Safety or money first?

SGMCF328

Safety or money first?  

60 members have voted

1. 1. Do you support the ban of ferrying workers on back of lorries?

• YES - Safety of all personnel is utmost important, regardless of their nationality, race and socioeconomic status
    • NO - Cost and convenience take priority over the safety of foreign workers

On 8/3/2023 at 3:15 PM, Benarsenal said:

Can be deactivated apparently

I ignore the sound, most of the time.

Anyway, i always feels it takes too much time driving at 70km/h.

It takes at least 45mins from Little India to Tuas.

On 8/3/2023 at 2:48 PM, SGMCF328 said:

Glad to see many interesting points been brought up in this thread.

First, I fully agree that the lorry driver play an important role in ensuring the safety of the workers they are ferrying. And yes, there is a total lack of enforcement action taken on speeding lorries on our road. Having a speed limiter and more enforcement by TP / LTA will help to address this issue.

Next, there have been cases of lorry accidents caused by others (they got hit by other vehicles and workers on the lorries suffered injuries due to the impact, or in more serious cases, workers were thrown out of the lorries upon impact). Using a vehicle with proper seat and seat belt would have minimize such injuries.

Last, the call for ban to use lorries for ferrying workers does NOT equate to using buses or public transport for the task. It is about reviewing the current unsafe practices, and thinking out of the box to eliminate the use of lorries. One good alternative is having the workers to stay within the construction sites, which was a common practice in the past!

For those who are opposing the ban, touch your heart and answer the question truthfully: Will you want to, or allow your loved one to be transported in a lorry?

Bro, I want to be very frank with you: don’t care and can’t be bothered about ban lorry ferry worker 

i don’t have lorry and dont have workers

if worker die, I don’t feel anything at all

will I let my sons and wife sit my open pickup? Yes, if I am the one driving. Will I let my sons sit army tonner? I don’t have choice here. Will I let them sit speeding lorry? No

will I stop worker from sitting speeding lorry? Not my problem

• Haha! 9

Just like these jokers:

https://fb.watch/mb4_R3ZRQ8

am I bothered if they die? Nope. Not my problem. People die everyday. People choose their own poison

will I help them if they crash? Nope. I will not spend my resources to help the reckless

will I upload video if I see them crash. Oh yes

On 8/3/2023 at 3:23 PM, inlinesix said:

I ignore the sound, most of the time.

Anyway, i always feels it takes too much time driving at 70km/h.

It takes at least 45mins from Little India to Tuas.

No wonder army bois need to move out for their field training very early cause army vehicles can only drive at 50km/h. 😂 Don't know if they have raised the speed limit already liao?!

On 8/3/2023 at 3:08 PM, 13177 said:

Thought by right there should already have a device that can limit the speed in these lorries, but by left these lorry drivers can still speed like nobody business. So don't know what has gone wrong.

Only heavy vehicle have. If they go beyond speed limit. The fuel will be cut. Light and middle size dun have .

The punishment for tampering with the device is very heavy

But those G plate have a Speed warning device. If u go beyond  limit will bibibi. 

Imagine now we install such device on cars.

All car that drive above 90 will have their fuel cut. Or have  a bibibibi sound.

How will car drivers think or feel.

Or is the safety of car drivers less important then trucks drivers?

On 8/3/2023 at 3:02 PM, Beregond said:

It's the same anlogy 

Speed limit should be strictly enforce for cars Carrying passenger.

How many crazy accidents involving high speed car crash already?

Can't argue with that.  

You can be careful but there will be others who are reckless. Same reasons why i won't allow my kids to learn class 2 in Singapore. Too many impatient drivers here. 

I thought govt want to implement some stars wars erp unit?

go and install in all lorry first. Exceed 60 below 70, every meter $50

Cannot detect lorry? Every 10mins $50

why $50?

I just like the sound of gor zhup Kor [grin]

Edited by Mustank

On 8/3/2023 at 3:52 PM, Beregond said:

Only heavy vehicle have. If they go beyond speed limit. The fuel will be cut. Light and middle size dun have .

The punishment for tampering with the device is very heavy

But those G plate have a Speed warning device. If u go beyond  limit will bibibi. 

Imagine now we install such device on cars.

All car that drive above 90 will have their fuel cut. Or have  a bibibibi sound.

How will car drivers think or feel.

Or is the safety of car drivers less important then trucks drivers?

Heavy vehicles have? But how come still can see those heavy vehicles also speed like nobody business le.

On 8/3/2023 at 4:01 PM, 13177 said:

Heavy vehicles have? But how come still can see those heavy vehicles also speed like nobody business le.

Heavy vehicle have speed limiters.( certain categories) u go Google can see. 

If they are speeding then must be they tamper with it

On 8/3/2023 at 1:21 PM, Tohto said:

Not enough bus and driver lah..

With such high COE, it is also difficult for bus company putting more new bus on the road. 

Hmmm. Chicken and egg theory like that. 

