BREAKING: Senior Minister Tharman Shanmugaratnam announces intention to run for Singapore's presidency.

Tohto

On 8/23/2023 at 11:24 PM, Jellandross said:

Beo chiobu nothing wrong. I agree 😘

Which guys don’t like to bio chiobu on the street? Nothing wrong ma.

• Haha! 8

Heard on radio they said cock song will not be putting up any banners or posters because it’s green. 🤣

Only will be posting on social media.

Want to remain inconspicuous.

Don’t want to waste any money knowing that he’s losing for sure just say so la.

Running just to split votes and to cater to those PAP supporters who might not want an Indian president. 

On 8/23/2023 at 11:24 PM, Jellandross said:

Beo chiobu nothing wrong. I agree 😘

"Maybe the upset ones are those not so pretty ones" this statement he made make my day man. ROFLMAO early morning. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

On 8/23/2023 at 8:54 PM, Tkseah said:

Ong lai dao.. huat ah..

Screenshot-20230823-203633-2.png

On 8/23/2023 at 8:34 PM, Christan said:

Gotten the following Whatsapp message about pineapple meaning. So using this symbol is not only to target chinese voters, but also LGBTQIA+ community.  confirm Tharman will get extra votes from the latter. This is excluding their existing PAP supporters. Like that, how not to win.😀

https://www.sdlgbtn.com/pineapple-a-symbol-of-inclusion-in-the-lgbtqia-community/#google_vignette

Oh no, so now we have 3 tiko running for presidency?!🤯

Joke aside, the use of pineapple as a symbol has more to do with psychological (cognitive aspect of human).

Most seniors as well as new citizens who do not follow the news on MSM or social media would not have know who is Tharman, cocksong or kim lian. But with a symbol that people of all races and nationalities are familiar with, the chances of voters tick or rather, crossing the box is much higher than other specially designed symbols, which may appears meaningless to some, especially when presented in b&w.

Here's an news article related to what I have just shared. Source: https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/community/symbols-of-traditional-items-used-to-help-people-with-dementia-navigate-chinatown-mrt-station

Symbols of traditional items used to help people with dementia navigate Chinatown MRT station

ads-exit-170822.jpg

ads-poster-170822.jpg

That said, I wonder if RC will start to give out pineapple during their household visit these few days. 😋

On 8/23/2023 at 8:13 PM, Fcw75 said:

This one looks yaya and very elite to me and just trying to be 亲民 now only.

Will never vote for this old man.

Aiyo, everyone claims to come from humble background. Then they all have forgotten their roots, so what with background? He gives me the impression of 'short fuse' and 'haolian' lah. I could be wrong about him. 

On 8/23/2023 at 10:28 PM, Inlinefour said:

Dun know anyone noticed that OngLye always have this 881 director following behind him...IIRC Royston or something...machiam making movie...but guess so too cos jitpon with teochew camouflage :ninja:

Didn't know this royston tan is such a big supporter for onglye.

Anyway, you see all the walkabout, onglye's wife also keep following him closely, as if like she is also the one contesting.

On 8/24/2023 at 7:46 AM, Tianmo said:

"Maybe the upset ones are those not so pretty ones" this statement he made make my day man. ROFLMAO early morning. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

Wahahahaa......he pretty boy mah 

All the more reason now to vote TKL for pussident!

Edited by Soya

On 8/24/2023 at 8:14 AM, SGMCF328 said:

Oh no, so now we have 3 tiko running for presidency?!🤯

Joke aside, the use of pineapple as a symbol has more to do with psychological (cognitive aspect of human).

Most seniors as well as new citizens who do not follow the news on MSM or social media would not have know who is Tharman, cocksong or kim lian. But with a symbol that people of all races and nationalities are familiar with, the chances of voters tick or rather, crossing the box is much higher than other specially designed symbols, which may appears meaningless to some, especially when presented in b&w.

Here's an news article related to what I have just shared. Source: https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/community/symbols-of-traditional-items-used-to-help-people-with-dementia-navigate-chinatown-mrt-station

Symbols of traditional items used to help people with dementia navigate Chinatown MRT station

ads-exit-170822.jpg

ads-poster-170822.jpg

That said, I wonder if RC will start to give out pineapple during their household visit these few days. 😋

Agreed, using onglye as symbol is a very smart strategy. This Tharman really 不简单. Many people like onglye and associate onglye with good luck and good intentions. Esp gamblers, should love onglye deep deep, cause onglye is HUAT ah. Many people also like to eat onglye. And pineapple tart is one of the most important items during our CNY. You tell me who does't like onglye lo. No matter which races also like onglye.

