$1b in cash and assets seized and frozen; 30 foreigners probed for money laundering and forgery

Mockngbrd

On 8/17/2023 at 8:33 AM, Fcw75 said:

Regardless of nationality, all with Chinese names. Citizenship for convenience, wonder if any one of them also got Singapore passport, because you typically cannot own landed in Singapore without a passport. 

On the other hand, now we know which countries have lax immigrations where you can buy a passport in case you need to run road…

On 8/16/2023 at 9:27 PM, Mkl22 said:

Do more this cheong kong and then hopefully can maintain 9% GST for longer. 
$1B into piggy bank! Huat Ah! 

I think the police might have been monitoring them for sometime....and when the value hits 1 B.....Then start the cheong kong....get big fish rather than small ones....:yeah-im-not-drunk:

1 time sapu everything...

On 8/17/2023 at 8:45 AM, Macrosszero said:

Regardless of nationality, all with Chinese names. Citizenship for convenience, wonder if any one of them also got Singapore passport, because you typically cannot own landed in Singapore without a passport. 

On the other hand, now we know which countries have lax immigrations where you can buy a passport in case you need to run road…

None of them are Singaporeans or PR. All foreigners.

Probably rented from GCB owners or use sinkie IC.

Edited by Fcw75

On 8/17/2023 at 9:03 AM, Spidey10 said:

I think the police might have been monitoring them for sometime....and when the value hits 1 B.....Then start the cheong kong....get big fish rather than small ones....:yeah-im-not-drunk:

1 time sapu everything...

Who came last week and took off his tie ah? 🤪

Sever all ties?

Edited by Fcw75

On 8/17/2023 at 9:04 AM, Fcw75 said:

None of them are Singaporeans or PR. All foreigners.

Probably rented from GCB owners.

maybe thats how you get to afford GCBs in the first place 🤣

In the old dayz Indons “ parked” their monies here , still doing but lesser now …. Now we have gone global 🤪

On 8/17/2023 at 8:33 AM, Fcw75 said:

What surprises me is how they could open bank accts here. The KYC process is very (supposedly) onerous for foreigners. With Chinese nationals holding passports from questionable countries, the banks would have been double vigilant. 

Profits come first I guess. 

Dubai is a bigger haven too , traditionally for South Asia / Africa , East bloc ,Russia but now some PRC are making inroads too 

On 8/16/2023 at 10:12 PM, Kopites said:

The confiscated sum stay or return to China?

By right is..by centre is...then there's the by left...😁

On 8/16/2023 at 9:20 PM, Benarsenal said:

Wow. They all got PRC passport.

Like all the DHL, ICA, SingPost, DBS, UOB, OCBC etc call I received all have PRC Chinese accents even when I press one for English!

Why huh? 😂

The lone woman the ringleader?

One of them in Pinky's neighborhood 😙

Edited by Kklim

On 8/16/2023 at 9:37 PM, ER-3682 said:

How these People can buy GCB.?They are not Citizen,maybe Rent.?

All the rent about PRC paying $200k per month rental “glamorous” by the media 😁

On 8/17/2023 at 9:13 AM, Volvobrick said:

What surprises me is how they could open bank accts here. The KYC process is very (supposedly) onerous for foreigners. With Chinese nationals holding passports from questionable countries, the banks would have been double vigilant. 

To the crooks, what is KYC?
It is easily bypassed.

Not forgetting they could “own” a leg@L firm.

On 8/16/2023 at 11:06 PM, Benarsenal said:

I suspect not so simple. I think this is a sign of XJP seriously cracking down on capital outflow from China post-Covid.

Could be related to this: https://www.rfa.org/english/news/china/immigration-arrest-08112023103845.html

Maybe that's why he send WY here. To tell us to drag all these people back.

WY is here because all these are his nominees lah!

you deal with Chinese businessman the ACRA shows person A is the owner but person A and everyone else greet person B the 总! 😂

Chinese business culture 

Edited by D3badge
  • Haha! 10

On 8/17/2023 at 8:03 AM, Wt_know said:

beh song liao … [laugh] 

This fella ah? I have scrolled into some of his videos.  All clear cut grouses.  One sided will little substance

On 8/17/2023 at 9:13 AM, Volvobrick said:

Hard to say, some of the carribean island nations, due to their past as british colony, do have parts of the population that are of chinese or indian descent. The british brought in immigrants as labour in their colonies. So a chinese-looking person holding a passport from st kitts and nevis would not be out of place to banks that see international clients.

Cypriot or Turk holding PRC passport will be a bit tough though [laugh]

On 8/17/2023 at 8:45 AM, Macrosszero said:

Hahaha, when this news came out, i thought to myself, offenders must be from China.

then the news reported all sorts of nationalities until which the names revealed, i was right, right from the start.

simi cyprus, turkey, nivanuatu , all bull lah.