BREAKING: Senior Minister Tharman Shanmugaratnam announces intention to run for Singapore's presidency.

Tohto

On 8/28/2023 at 11:41 PM, yishunite said:

Lol just shake hand smile smile can oredi lah... you think Halimah gave rousing speeches at international venue?? 🤣🤣

Because she kena 3 year covid period, half her term no need to travel. 

and maybe everyone knows she’s not a star player, that’s why she’s not invited to that many international meetings or to give speeches as an authority.

Now that the stop gap is no longer required and star player has emerged, and no more protection for reserved races, that’s why she’s not running for a second term even though she’s still young because you know I know she ownself knows what the result is gonna be… so just step down gracefully.

My personal view only, don’t Pofma me. 

On 8/28/2023 at 11:41 PM, yishunite said:

Lol just shake hand smile smile can oredi lah... you think Halimah gave rousing speeches at international venue?? 🤣🤣

Paiseh hor, i think halimah more zai than him, he is arghhhh.. mai kong liao 😁!

On 8/29/2023 at 7:36 AM, Cheesey74 said:

Paiseh hor, i think halimah more zai than him, he is arghhhh.. mai kong liao 😁!

yah, at least she make ppl happy by giving out Milo😷

• Haha! 10

On 8/29/2023 at 7:55 AM, RadX said:

Yeah, happily gave out scholarships too, carry out her duty so well.. haha.

On 8/29/2023 at 7:55 AM, RadX said:

Sikali TKL give out set A set B leh. [:p][laugh][laugh]

On 8/29/2023 at 12:55 AM, Confusedboi said:

i wonder what the final vote % will be, Tharman should be 50-60% range ideally, worst case will still win around 45% votes minimum ( Harcore Pappy support plus boomers who grew up under pappy lky time)

for NKS or TK both think the votes may fluctuate wildly depending on how many Pappy supporters choose NKS instead of  supporting Tharman or neutrals just want to give TKL chance

NKS supposed to be Pappy alternative ( guessing 25-35% range)

TKl (  hardcore Opposition support) plus those who dont like both Tharman or NKS ( guessing 15-25% range)

Seems like TKL might lose his deposit again this time or get quite low votes even never lose his deposit. He doesn't seem to be popular among the 3. People might vote for NKS mainly due to his ang moh is good, so like can speaks well than TKL.

On 8/28/2023 at 9:28 PM, Theoldjaffa said:

Tharman: too good to be President. 

TKL: sibeh buay zai. Shaky at times. The only one to need to read off a script. How to represent Singapore liddat

NKS: comes across as poised, but cocky. Doesn’t seem the type to respect people and will look down or talk down at lower ranked people. He didn’t even say thank you when his replies are done.

NKS is a highly paid actor, asked to throw his hat into the ring to give the illusion of choice. TKL, as @Tianmo puts it, has been a honest clown since Day 1 and makes no pretence about it 😂

• Sad 1

Actually as long as don't vote NKS, vote Tharman or TKL also not much different liao. 

As long NKS loses his deposit, the message is clear that we are not stupid anymore. Of course the closer TKL gets to Tharman the better, because the 2nd message will be stronger.  

So yah, forget NKS, and vote either Tharman or TKL.  

Now that Ah Bock has appeared, and supporting TKL, maybe I need to change my train name to "vote against NKS". [:p][laugh][laugh]

On 8/29/2023 at 9:04 AM, Tianmo said:

Actually as long as don't vote NKS, vote Tharman or TKL also not much different liao. 

As long NKS loses his deposit, the message is clear that we are not stupid anymore. Of course the closer TKL gets to Tharman the better, because the 2nd message will be stronger.  

So yah, forget NKS, and vote either Tharman or TKL.  

Now that Ah Bock has appeared, and supporting TKL, maybe I need to change my train name to "vote against NKS". [:p][laugh][laugh]

Funny, voting for Tharman isn't agreeing with the selection of candidates and system? It is like, please continue to do so. TCB supporting TKL is polarization of the PE, then Mdm Ho supporting NKS ok? She is not any ah soh hor. She is part of the government leh. Husband PM and she ex Temask. 

On 8/28/2023 at 11:21 PM, Benarsenal said:

When you listen to what he said tonight, there is a suspicion that he might oppose for the sake of opposing.

Imagine if during Covid time, Govt ask for reserves to fund all these measures to help businesses and give money to people, and he say no. And our economy and businesses collapse and many people suffer. Will you dulan him or not?

I think he will not outright say no to the government request for use of past reserves, he don't have the gut for fear of being blamed for not helping to get the country out of crisis, but, he will apply delay tactics, like ask for more data, more this, more that when time is of an essence. He can still push the blame away and say G didn't do proper DD. Just imagine he delay approval and we missed the opportunity to secure covid vaccines.

The candidates were given the questions before hand, even with that, TKL is not performing well. Imagine it is a live debate! Or he is put on a stage in a even more demanding foreign press event, I cannot imagine.

TKL say he wants to start commission of enquiry! Er .. EP does not have that power. He seems to always 答非所问。

I really do think he is more suited to run for the next GE, he can join his buddies and unify the small opposition parties and go up against WP, SDP and PAP. I will wish him luck in doing that.

On 8/29/2023 at 9:17 AM, Rm2s said:

I think he will not outright say no to the government request for use of past reserves, he don't have the gut for fear of being blamed for not helping to get the country out of crisis, but, he will apply delay tactics, like ask for more data, more this, more that when time is of an essence. He can still push the blame away and say G didn't do proper DD. Just imagine he delay approval and we missed the opportunity to secure covid vaccines.

The candidates were given the questions before hand, even with that, TKL is not performing well. Imagine it is a live debate! Or he is put on a stage in a even more demanding foreign press event, I cannot imagine.

TKL say he wants to start commission of enquiry! Er .. EP does not have that power. He seems to always 答非所问。

I really do think he is more suited to run for the next GE, he can join his buddies and unify the small opposition parties and go up against WP, SDP and PAP. I will wish him luck in doing that.

If TKL is elected, it will be a very strong message to MIW.

On 8/29/2023 at 9:21 AM, inlinesix said:

If TKL is elected, it will be a very strong message to MIW.

Perhaps he is being used by his buddies? Hmm ... borrow knife to kill?

On 8/29/2023 at 9:11 AM, Victor68 said:

Funny, voting for Tharman isn't agreeing with the selection of candidates and system? It is like, please continue to do so. TCB supporting TKL is polarization of the PE, then Mdm Ho supporting NKS ok? She is not any ah soh hor. She is part of the government leh. Husband PM and she ex Temask. 

Actually just take it that any election in Singapore will be polarized, it will be partisan and divisive. There is no 2 ways about it. NKS just want to do meditation and hoped to be remembered as a non-partisan candidate (which in everyone's eye he is not). I have long believed that he should not run the moment TKL qualify to run. He started the campaign saying we need an election for the presidency, he isn't honouring his own words.