Edited by 13177

On 8/23/2023 at 8:54 PM, Tkseah said:

Ong lai dao.. huat ah..

Screenshot-20230823-203633-2.png

https://www.sdlgbtn.com/pineapple-a-symbol-of-inclusion-in-the-lgbtqia-community/#google_vignette

What Does An Upside-down Pineapple Mean In The Gay Community?

what_does_an_upsidedown_pineapple_mean_in_the_gay_community.jpeg.92a829b51cc469c03ab00f3790285167.jpeg

In the gay community, an upside-down pineapple typically means that someone is looking for a hookup. This can be done by posting an upside-down pineapple emoji on a dating app or social media site, or by wearing an upside-down pineapple pin or patch.

LoL

• Haha! 7

On 8/24/2023 at 7:46 AM, Tianmo said:

I tink he's well AWARE that statement would draw flak from some people...but yah...target audience reached...😁

On 8/24/2023 at 9:03 AM, Soya said:

Wahahahaa......he pretty boy mah 

All the more reason now to vote TKL for pussident!

Yes Yes Yes!!!

This is your train captain tianmo speaking, Lai Lai Lai, Mai paisay, hop on to the vote for the clown train. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

image.png.81861e5bc11cda7946d7b886b0355e39.png

On 8/24/2023 at 9:05 AM, mersaylee said:

I tink he's well AWARE that statement would draw flak from some people...but yah...target audience reached...😁

Now those don't vote for him ones sound like "the not so pretty ones".  Those pretty ones vote for him. 

@Lala81 one more valid reason for your oc to vote TKL. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

On 8/24/2023 at 9:21 AM, Watwheels said:

The NKS jiak kantang wan? The Chinese dude like cant speak Mandarin? Spoke like Ji teh ji teh during the two minute speech.

Ok la if President can't speak Mandarin. Unless he is PM la, then good to be able to speak different languages.

On 8/23/2023 at 10:20 PM, Tianmo said:

I have a different opinion. 

Back in 2011, TCB was the first to declare that he was to run for the President way before the term was due. There was no news of a PAP backed candidate  until much later. TCB did his ground work first, which might have changed the PAP plan, and Tony Tan was recalled back to run against TCB. Tan Jee say appeared later, followed by Tan Kin Lian, forming the mahjong fight. TKL at that time was just removed from income and left PAP a few years ago, so if you understand his thinking process, not surprise  he contested, but he gotten only less than 5% of votes. 

Tan Jee Say was the big question mark. 

Did it hurt the PAP gov in that election with that minor win? No, and why? Because TCB charged at them, he was the aggressor and they were forced to change their plan, recalling Tony Tan to take on TCB. If we look back, Halimah might be the chosen one in 2011, but change of plan because of TCB, so TT took 1 term and she took the 2nd term, compete the 12 years, and make way for Tharman the next 2 terms of 12 years. For all we know the next PAP President candidate after Tharman  is already preparing himself.  So the end result did not hurt, but on the contrast was a happy ending for them, they escaped unhurt from an aggressor.

The situation now is different, Tharman announced his intention first, and TCB step away, highly likely because he knew his chances, so he rather not resign from PSP and choose to fight the next GE instead.  GG came 2nd, and do you believe they did not have his back ground check the moment he stepped forward? They screened him and knew he wont make it to polling day as a candidate, so came NKS, tasked to take on his ex boss.  Why? because Tharman didnt want a walk over, he wanted to win a contest and become a rightfully won elected President, not a given President. 

TKL? he's just a clown, still trying to prove a point to his ex bosses, thinking that he can have a shot at the position.  The PAP never even 把他放在眼里, to them he is just noise. And it is exactly this fact that a high vote for TKL will hurt the PAP gov more than anything else, and the most painful to them is to have NKS lose his deposit, and TKL come close to Tharman, this will hurt the most. 

Never say never, I think TKL might just pull off some magic this time.  I vote for the clown. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

i also have this nagging feeling for TKL....i think a lot of pple already fatigue of PAP and their excuses....want a different voice leh...:slow:

On 8/24/2023 at 8:58 AM, 13177 said:

Didn't know this royston tan is such a big supporter for onglye.

Anyway, you see all the walkabout, onglye's wife also keep following him closely, as if like she is also the one contesting.

Director need her to polish acting skill in order to be TeoChew nang must win indian milo hands down 🙈🙉🙊