Then lorry it is. with helmet and passenger airbag. 

motorbag_9.jpg&f=1&nofb=1&ipt=655002ffe7

Have a fren in business who used to have a lorry to ferry some of his foreign workers...covid came...needed to cut down on expenses becos of fewer jobs...sent a few home...sold the lorry...used his own vehicle daily to ferry the remaining few workers and equipments back and forth...nowadays they take public transport to work site on their own...during the critical covid period...he foot the bill to get better lodging for his workers because dorm wasn't ideal...paid those quarantined workers full salary...he understood that hardship affected everyone...just before covid...he was looking to upgrade to landed after years of working hard with his small business...decided to stay put and save for the betterment of his workers should there be another round...

Business owners have to find their own arrangements that best suit their ability to survive not only their business but also to adhere to regulatory policies accordingly...

kpkb cannot do this cannot like that...some say people here are pampered by the nanny garment...some business owners also the same...remember that bling bling lolec car dealer kpkb at the garment during early stage of covid...?

just tink about those sitting at the back of the lorry everyday...rain or sunny...cramp or spacious...safe or hazardous...they are not the one behind the wheel to ensure a safe ride...what are their choices...? Out of their own pocket to take public transport for their own safety? 

Said enuf on this...over and ouch...my fingers hurt...doing PSP415 thingy...😂

On 8/3/2023 at 6:34 PM, mersaylee said:

Have a fren in business who used to have a lorry to ferry some of his foreign workers...covid came...needed to cut down on expenses becos of fewer jobs...sent a few home...sold the lorry...used his own vehicle daily to ferry the remaining few workers and equipments back and forth...nowadays they take public transport to work site on their own...during the critical covid period...he foot the bill to get better lodging for his workers because dorm wasn't ideal...paid those quarantined workers full salary...he understood that hardship affected everyone...just before covid...he was looking to upgrade to landed after years of working hard with his small business...decided to stay put and save for the betterment of his workers should there be another round...

Business owners have to find their own arrangements that best suit their ability to survive not only their business but also to adhere to regulatory policies accordingly...

kpkb cannot do this cannot like that...some say people here are pampered by the nanny garment...some business owners also the same...remember that bling bling lolec car dealer kpkb at the garment during early stage of covid...?

just tink about those sitting at the back of the lorry everyday...rain or sunny...cramp or spacious...safe or hazardous...they are not the one behind the wheel to ensure a safe ride...what are their choices...? Out of their own pocket to take public transport for their own safety? 

Said enuf on this...over and ouch...my fingers hurt...doing PSP415 thingy...😂

I will support any lorry carrying workers go more than 50 caught straight away that company and its directors and shareholder no more foreign workers

Why? Unsafe working condition 

On 8/3/2023 at 8:41 AM, Kb27 said:

From around 5 am to 6 am, you'll see many G and Y plates speeding in lane 2 on major expressways, with whatever they are carrying, people, metals, etc.

Why?, bcuz TP are sleeping, they know that.

C plate vehicles are equally speedsters.

On 8/3/2023 at 3:24 PM, Mustank said:

Bro, I want to be very frank with you: don’t care and can’t be bothered about ban lorry ferry worker 

will I let my sons and wife sit my open pickup? Yes, if I am the one driving. Will I let my sons sit army tonner? I don’t have choice here. Will I let them sit speeding lorry? No

Good to know how much you care for your fellow humans.

But leaving that aside, not all accidents are within your control. Let's say you're driving your family in your open pickup (safely, and following rules and speed limit), and some joker beats the red light and T-bone you. Let me tell you the result will not be pretty for you and your family. Certainly much worse compared to being in an enclosed vehicle.

On 8/3/2023 at 9:57 PM, Benarsenal said:

Good to know how much you care for your fellow humans.

But leaving that aside, not all accidents are within your control. Let's say you're driving your family in your open pickup (safely, and following rules and speed limit), and some joker beats the red light and T-bone you. Let me tell you the result will not be pretty for you and your family. Certainly much worse compared to being in an enclosed vehicle.

If Musso got t-bone by passenger car, no damage,

Side step takes all the impact.

Musso uses Aluminium alloy side step

On 8/3/2023 at 3:24 PM, Mustank said:

Tonner got swd, speed warning device. Put a similar device in lorry lor. This time an electronic tamper proof one that connects to the cloud to collect fines. If don’t pay fine then track down lorry using GNSS na tow to yard to sit. Send out contracts to tow truck company to get a cut for towing. Tamper then cheong kong lorry. 

Edited by Mkl22

Same with illegal parking. Clamp and tow. See who the heck dares to illegal park. 
with normal fines the rich can easily afford. Tow the vehicle to the yard hurts businesses and the rich the most. 

Edited by Mkl22

On 8/3/2023 at 11:53 PM, Mkl22 said:

Tonner got swd, speed warning device. Put a similar device in lorry lor. This time an electronic tamper proof one that connects to the cloud to collect fines. If don’t pay fine then track down lorry using GNSS na tow to yard to sit. Send out contracts to tow truck company to get a cut for towing. Tamper then cheong kong lorry. 

Too much work for LTA.