, 2023 On 8/21/2023 at 4:39 PM, Ingenius said: Then you better pray there is no massive traffic jam along the way, which may deplete the battery and car stalled. I am clearly a pessimist. 😅 Traffic jam is good for EV. Regen will help to top up the battery plus lower power consumption (with lower speed). 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged August 21, 2023 Share August 21, 2023 On 8/21/2023 at 5:36 PM, inlinesix said: Traffic jam is good for EV. Regen will help to top up the battery plus lower power consumption (with lower speed). Depends on what kind of jam. If it's just slow moving, still not too bad. But standstill and start acceleration from 0 does consume quite a bit of energy. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic August 21, 2023 Share August 21, 2023 On 8/21/2023 at 5:42 PM, Benarsenal said: Depends on what kind of jam. If it's just slow moving, still not too bad. But standstill and start acceleration from 0 does consume quite a bit of energy. EV consumes about 1kwh during stationary. If standstill and start acceleration, use 1 pedal drive to recoup energy. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
t0y0ta Supercharged August 21, 2023 Share August 21, 2023 (edited) On 8/21/2023 at 1:36 PM, Voodooman said: Planning a road trip to KL (one of the cars is a Tesla Model Y) and seeking advice of EV owners who have driven up north (KL and beyond) on recommended stopover locations for fast EV charging. Preferably with a place to sit down, drink coffee/ makan while we wait. a. Based on my googling, it is either Shell Pagoh (1x180KW) or TNB (2x90KW) at Ayer Keroh (north bound). https://maps.app.goo.gl/wqyJj36uXMA2z9Y6A?g_st=ic https://maps.app.goo.gl/wqyJj36uXMA2z9Y6A?g_st=ic b. Will be staying at Bukit Bintang area and the plan is to juice up at Tesla DC chargers at Pavillion. Was told they are already operational but on Tesla MY website, it is still "Target opening date to be confirmed". Anyone has latest updates? c. South bound. Thinking of charging at Shell Tangkak (1x180 KW) or Petronas at Ayer Hitam (2x180 KW and 1x 50KW chargers). https://maps.app.goo.gl/8iSF3awZHHA2KTGc6?g_st=ic https://maps.app.goo.gl/UxrpkYZGUrZeW5Fj6?g_st=ic All inputs (need to download apps, etc) / updates are welcome. For comments relating to the inconvenience of EV charging, etc, please go to this thread and contribute although the negatives are probably very well covered by now. In short, let's stay focused/ concise on the topic so that others can benefit from it. Thank you. I am no EV owner, but I have seen the Ayer Keroh EV chargers during recent trip. It was not used then and looks operational (not spoilt) in June. But only 2 guns. I heard the Shell one at Tangkak is a bit special, you are going to pay $$ for parking and the charging is actually free. The lot is secured by an automated barrier which you need app to reserve. Hope it is still operational as malaysia maintenance is not great. I suggest you sign up all the necessary apps. Maybe drop by Pagoh first to charge and treat Tangkak or Ayer Keroh as reserve. You can't just assume that your desired station will be available (no one using) or operational (working condition). Edited August 21, 2023 by t0y0ta ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...