$1b in cash and assets seized and frozen; 30 foreigners probed for money laundering and forgery

Mockngbrd

On 8/17/2023 at 8:35 PM, Jellandross said:

I use my browser searched the whole article for words like "PRC" and "Chinese" but cannot find. Only one word "China" mentioned but referring to the passport not any person. Why ah?

If you can read Chinese. Zaobao did stated origin china hokkien. 

https://www.zaobao.com.sg/realtime/singapore/story20230816-1424381

10人相信原籍中国福建,三人还是中国公民,其余虽持中国护照,但国籍不同。

On 8/17/2023 at 9:01 PM, Kopites said:

If you can read Chinese. Zaobao did stated origin china hokkien. 

https://www.zaobao.com.sg/realtime/singapore/story20230816-1424381

10人相信原籍中国福建,三人还是中国公民,其余虽持中国护照,但国籍不同。

3 pax pec citizenship,  remainder Holding prc passports but different nationality 😳 ?

Interesting lor.

On 8/17/2023 at 9:13 PM, Playtime said:

3 pax pec citizenship,  remainder Holding prc passports but different nationality 😳 ?

Interesting lor.

The rest are dual or multi nationality.

On 8/17/2023 at 9:13 PM, Playtime said:

Interesting lor.

PRC does not allow dual citizenship but the other passport countries might allow. This is where there's complication, you go country A (that allows dual) and get their citizenship and passport, you won't be asked to relinquish your original citizenship. Your original country of citizenship is none the wiser.

Edited by Sosaria

On 8/17/2023 at 9:22 PM, Sosaria said:

PRC does not allow dual citizenship but the other passport countries might allow. This is where there's complication, you go country A (that allows dual) and get their citizenship and passport, you won't be asked to relinquish your original citizenship. Your original country of citizenship is none the wiser.

Yeah exactly. Many rich Chinese will try to get other passports too for ease of travel, because Chinese passport not very powerful.

On 8/17/2023 at 9:27 PM, Benarsenal said:

not just that ... see how many mala at hawker,  sichuan restaurant and hotpot opened in spore? [sly] 
spreading like wild fire and smelly smelly few hundreds K open 1-2-3 shops ...

Black machine, white machine, as long as it washes clean, it's a good machine! 

Casinos and listco different but same same? 

Where’s the remaining 8 wanted by police?

Must ask Wong Can’t Sing.

He give the best answer.

On 8/17/2023 at 9:41 PM, Singa said:

should bait more bad tiongs to come, then arrest them. good way to recoup our money, those that they con from us, suzhou industrial park, money that temasek invested into their tuition companies. 😁

Disagree. If the current runaway inflation is due to their freewheeling free-spending ways then the damage to your average Singaporean man on the street is already done, whether it is rent, property prices or COE.

On 8/17/2023 at 7:34 PM, Volvobrick said:

At least those thinking of coming here will drop the idea now. Less demands for GCB and luxury cars. And watches. 

Till now no one ask.....this means COE will drop or not?

On 8/17/2023 at 9:36 PM, Wt_know said:

not just that ... see how many mala at hawker,  sichuan restaurant and hotpot opened in spore? [sly] 

Spa massage too. Tiagong only from a fren.

On 8/17/2023 at 9:36 PM, Wt_know said:

Ya I was noticing today too, a lot of Chinese businesses opening here lately. Like Luckin Coffee, suddenly open so many branches.

On 8/17/2023 at 11:02 PM, Benarsenal said:

Ya I was noticing today too, a lot of Chinese businesses opening here lately. Like Luckin Coffee, suddenly open so many branches.

in fact for last couple of years many of them opened up quite a number of like supermarts too if you have observed under funny kind of names...so wondering also they are fronts for "laundering"       

On 8/17/2023 at 11:14 PM, BanCoe said:

in fact for last couple of years many of them opened up quite a number of like supermarts too if you have observed under funny kind of names...so wondering also they are fronts for "laundering"       

The supermarket opening is probably to serve the needs of their community here that is growing and wanting to get the same brand of stuff from home. Just like korean or japanese supermarkets. I find it convenient too because can buy china snacks and try out all kind of things not sold at auntie lucy.

On 8/17/2023 at 5:19 PM, yishunite said:

If they own any of those GCB most likely it is actual head leh

But none of them are PR or citizens, how they own GCB?

On 8/17/2023 at 11:27 PM, Sosaria said:

The supermarket opening is probably to serve the needs of their community here that is growing and wanting to get the same brand of stuff from home. Just like korean or japanese supermarkets. I find it convenient too because can buy china snacks and try out all kind of things not sold at auntie lucy.

it’s also a fantastic way to “wash” because every month can generate high cashflow

sell cheap cheap with thin margin 

the objective is to wash and same time make profits [sly] 

prc are sibei enterpreneur one hor … no profit no talk!