What’s the process to renew Myanmar helper’s passport

Theoldjaffa

Hi all,

does anyone have any experience on the process of renewing your Myanmar helper’s passport ?

I tried to get an appointment via the Myanmar embassy’s website but the damn website doesn’t work.

I was also told that they don’t accept renewal until there’s only a month left in the passport’s validity.

So I’d like to get help from anyone here who has gone thru the actual process, to share with him how to get a queue number to make an appt, the leadtime to expect and what else to do.

Jin cham, wanna go for trip in Dec and just realised the helper’s passport expiring in Jan 2024. Cannot book tickets and cannot renew passport because of the system.

Thanks in advance!

On 7/26/2023 at 11:57 AM, Theoldjaffa said:

Hi all,

does anyone have any experience on the process of renewing your Myanmar helper’s passport ?

I tried to get an appointment via the Myanmar embassy’s website but the damn website doesn’t work.

I was also told that they don’t accept renewal until there’s only a month left in the passport’s validity.

So I’d like to get help from anyone here who has gone thru the actual process, to share with him how to get a queue number to make an appt, the leadtime to expect and what else to do.

Jin cham, wanna go for trip in Dec and just realised the helper’s passport expiring in Jan 2024. Cannot book tickets and cannot renew passport because of the system.

Thanks in advance!

Pay a small sum to an agent and they will do the rest for you, save the hassle. 

Hi all,

Thanks in advance!

yes bro, go back to the maid agency, they have runners running everyday and they know all the tricks. But there will always be a fee involve, I can't remember now, but i think is $50 or $150.  I had wanted to DIY also, but gave up and paid the agency to do it after going merry go round. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

Hi all,

Thanks in advance!

Myanmar must use agent, that's what my fren said..

On 7/26/2023 at 1:47 PM, Cheesey74 said:

Myanmar must use agent, that's what my fren said..

I think whether it is Myanmar or where, best is to pay a sum and ask agent to do. 

On 7/26/2023 at 12:51 PM, Ct3833 said:

Pay a small sum to an agent and they will do the rest for you, save the hassle. 

Thanks bro. Do you have any agent to recommend?

My helper’s agency don’t have the lobang 

On 7/26/2023 at 1:43 PM, Tianmo said:

yes bro, go back to the maid agency, they have runners running everyday and they know all the tricks. But there will always be a fee involve, I can't remember now, but i think is $50 or $150.  I had wanted to DIY also, but gave up and paid the agency to do it after going merry go round. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

Thanks bro. My agency referred me to their contact. Their contact say their lobang “no more doing”. 

On 7/26/2023 at 2:45 PM, Theoldjaffa said:

Thanks bro. My agency referred me to their contact. Their contact say their lobang “no more doing”. 

Alamak bro, I just called the maid agency I last used, she said since covid time, many runners quit, so now no runners doing passport renewal liao.

Have to book appt online and bring maid to embassy yourself now.  Paisay the last time we renew the maid passport was in 2017/18 I think.  Didn't know things changed now.  So sorry.  [:/]

On 7/26/2023 at 3:52 PM, Tianmo said:

Alamak bro, I just called the maid agency I last used, she said since covid time, many runners quit, so now no runners doing passport renewal liao.

Have to book appt online and bring maid to embassy yourself now.  Paisay the last time we renew the maid passport was in 2017/18 I think.  Didn't know things changed now.  So sorry.  [:/]

Oic, thanks for the effort bro. Kamxiahamnida!

Maybe just go down to the Embassy personally , am sure they will help you that way and also recommend their so called “ in house agent “ ….. I had to do a similar one for Cambodia visas for a US relative ……. Their websites like can like “  Alibaba disappear” one and no response ; money also wasted too …… haiz …..and paid 10 times the original amount to Agent here for Visas within 48 hours 

Thanks all bros who have responded. Appreciate it!

Ive decided to try my luck with Ayamart, one of the agents I googled.

On 7/26/2023 at 2:44 PM, Theoldjaffa said:

Thanks bro. Do you have any agent to recommend?

My helper’s agency don’t have the lobang 

Go peninsula plaza there got agent can help to book an appointment 

On 7/27/2023 at 7:32 AM, Thaiyotakamli said:

Thanks bro, I managed to get a contact from there but it costs $180, which is double the $90 that Ayamart is charging.

Ah yes, peninsula plaza! [thumbsup]

@Theoldjaffa, bro, there is this shop at level 3 where the maids go there remit money home, maybe they got lobang.  But go on week days, weekend there is no different from  a Myanmar fish market. [:p][laugh][laugh]

Ya man.... Down there got 6 levels of everything Myanmar related. Really everything 😁